This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

What's your PC setup?

Discussion in 'All About Tech' started by Dead Winter, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. Dead Winter

    Dead Winter Not faggoty deathcore

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    11,972
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Italy/US
    So what is everyone running? Am I the only one who's got less than a 2 GHz machine, LOL?!
     
  2. Blacken the angel

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    No, Me too I have 1.5 Ghz and its Celeron M :yuk:
     
  3. argentina

    argentina Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I got 2.4 Ghz.. wow I feel like I got a really advanced pc now! lol :)
     
  4. Sonnenritter

    Sonnenritter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Appalachia
    I built this bastard back in May of '03, so it's kind of dated.

    AMD Athlon 3000+
    1 GB Corsair DDR PC3300 RAM
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
    Creative Audigy 2
    250 & 120 GB 8mb buffer Maxtor HDDs.
    Lite-On 52x24x52 CD-RW
    Lite-On DVD-ROM
    Generic 450w PSU

    Nothing too fancy for this day and age, but I haven't had a problem running a single game yet.
     
  5. NegativeVolume

    NegativeVolume The Unemployed Wonder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Morganville, NJ
    I have a quasi ok machine...not really

    AMD 64 2800+ Socket 754
    Some nVidia nForce 3 motherboard, I forget the name
    1 GB rather generic RAM, the cheap stuff from Best Buy
    120gb HD, 5400 RPM Western Digital dealy...it's a relic from my old eMachines machine
    GeForce FX 5900...i need to upgrade this guy soon
    Audigy 1 card, it's pretty good
    1 DVD/CD player
    1 DVD/CD burner
    Pretty sweet Altec Lansing speakers, a 2.1 system.
     
  6. kosh

    kosh ;,.-/=´"

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Paderborn
    AMD XP 2600+ 2,0 GHz
    1 GB RAM
    80 GB 7200 RpM harddrive
    Raedon 9600 Pro
    Terratec EWX 24/96 soundcard
    writemaster 16x DVD writer

    Gotta be changing that some time soon.
     
  7. cyb0rg

    cyb0rg 汗。。&

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    FuZhou
    AMD athlon 3000+(socket 939)
    Kingston DDR400 512MB X 2
    epox nForce4
    Segate 7200.? 120GB (pata)
    6600GT 128 MB/128bit
    Pioneer 16X DVD-ROM
    etcTQ@#%

    update soon
     
  8. judas69

    judas69 god is in the radio

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    AMD64 3200+ / 1 gig / ASUS PCI-E board / 200gig / 6600gt OC'd / DVD-CD Burner / SB Audigy 2 / 5.1 Surround Sound
     
  9. ATGuitar_NInja

    ATGuitar_NInja SPEED = EMOTION

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Not Dead, but Dreaming
    I'm with ya!

    Athlon 1GHz
    1128MB SDRAM!!! so slow so slow ram
    Geforce 6800 8x AGP
    SB Live! 5.1 Platinum - the live drive makes it all worth it. Wont really need to replace this thing when I upgrade unless I really want to shell out a couple hundred more.

    Need to get a dual core processor setup with 2 GB ram and such or more. And GeForce 7950 GT card or two for SLI action!
     
  10. NegativeVolume

    NegativeVolume The Unemployed Wonder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Morganville, NJ
    Speaking of setups, I haven't kept up with my technology in the past year or so...what's the deal with Vista needing certain hardware specs? All these premade PCs being "Vista ready" means what?
     
  11. Phrozenspite

    Phrozenspite Inhuman nihilist

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NH, a cultural wasteland
    Core 2 Duo e6600 2.4 ghz
    2 GB of OCZ PC 6400 DDR2 Platinum timings 4-5-4-15
    MSI p965 Neo-F board
    SB XFI Xtreme Music
    Radeon x1900xt 512mb
    and then uhh 2 320 gig WD Satas
     
  12. PanzerKunt

    PanzerKunt Black Metal Jihad

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    The Internets
    Here's my setup
    Copy/paste so some of the titles are in semi-norwegian.


    Screen
    Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP 24'' widescreen LCD Flat Panel Monitor.

    Case
    NorthQ 2500 Acrylic Kabinett, UV Blå, Med 2 x Blå CCFL og 400W Strømforsyning

    Processor
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.2GHz Socket AM2 1MB, BOXED m/vifte

    Motherboard
    Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe, nForce 590 SLI, Socket-AM2, DDR2,2xGbLAN,ATX, 2xPCI-Ex16

    Graphics card
    2x Asus GeForce 7900GTX 512MB GDDR3, HDTV, PCI-Express, Tv-Out/2:rofl:VI-I, 650/1600MHz

    RAM
    2x Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2, 2048MB CL5 Kit w/two matched CM2X1024A-6400 Dimm's

    Hard drive 1
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2 16MB 7200RPM

    Hard drive 2
    Western Digital Raptor 150GB SATA 16MB 10000RPM

    Power supply
    Enermax Liberty 620W, Modulære Kabler, 10 SATA, ATX/EPS, 2xPCI-E, 20/24pin

    Sound card
    Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS PCI,64MB,EAX Advanced HD 5.0,Front Panel

    Sound system
    Logitech Z-5500 Høyttalere 5.1 THX,DTS, 5 Satelitter og Subwoofer 550W RMS

    DVD-ROM
    Samsung DVD-brenner SH-W163A SATA Black OEM

    Keyboard
    Logitech Media Keyboard Elite PS/2/USB, Retail

    Mouse
    Logitech G5 Gaming mouse (already got that one)

    Mousepad
    Steelpad 4D Gaming Mousepad
     
  13. A1a23

    A1a23 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Naperkill, Illinois
    AMD Athlon 2400+ 2.0 ghz
    512 mb ram
    nvidea 3dforce fx54
    other shit
     
  14. Arch

    Arch ‫‬**‪‫‬**҉‫‬**‪‫‬**҉ ‫‬*

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    16,028
    Likes Received:
    494
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    // -->
    2.53 GHz. I still have this PC setup for 3 years now and I'm still satisfied with it.
     
  15. GarryST

    GarryST New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    At work:
    Celeron 533mhz
    Aopen i810
    256mb PC 100 Transcend ECC
    HDD Samsung 20Gb

    At home:
    Sempron AM2 3000+ @ 1900Mhz
    ASUS M2NVP-MX GeForce6150 +MCP430
    1024 DDR2 667 Apacer
    160Gb Samsung SATA2
     
  16. Infinity Cubed

    Infinity Cubed Prophecy Of Imminent Doom

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    -(the event horizon of a black hole that leads to
    AMD Athlon 950 Mhz
    ATI Video Card (not sure which one, but it's total shite at any rate)
    some shitty sound card
    One 37GB hard drive
    Two CD drives (one burner, one not so much)
    Floppy disk drive
    CTX Monitor (which is complete shite)
    Logitech comp speakers (which are halfway decent)
    Logitech mouse
    HP keyboard

    My setup blows. The only thing I want for it is another hard drive. And maybe a halfway decent monitor.
     
  17. hypocrisy86

    hypocrisy86 They All Knew Golgotha...

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    1.6ghz Willamette core 400mhz FSB, 256kb cache
    512mb PC-133 SRDRAM
    9800 Pro 256mb
    80gig HDD
    100gig HDD
    Audigy 2 ZS..
     
  18. Forever_dead

    Forever_dead New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    uhm
    CPU Pentium IV 2.4 GHZ
    ram: 1,35 gbs
    Video card XFX Gforce 6800 Extreme
    Case: Raidmax Saggita +450 Wats Powersupply
    hard Drive: SATA: 300 gb, IDE ; 160 GBS, IDE: 80gbs
    Sound Card: Xtreme pci audio by diamond
    Mouse: Logitech MX518
    Keyboard: Saitek Eclipse
    Monitor: Dual 19'
    Speakers: Logitech LX530
     
  19. schivmeister

    schivmeister #1QVFan

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Urheimat
    M$ is a beast. I'v given up using any of their stuff eversince i met Linux. Hardware manufacturers are teaming up with the multi-billion-dollar company to rip us off. They are now conspiring in making things "demanding" so we would have to upgrade very often and spend our money. Vista for example recommends a good system which a 6-yr-old pc would not meet. Especially the part of the graphics card. Furthermore, the so-called security features and issue of the type of volume licensing or whether they evn change volume licensing is a pain in the ass and everywhere else on the body.

    Then, PC games are going to b labelled with a M$ sticker frm now, which is probably like the Nazis stamping their products. Heard of DirectX 10? DX10 graphics cards are gonna put a hole in yer pockets. Future games are going to b DX10, and if not they will have both 9 & 10, and will tell u "upgrade to DX10 and see better performance" and thats bullshit. Benchmarks have proven that gaming in Vista is infact worse. Bt since these benchies were done with DX9, M$ says DX10 would yield bttr results. But how are we to know since DX10 wont evn run on DX9 hardware? So in the end, we wont know if the DX10 hardware themselves were programmed to provide false information such as give u a bttr score in 3DMark07 or somethin. Unless M$ comes up w/ a good deal, i wont b upgrading soon (i use Windows only for gaming; Linux is full-time).

    As for my setup, my pentium 3 866MHz died a few mnths back after giving me a good 8 years worth of service. I say the Pentium 3 is the best product Intel evr came up with. Currently im using a notebook with celeron 1.5GHz. Im waiting to get a desktop i have bought some parts but i gotta wait for AMD/ATI to reveal their R600 chips. I dont wanna invest in an NVidia GeForce 8800 yet. Evn tho i say these things are a ripoff, they'r for my 3D modelling n gaming needs. The specs of my soon-to-come rig:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6300+Gigabyte DS3 (bought already, collecting dust)
    2GB DDR 800 (Brand yet to decide, RAM is expensive now)
    8800GTS/R600 (waiting, have a spare ATI X800GT)
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB (collecting dust as well)
    BenQ DW1640 (yes collecting dust)
    Razer Diamonback Salamander (collecting dust, but i want a Plasma LE! :( )

    The rest im getting together with gfx, but mayb ram modules i'll get earlier incase there are any good IT membership discounts/offers/IT shows. Before that i may build a cheap AMD rig for spare use because the A64s are just sooo good and bang-for-buck, unlike Pentium 4s and Ds.
     
  20. hypocrisy86

    hypocrisy86 They All Knew Golgotha...

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    The Core 2 Quads are coming out in force..

    QX6700 (quad core)
    Work horse..

    And the AMD 4x4 is weird
    the new FX line is as-
    FX-70, FX-72, FX-74
    FX-70, comes with 2 processors, each are dual core
    at 2.6ghz, all the new FX's come with 2 physical processors
    and the motherboards need two F sockets or 1207 sockets
    If their is 4 DIMM slots, each CPU takes of 50%
    say you got 4 gigs of ram, each Physical CPU takes 2gigs
    in a stream
    overall the FX 70 series is kinda good..
    in the box for the 70 for i think 499 or 500somin
    you get the two processors, heatsinks and all
    and i think i heard someone say it comes with bunch of addons

    The 74, is 3ghz
     

Share This Page