This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

What size is your monitor/screen for your DAW? I'm getting a new one..

Discussion in 'Backline' started by ForHerDeadEyes, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. ForHerDeadEyes

    ForHerDeadEyes Señor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    I've been using two 19" (not widescreen) for my DAW for a few years now..
    While I love using two screens vs. only one, I'm considering getting a single 24" Wide..
    I could go for a 27" but I fear it will be too big for my desk / I'll be sitting to close to it.. and it also costs a lot more than a 24"..
    Another alternative would be to go for two 22" since they're cheaper than a single 27".. although they'd fit even less..
     
  2. BLUElightCory

    BLUElightCory Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I'd go for a single screen as large as possible. It's actually faster to switch between the mix and edit windows (in Pro Tools at least) on a single screen than to constantly drag the mouse back and forth between two screens, plus you get more real estate for editing.
     
  3. chdrummer

    chdrummer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have 2 Asus 23" monitors and love the setup. It's definitely personal preference if you want 1 or 2 screens. Im way faster with 2 screens, but to each his own.
     
  4. AKoppenheffer

    AKoppenheffer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. Jaymz

    Jaymz Stymphalian Productions

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    7,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    York
    Just recently moved from dual 15" monitors to a single 27" widey
     
  6. Ben Johnson

    Ben Johnson SSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    2X 22" Samsungs

    I like having separate screens for edit and mix windows.
     
  7. Inceptic

    Inceptic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm using a single 27'', and my DAW of choice is Reaper with the White Tie Imperial skin. Couldn't be happier.
     
  8. sam14

    sam14 Tard

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use 2 x 24" screens. A nice Dell one for my main window and a cheap Benq one I scored off a mate as my secondary.

    I use a reaper theme designed for big monitors so I have a 1920 x 1080 mixer on my secondary and i love it.
     
  9. SethTheGreat

    SethTheGreat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gainesville, TX
    I use a samsung 42 inch TV for my main monitor (wall mounted) and 22 or 24 inch HP off to the side and I love eet.
     
  10. Charlie E.

    Charlie E. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Agreed. I have a friend who always get on my case for not having 2 screens when he visits. Fuck that! I use numbers to switch between windows in Logic and a combination of a trackpad and magic mouse and I love this way of working. Dragging a mouse all over would be a huge pain in the ass to me. I already can't stand going from corner to corner and I use a very fast sensitivity.
     
  11. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Quoted for truth.... You'd think it'd be great, but It's just annoying as fuck!
     
  12. TheUnknown

    TheUnknown Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do you have the mixer docked? if so, how many track are visible in the tcp before you have to start scrolling down?

    just trying to figure out how much realastate im going to gain going from a 21" to a 27" in the arrange view with the mixer docked. Right now i can only get about 2-3 which is a huge pain in ass as i really don't like switching between mixer and arrange view. Thanks.
     
  13. Inceptic

    Inceptic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No I do not dock the mixer; the White Tie Imperial theme does not work with the mixer docked. So I use Ctrl+M.

    However, I just checked, using the default 4.0 theme, if I dock the mixer and shrink it to its lowest setting possible, and zoom out on the track pane as much as I can, I can fit 25 tracks before starting to scroll down. The mixer also accommodates all 25 tracks plus the master bus without having to scroll side-ways.

    I wouldn't work like this, but it should give you a sense of scale if you do the same on your screen.
     
  14. Sloan

    Sloan Sounds like shit!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Honestly, I used to dock the mixer, but getting used to switching to it made my life waaay easier. Also, use track manager to remove tracks your not going to need on the edit screen (scratch guitar tracks, tracks that are being bussed etc).
     
  15. FIXXXER

    FIXXXER ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Germany
    single 27, or a 32 LED TV! :D
     

Share This Page