This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

The new mesa cabclone

Discussion in 'Backline' started by rispsira, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. rispsira

    rispsira Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    http://www.mesaboogie.com/Product_Info/pedals/cab-clone-simulator.html

    Havent seen a post here yet. Mesa's take on the palmer i guess.
    Im currently using the kemper and im very happy but sometimes i figured it would be nice to fiddle with my actual amps at home which i cant do so far. I checked out the youtube demos (also available on that page when u click on "video samples" and i liked what i heard!

    The price if i understood correctly is gonna be around 300 bucks and will be available end of August/sept.

    Looks like ill be gettin myself one and trying it out.

    What do you guys think?
     
  2. Via Noctis

    Via Noctis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Hopefully it sounds better than the cab simulator output on the rectifier recording pre.
     
  3. guitarfishbay

    guitarfishbay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Edit - incorrect statement. Removed to avoid confusion!
     
  4. TheUnknown

    TheUnknown Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    From the mesa link posted...

    1/4" LINE OUT (NON-SIMULATED)

    A ¼” LINE OUT has been included to capture the unprocessed (untreated) sound of your amplifier’s Speaker Output for various applications ranging from creating a Slave signal for additional power on amps that don’t incorporate that feature, to a Direct feed to a Console/Recorder. This signal is hardwired for the Pro LINE level +4dB signal strength and is not affected by the setting of the Front Panel D.I. LEVEL Control.

    Am I reading this wrong? I believe it does exactly what the palmer does?
     
  5. guitarfishbay

    guitarfishbay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I stand corrected!
     
  6. rispsira

    rispsira Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    But most importantly have you guys heard the demos? Frankly i didnt expect good results but i thought they werent bad! What do you guys think about the sound so far?
     
  7. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Looks cool...would like to hear hi gain.
     
  8. AD Chaos

    AD Chaos MGTOW

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Was just checking this out, obviously the value in it is how good they got the emulation to be..
    I too was expecting an utterly chocked and useless sound from it, the high-gain bit with the closed back emulation didn't seem too bad at the end of this vid (around 7:40):



    What I would have liked to hear is some A/B comparison in between the mic'd tone and this contraption using the recto, really see how close it gets.. Why didn't they do that..
    Anyway, it'd be really nice if someone made a comparison video (with no post processing, of course)
     
    #8 AD Chaos, Jul 11, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  9. rispsira

    rispsira Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When i saw the mic'ed cabs in the studio i got all excited thinking that was gonna be what i was about to hear haha.
    Wouldve been nice i agree
     
  10. reneisgod

    reneisgod Rene

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    "Built-In Internal Amp Load FOR AMPS RATED 100 WATTS OR LESS (auto-activates when no cable is connected to “Thru” Output)"

    I'm guessing i could still use a 6505 (120watt) as long as the vol ain't dimed?
     
  11. AD Chaos

    AD Chaos MGTOW

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Maybe through a load box?

    Yeah, unless they're so confident they thought we couldn't tell until the end? :p
    I'd guess if anyone could make justice with the mic positioning in a comparison, is the Mesa guys (with a Mesa amp, through a Mesa cab..)

    Here's hoping Ola might give us a comparison of the raw tones..
    Shows promise so far, I think
     
  12. Barnsy

    Barnsy New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    The demo video doesn't sound that great to my ear for the high gain sounds. Fizzy / static sounding top end, like an early version of Guitar Rig.

    They had a U87 on the cab, I think if they let us hear that it would be game over
     
  13. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    "The CABCLONE is designed for amps rated at 100-Watts or less and our standard format is for 8 OHMs. Also available are 4 OHM and 16 OHM versions (again for amps of 100-watts or less) that allow proper impedance matching with other MESA–as well as non-MESA–amplifiers. Using this internal load scenario, you can transform any amplifier into a powerful “silent” live, recording or practice tool."

    I'd assume so. Also, can't you safely pull 2 tubes from a 6505 and have it run less wattage?

    Edit: So basically this thing is a loadbox/speaker emulator, is what I'm gathering? And agreed they should post mic'd cab comparisons.
     
  14. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    it sounds like all those analog cab sims of twenty years ago or maybe 30 years ago.
    Seriously my ADA MP2 had the same sound....
    There's no point delivering a product like this when people could use a load box or maybe setting the amp in standby position (if it permits the sound to go through) and use impulses on a pc
     
  15. aortizjr

    aortizjr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    To me it has the same scratchy-ness and weirdness that old-school cab sims have always had. Usable, maybe. Compared to a mic or impulse, not even close. Also the vids add a lot of reverb to try and cover that up, but it is still there.

    I just don't think it is really possible to have a strictly hardware speaker sim that really isn't much more than a static parametric EQ. IR filters have 128-256 points to get it right. That would be just way too much hardware.

    The Two-Notes approach to me is way better!
     
  16. some-dude

    some-dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Found this earlier today while researching the Cab Clone. Figured I'd repost to see what this forum thought.


     

Share This Page