This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

What do you stuff on masterchain?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by ApeScaleConflict, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Mattayus

    Mattayus Sir Groove-A-Lot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambs, UK
    don't ask me why, but i was always under the impression it was best to leave your master bus completely free in a mix, then bounce down and import into a new project to master?
     
  2. jimwilbourne

    jimwilbourne I try.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    best?
    people do things differently.

    if you're not mastering a song or record yourself, then yes, this is probably the best method.
    but if you're doing it yourself, then it really all depends on your own process and what you like doing.
    best is rather relative.
     
  3. XxRobbieChaosxX

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    St. Pete, Florida
    i set compression so that it brings it down about 1-2DB every time the mix actually PUMPS. attack on 10, release on .1
    Makeup gain is usually around +5.5. I just try to bring it REAL close to 0 without going over.
    Then I use a limited with a threshold of -5 and a output of 0.3


    So...
    REQ
    REQ
    REQ
    SSL Comp Stereo
    L2
     
  4. Mattayus

    Mattayus Sir Groove-A-Lot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambs, UK
    I know, I wasn't being as obtuse as to say there's a black and white "right and wrong" method, but I'm talking about the way in which the master bus processes will act on the audio depending on if it's during playback/bouncedown or if it's doing the same processes but to one single wave form (i.e. the bounced track). If there is, of course, a difference at all (which, in a roundabout way, was my question :lol:)
     
  5. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    why three REQ's in series?? especially if you're mastering your own stuff o_0

    no difference. just preference, depends on CPU resources. if your DAW is already dragging its ass while scrubbing through the mix, you'll probably want to leave the pseudo-mastering to a different session. if your setup has the muscle to handle it, just throw your stuff on the 2bus inserts. this is sometimes beneficial if you're mastering on your own because you can then get an idea of the end result once slammed with a limiter and augment the mix as necessary from within one project.
     
  6. MetalSir

    MetalSir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi! can you explain me this thing?
    really tks!
     
  7. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    You compress in light amounts using multiple instances of the plugin instead of 1 instance with heavy compression
     
  8. MetalSir

    MetalSir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    were is the difference between the two process?
    how much "light" the compression may be? can you give me an example?

    really tks a lot! =)
     
  9. MetalSir

    MetalSir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok, i tried this chain.. During mastering i added some "Elephant" and a couple of other vst..

    this is the result:
    soundclick

    i mixed it during the night.. so NOTHING genelec or ns-10.. be patient..:D
    tanks to all for the eventual feedback.. =)
    i go to sleep! asd
     
  10. NSGUITAR

    NSGUITAR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Lately:

    PSP Vintage Warmer
    Q-Clone
    SSL Buss Compressor
    Ozone 4
    Waves X-Hum (DC Offset remover)
    Elephant
     
  11. FarizAdili

    FarizAdili Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what is q-clone function?
    sorry i'm newbie
     
  12. ApeScaleConflict

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki Finland
    Is it weird that i do that to my snare?
     
  13. ApeScaleConflict

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki Finland
    This:

    There’s nothing like the warmth and character of vintage hardware equalizers. With Q-Clone, you can dig into its massive library of classic EQs, or use the Q-Capture component to model your own hardware favorites. Plus, you can use your captured hardware freely throughout your session, adjusting the sound of each track as if you had dozens of that same equalizer. With so many EQs at your fingertips, Q-Clone is truly an equalization revolution.

    And that:

    http://www.waves.com/content.aspx?id=319&l=4#ixzz15BsRRbsA
     
  14. FarizAdili

    FarizAdili Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thank you

    but i think it has big latency and cpu usage
     
  15. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    x-hum is a needless CPU hog, elephant and ozone both have integrated DC offset filters. ... and personally, i've never been able to hear a difference with or without DC offset filters, but that may just be the limitations of my monitoring environment. what're you doing with the vintage warmer?? just tryina glue things a tad more?? (seriously...not just making fun of the other thread, haha)
     
  16. NSGUITAR

    NSGUITAR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yeah, X-hum really does kill your CPU.. I'm trying to get more used to using Elephant's, but in school, we were taught with X-hum for DC offset, so that's just me sticking to my guns really.

    I've been using the vintage warmer to acquire a nice, round bottom end. It REALLY helps to emulate an analog mix if used properly. It sort of gives you a saturation that is actually quite appealing, at least to me. Sort of zeros everything in for me and give the mix an extra push. But it's very easy to overdue, just like every plug. I could post a clip with a before/after with the psp, if you'd like.
     
  17. waltz mastering

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    3rd Stone From The Sun
    With the quality of converters now a days dc offset is a rarity. If you don't hear a click when starting or stopping audio or see that the waveform is off center, I wouldn't sweat it. If you do experience dc offset on the regular in your own recordings, it's probably time to upgrade your converters and it is also something a hpf set above 5Hz will fix. ...but there's really no need to fix it if it ain't broke.
     
  18. Toxic_Lord

    Toxic_Lord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    There are basically two possibilities:

    A) Old School Metal:


    - ( ATA Master bus if mastering in ProTools )
    - Nebula 3 one band vintage EQ ( try in 5000 Hz!!)
    - SSL Bus Comp ( The glue )
    - BBe Sonic Maximizer ( if needed )
    - Nebula 3 Tape emulation ( Estrudel A81 80´s Model )

    B) Moder Metal:

    I use T-Tracks 3 ( Stand Alone) :
    - Opto Compresor
    - Modern EQ
    - Break Wall/Limiter

    Anyway, there are no rules!!! :Spin:


    Thrash!!!!
     
  19. Seth Munson

    Seth Munson How do Amber Lamps?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    :err:
     
  20. Laneismusic

    Laneismusic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arlington, Tx.
    It makes your chain sound technical and badass
     

Share This Page