This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

to slate or not to slate (vcc/vtm)

Discussion in 'Backline' started by EOC, May 28, 2014.

  1. Vice//Versa

    Vice//Versa Dude among dudes

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    I haven't tried either too extensively but I feel like unless you're mixing something more sparse or "classic" you are not going to need that type of saturation. Stuff like decapitator and saturn you should be covered.

    Also, Slate sales are common, this is not the only chance you'll have to get it. Supper excited for VMR though
     
  2. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany

    Since the latest VTM update it uses only 1/8 of the old processor power ;)
    I run 25-30 instances of VTM + VCC without any problems and i could do more - sure with big buffer and only in the mix

    i have a comparison....full mix...mix without VTM..and mix without VTM and VCC...but i have to ask the band before if i can post this track.
    Differenz is unbelievable. Without i got less glue, no depth, no width, sounds more digital than organic, no low end, no power, no punch. Without this mix sucks haha
     
  3. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany
    i use the input about zero going to the red zone, Drive at 1-3...used more before but its better to not overuse it. On Masterbus i have Drive at full ;) also mix going in red zone
     
  4. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany
    Ok i can post the samples

    1st mix with VTM + VCC on all tracks + Master
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/m0m4qddzu71w42w/song7test2.wav

    2nd mix without VTM
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/9l06lwifk7u2tq1/song7test2 no vtm.wav

    3rd mix without VCC + without VTM
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/el6eyqevg0tpbe3/song7test2 no vtm no vcc.wav

    The Band is called "Adamant" from Germany, this is not the official mix of them..i just did give this track a try for fun. You can find them here: https://www.facebook.com/AdamantOfficial
     
  5. Arcay

    Arcay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Santiago de Compostela
    wich settings you usually use in the VTM¿
     
  6. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany
    On each channel 16 track maschine, normal bias, 15ips, Tape type to taste. i like the FG456 most..its the most colouring but that colour is not always good..for less colour i switch to the FG9.
    On Master 2track maschine..same settings...most time FG456. Other settings like wow/flutter i leave at stock settings
     

Share This Page