This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

What do you stuff on masterchain?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by ApeScaleConflict, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. ApeScaleConflict

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki Finland
    Eq, limiters, compressors, reverb? I'd like to hear more of the ways you do and is there some basic rule whats after what?
     
  2. amarshism

    amarshism Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Ssl buscomp, clipper, pultec eq, multiband comp, clipper, ozone 4 using mid/side harmonic exciter, reverb, mid/side eq, limiter, tape saturation.
     
  3. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    I'm very interested in this as well. It's a general rule of thumb to only compress your Master bus about 1-3dB max reduction, correct?
     
  4. amarshism

    amarshism Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    No, it's really dependent on the material. Attack, and more importantly, release times play a big part here. Some of the big rock producers/mixers like cla and staub are allegedly pulling upto 8db gr on the master bus. For faster material it's probably not as desirable, but certainly on slower/rockier songs I like the glue and pump it can give. Ermz has been experimenting with this for a while with great results.

    There are plenty of threads around here on mastering.
     
  5. ApeScaleConflict

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki Finland
    Yeah there is, kinda licked the cake before a proper search. Its funny that my recent mixes i had done prctically all wrong when it comes to mastering. Its nice to try if things will turn heavier now.
     
  6. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    So....sort of related to topic....

    Let's say you have an entire album in one session, and you are applying your master comp. If you have a part of a song that, say, requires a slow release etc, but another part that's opposite....do you automate your Master comp? Or would you automate the individual instruments/comp in the mix?
     
  7. amarshism

    amarshism Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Try auto release
     
  8. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    :D

    sorry for the newb stuff.
     
  9. ApeScaleConflict

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki Finland
    Its odd that i used event horizon first and then comp and a clipper. And it sure sounded better than first comp, then clip and limiter. Do people do d separate "all drums" channel to their mix and limit it before the master? I have kick and snare on a separate bus that is limited and "all drums" that is also limited. Now that i speak i got the feeling that says to take the limitermania a bit fuck off whaddaya say? :)
     
  10. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    clipping the drum bus is pretty common, to reduce how much of the transient gets snipped off by the master bus limiter. this helps drums sit in a loud limited mix a little nicer.

    i've never had great luck with loads of plugins on the 2bus... many of the greats will tell you not to try and mold the mix using mastering plugins, because the mix is just that.... in the mix. but one thing that remains consistent is limiting it super hard for loudness. the only "rule" i use with limiting is ... pop out elephant, which is almost always the last in my chain due to it's invaluable metering, and adjust the gain til i'm averaging around -8.0db RMS.

    i use radically different chains everytime i finish a project. sometimes ozone, sometimes not. one of my best masters ever, in my opinion, was nothing but C4 > elephant. this is it: http://www.atomicballroomcalamity.com/bird/joey4.mp3
     
  11. StoneLord

    StoneLord LurkMachine Pete

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    I use a comp and saturation. I've changed the sat plugs around so many times that I don't know which is which anymore. That leads me to believe that they are all very similar.
    Never use limiter or EQ on the 2bus. I leave that to the mastering guy with the golden ears/room and fresh perspective to deal with.
     
  12. zvish

    zvish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ¯\(°_o)/¯
    hp filter or multiband comp (sometimes)

    saturation,

    api 2500,

    ozone (eq and limiter only)
     
  13. jimwilbourne

    jimwilbourne I try.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I purchased Cytomic's "The Glue"
    one of the best investments ever.
    SSL based buss compressor. it has some extra controls that make it applicable to so much.
    sounds great for buss compression & mastering compression alike.

    try it out. if you're still searching for something of this nature.

    as for everything else, I have a number of various situational stuff.
    check out the Sonalksis Mastering Suite. it's my sound preference over most of the Waves mastering tools.
    it includes a gorgeous Multiband Limiter.

    I'm actually searching for a more dedicated EQ plug for mastering.
    I have Ozone, but I haven't even used it yet. haha
     
  14. Sinister Mephisto

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,900
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Auto release is good, but it doesn't select the best the best release time for everything. If I was mixing a whole album in one session and two songs were significantly different feels I would absolutely automate the master compressor.
     
  15. ApeScaleConflict

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki Finland
    changed to ozone and did a lil' tape distortion. I seriously think ozone is quite a good limiter. Definetly better than event horizon :)

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7606286/teroantero12.mp3

    theres' a clip if ya like. i personally gotta do another song cuz im getting tired to that one as i've tweaked it too much :D
     
  16. Dollarosa

    Dollarosa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    VCC
    SOFTUBE ACTIVE EQ
    API 2500

    CHECK PEAKS/HARMONICS IN HAR BAL
     
  17. Emdprodukt

    Emdprodukt Member of Dude Castle 69

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    VCC
    Wave Arts Tube Saturator (subtle settings)
    FG-X (without comp, usually have the ssl on my mixbus)

    that's it, at least when I'm mastering my own mixes. I always feel like it's better to fix the mix instead of trying to change something with multiband comp/eq in the mastering chain.
     
  18. Charles J

    Charles J New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    totally depends per project.

    but usually, I'm using every slot on my master buss (in mix sessions, mind you. some of these are to benefit the mix and others are to get the 'glue' and loudness).

    i'll have console emu, m/s EQ, buss comp, DSM and a finalizer.

    also, THE GLUE by Cytomic absolutely shits on every other SSL Buss Comp plug out there.

    'Nuff Said.

    First plug will always be VCC from here on out.
     
  19. The StabbinCabin

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    What is VCC ¯\(°_o)/¯

    I'm trying to break away from T-Racks
     
  20. cyril_v

    cyril_v ♪-♫-♪

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

Share This Page