This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Thermionik Amp Modeler Plugin by Kazrog LLC

Discussion in 'Backline' started by superfreak, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. DocSauerkraut

    DocSauerkraut Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Do i need to uninstall a previous version of Recabinet before updating to the latest version 4.0.3?
     
  2. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    No, it will overwrite previous versions of Recabinet 4.
     
  3. anotherpaul

    anotherpaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    So one year out of my 3-year VIP plan has passed and still no amp updates?
     
  4. dipje

    dipje New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Maybe visit Kazrog's official forum over on KVR where questions like this have been answered a few times, but I understand it's hard to find certain info in a bunch of threads/posts that go off topic quickly :).

    If I may (TRY) to speak for Shane from what I've read on his official forum:

    - He's very sorry and frankly ashamed of the delays in getting it all out. Lessons learned so to say, and he hopes people will have the patience to see the major big update that it all became.
    - Most importantly: For people who bought 'VIP' which basically means: 'free amp packs for 3 years' he assured that people who bought VIP will still get the same amount of amp packs that originally would be in the first 3 years. Or in other words, instead of slowly releasing amp packs for 3 years long you will get them faster, but in the end the exact same amount as planned and the exact same value.

    It's rumoured now (note:rumours, nothing confirmed so don't hold it against him) that instead of Recabinet '4.1' it now becomes a major 5.0 update (free for existing 4.0 owners) with the whole groundworks for separate modules and separate amp packs (and even things like effects and pedals and such) in it.

    If anything is wrong in this (besides not responding to rumours :p), Shane will of course correct it. But like I said, you are not the only VIP customer who asked this and this has been Shane's answer on the official forum for a number of times.
     
  5. nezvers

    nezvers Beast

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    I haven't felt regret at any moment for buying VIP, because I know that everything will be delivered... Delayed but delivered.
     
  6. mikah912

    mikah912 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The wait is super tough especially given the expectations set even relatively recently of it being "85 percent done" or "95 percent done", not to mention the posts from the beginning of this year in this thread.

    That being said, no one's name or reputation is on the line except for Shane's, and this has to be worse for him than anybody who ponied up money and is waiting. I wish the guy the best and hope he can hit the accelerator once he clears this logjam.
     
  7. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Thanks for your patience and understanding!

    I'm working on this every day, and it is still my intention to get the update out this year (2015.) It is finally getting really close, as the last 3 months have gone extremely smoothly, and everything is coming out even better than I had hoped.

    PS - here's a quick preview of the new "Vocal 30" amp model, based on a famous British amp of the 1960s:

     
    #527 Kazrog, Oct 23, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2015
  8. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    looking forward to it Kazrog. Hopefully the update will bring more attention to it because I don't hear much about it. But I think that is because of the long period without any update or anything like that.
     
  9. newamerikangospel

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This sounds awesome, man!
     
    #529 newamerikangospel, Oct 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2015
  10. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Shane, you need to slow the Thermionik e-mails down. Been getting at least one per week, and some 2 or 3 days apart. It's not effective advertising if it's alienating people.
     
  11. [Prime]

    [Prime] Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think he should give a free copy of his game to all VIP members.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Not sure what the necrobump is about. It's certainly not my intention to alienate anyone - the email list uses open tracking, so you shouldn't be getting any emails if you've opened any of the last 20 campaigns. Sorry for any annoyance!

    PS - if anyone comes to this thread mistaking it for the current state of things, Thermionik 5 and Recabinet 5 have been out a while now. :)
     
  13. Delitzsch

    Delitzsch Führendes Mitglied

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    When the hell did this happen? :eek:
     
  14. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Haha, just noticed this in my alerts. I guess we're both a bit behind on things. Thermionik 5 came out back in January.

    Here are a couple of videos that sum things up as far as what it all is, and why I made it.





    I'm working on a more metal-focused video as well. I felt that the expressive dynamics video was important to start with, since so many discovered Thermionik from its early metal-oriented models that appeared in the Recabinet 4 release. I wanted to emphasize that now in version 5, you can really cover any musical territory with its 25 amp models, easily and happily.
     
    #534 Kazrog, May 27, 2016
    Last edited: May 27, 2016
    Delitzsch likes this.
  15. RiF

    RiF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Am I the only one who's getting CPU spikes (leading to an error) in Pro Tools 12 whenever I am using any of the buttons or selectors in Thermionik 5? Turning the dials is fine, but as soon as I change the channel, or click"bright" etc. the CPU meter goes up to the roof and Pro Tools stops with an error if it's playing. It it is not playing, the error will be ignored and does not show up, but the spike can be seen in the System Usage window.
    This is Thermionik 5.0.3 Demo on 64 Bit AAX, Windows 7, Core i5-750@4GHz.

    Other than that, it sounds pretty good and my old system can run about 8 instances, which is fine.
     
    #535 RiF, Sep 17, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2016
  16. InAbsentia_

    InAbsentia_ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just purchased Thermionik. Without a doubt the best amp simulation out there at the moment.
     
  17. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Thanks!

    On an i5 in Pro Tools at anything resembling low latency, there's a strong likelihood this will happen. Try adjusting the Quality in Thermionik down a bit. It can be more difficult to get Pro Tools to behave well when tracking through native plugins vs. other hosts. There's nothing I can do on my end about that, sadly.
     
  18. MrBongo

    MrBongo idiot at work

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ruhrpott Germany
    hah, finally a proof that ProTools sucks :D
     
  19. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Haha, well Pro Tools has a lot of good qualities, actually, but there is a bit of a conflict of interest with native performance when Avid also are in the business of selling DSP accelerator hardware. It can take a bit of fiddling to get it to be a reasonable platform for tracking through native plugins, but it can be done.

    As a developer, I've been much happier with Pro Tools since version 11 and AAX 64 bit. It's much more reliable and stable than the old RTAS paradigm. The developers at Avid who've stayed on board and cleaned up the platform (despite the company itself being embattled for many years now) deserve some kind of a medal of honor.

    Full disclosure: my primary DAWs for making actual music are Reaper and Cubase.

    PS - all Thermionik and Recabinet products have been price cut recently. Working on a slew of new amp models at the moment as well.
     
    #539 Kazrog, Sep 26, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2016
  20. nezvers

    nezvers Beast

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    Just amps no pedals?
     

Share This Page