This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Thermionik Amp Modeler Plugin by Kazrog LLC

Discussion in 'Backline' started by superfreak, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. HOFX

    HOFX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    All sounds very interesting.

    Any chance of it being zero latency to play through in real time?
     
  2. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    There's no such thing as "zero" latency in digital, but no noticeable latency when run at 64 samples/buffer in your DAW. Any latency incurred isn't coming from Thermionik itself, in other words.
     
  3. Seth Pack

    Seth Pack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    "And post a video where I talk about "game changing" and other meaningless marketing buzzwords, but that's really not my style. :lol:

    Lol in the video I think it says a new revolutionary way or something...


    Anyway still can't wait.
     
  4. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Video titling is a very useful thing. There's no way I could have delivered "the new revolution in amp modeling" straight faced into the camera. :lol:

    Admittedly, it's pretty cheesy, but people have come to expect some kind of "drama" from plugin trailers on YouTube. I threw it together pretty quickly in Final Cut Pro - it's a lot of fun getting cinematically hokey with various transitions and titles.
     
  5. Christian WUFU

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Color me interested. I've recently fallen back in love with my old Recabinet 2.02 IRs :lol:
     
  6. Boneman

    Boneman Semi-noob

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I will buy it.
     
  7. Robert W

    Robert W Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm curious, is this going to be an amp model of a(ny) preexisting amp(s)?
     
  8. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    I actually hope not.
     
  9. Robert W

    Robert W Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It would be nice to have some totally new sound, yes.
     
  10. rvs0002

    rvs0002 Metal from the Heartland

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    Always glad to support Shane and will do it again with this. Best of luck!
     
  11. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    I agree. However, there are sounds we know and love. No sense in making an "amp modeler" without modeling amps. That said, elements can be mixed and matched...
     
  12. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    Will there be a standalone version as well?
     
  13. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    There certainly can be relatively easily. Perhaps an iOS app as well. Lots of things are possible, the plugin comes first though.
     
  14. The-Zeronaut

    The-Zeronaut Mixing..Y U SO DIFFICULT?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Im actually more interested in recabinet 4
    any new technology behind it?
    new cabs? did you re-record old ones?


    What is gonna make it better than the other impulses?
     
  15. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Mainly, Recabinet 4 focuses on expanding the library, not only in terms of cabs and mics, but also adding some room ambiences that can be blended in optionally.

    As far as the technology, Recabinet 3 already has speaker dynamics, and as far as what would make the library itself "better" than other impulses - that's a highly subjective topic, which is one of the reasons why Recabinet 3 supports third party IRs. It's nice to be able to shoot custom IRs in your studio, for example, and load them up with speaker dynamics, etc. in Recabinet and get "your" custom sound.

    So much value has been added to Recabinet 3 in the past couple of years in the form of free updates that I don't foresee any kind of major tech breakthrough on that front. I could add 8 million channels like some of the competition, but TBH if you use IRs that have been recorded well, it's not necessary to use more than 1 or 2 at a time. There's no sense in increasing options anxiety, cluttering the interface, and adding more CPU hit in the process. At one point I'd toyed with the idea of adding power tube simulation to Recabinet 4, but it seems silly to emulate that much of the rig without going all the way into full on amp modeling, so Thermionik was the logical next step.
     
  16. The-Zeronaut

    The-Zeronaut Mixing..Y U SO DIFFICULT?

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Thanks for the info ;)
    and if i can make a suggestion...
    +1 to impulses of the 5153 cab
     
  17. Robert W

    Robert W Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If I could make one request for a new feature on Recabinet 4 it would be moveble mics like on Amplitube.
     
  18. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    That's something I'd considered, however, the way that "gapless" mic positioning in plugins typically works is essentially parametric EQ that moves and sweeps some "mystery" frequency boosts and cuts depending on the X/Y position in the UI.

    I've never heard an example of gapless mic positioning from a plugin that was convincing whatsoever - typically I find them to be nasal and fizzy no matter where the mic is placed, impossible to ever find the sweet spot. While there may be a better way to do it (I can think of one way that would be a lot better, actually), it's far more valuable to producers to offer handpicked mic positions that have a good overall balances, and let them fine tune them with EQ and blending.

    Part of the goal of analog modeling is to replicate the sound of real analog gear, and the other part of the goal is to offer a level of convenience and mix readiness that far surpasses the analog workflow. I can think of all sorts of other drudgery the plugin industry could replicate from the analog world in a (such as patch bay rats' nests), but it doesn't mean we should.
     
  19. Wild Hades

    Wild Hades Clean channels are for pussies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Italy
    Maybe 10 years ago, actually it's multiple IRs interpolation, which can be pretty damn accurate, as long as you capture enough "knot" IRs.
    Nothing that hard to implement, it can also be even more efficient (CPU wise) than a single IR + parametric EQ, if the implementation is smart enough, so I don't really see any point in using EQ, nowadays...
     
  20. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Interpolation was the "better" way that I thought of when I wrote my previous post. If that's the case with gapless plugins out there now, then perhaps the sonic issue I've noticed isn't the methodology behind the gapless implementation, but the way the IRs themselves were captured. And of course that's my subjective opinion, I have my preferences when it comes to the sound of IRs, etc...

    Definitely not a hard thing to implement, but it's not been a popular request, and there are bigger fish to fry. I'm not averse to implementing such a feature in a future free update to Recabinet 4, but it's doubtful that it's something that would make it into the dot zero release. I'll have to experiment a bit, maybe there's some room to innovate here.
     

Share This Page