Toproom Studio  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Toproom Studio
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old November 18th, 2009, 07:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
ToproomStudio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
You are welcome..

You all are welcome to give me questions about bands, my studio, recording, mixing etc.

Thanks.

Børge Finstad
ToproomStudio is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2009, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Raptor7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 195
Not a question but Hello and Welcome Mr Mixerman. Love your productions man. Cheers.
Raptor7 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mixerman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Thank You Bro`

Børge
Mixerman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Dom Ostarig
Senior Member
 
Dom Ostarig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 249
Very nice to open this space. Thank you again. How to avoid phase problems with so many cymbal tracks?? Why do not use a overhead pair??
__________________
Dom Ostarig is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 10:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mixerman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
I allways use one overheadpair! Mostly Neumann km 184 or 84. Sometimes AKG 451 or 414. I use ORTF-stereo. API 212 or Neotek pres. I put on a extra mic the ride and hat and sometimes a extra for some cymbals, but that is rare. Phasereverse the snaretrack!

Børge
Mixerman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Thomas_Atheos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 5
We'll try to come back for the next album
Thomas_Atheos is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2009, 04:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mixerman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
That will be nice Atheos!

Børge
Mixerman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2010, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dom Ostarig
Senior Member
 
Dom Ostarig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 249
Well, Borge, thank you very much. Well i know that you trigger the bass drums, and use to hand Lexicon reverbs for drums, SSL compressor for overhead tracks, but now, how is your snare compression?? Did you use to quantize drums frequently?
__________________
Dom Ostarig is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vandyn
Your New God
 
Vandyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
+1 for the quantize question. and what about replacing/blending snares?
__________________

Last edited by Vandyn : March 21st, 2010 at 03:54 PM.
Vandyn is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 04:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
ToproomStudio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Well...I always use my old and crappy Aphex Expressor compressor. Love it on the the snare, and nothing else. Yoy get it on Ebay for 200$
I do some editing on drums, mostly bassdrums, If I can leave it, I will. I like the "human toutch":-)
If the snare sucks in the mix, I will blend it with some other snaresounds. I have a nice collection with my own sounds.

Børge Finstad
ToproomStudio is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 08:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
amoklava
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
For mye hi-hat i overheads

Hei.

Har følgende problem som jeg lurer på om du har noen fixtrix som kan ordne opp litt.
Har spilt inn trommer, og jer får ikke pannet hi-haten slik eg øsnker grunnet for mye lekasje av hi-hat i overhead mirkofonene.
OH'ene fungerer i dette tilfelle hovedsakelig for cybaler/ride - og ikke så mye som rom-mikker. Har også et eget spor for hi-hat, men ride går bare på overhead mikkene.
Kunne i utgangspunktet droppet hi-hat sporet, og bare benyttet OH'ene for dette, da HH kommer fint fem på dem. Men problemet her er at OH'en som er på ridesiden er den OH'en som også har plukket opp mest av HH (grunnet litt lite gjennomtenkt plassering av de 2 OH-micene).
Så da får jeg ikke pannet det slik at ride har hovedvekt på en side, men HH er på den andre.

Så spørsmål er om det er noe trix for å kunne fjerne HH fra OH'ene uten at det endrer for mye på selve cymbalene/ride. Slik at jeg da kan bruker det separate HH sporet til å panne HH dit jeg vil. Hvis jeg benytter HH-sporet slik det er no - så er HH litt mye over alt i lydbilde (har OH-sporene pannet 100% H/V).

Ville en comprimering av OH'ene med HH som sidechain fungere?
Eller noen noen andre trix.


Radek
amoklava is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2011, 02:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
ToproomStudio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Hallo Radek!
Er det uheldige refleksjoner fra en vegg etc som har forårsaket problemet ditt?
Problemet ditt er vel egentlig umulig å løse...I det store og hele tror jeg ikke lyttere flest vil reagere på det. I mange tilfeller så drar ikke jeg opp Hat-sporet under mix, fordi det kommer nok fra overheadene.
Jeg vil råde deg til å kjøre en stereokobling, som XY eller ORTF neste gang.

Børge
ToproomStudio is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2011, 01:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
amoklava
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Hei Børge.

Takker for svar.
Er nok som du sier at ene veggen har refletert mer enn den andre.
Spilt inn i et øvingsrom som ble lånt, og isolasjonen på veggene har nok vært litt ulik.
Vår oppsett av overhead-mic'er var å plassere 1 mic på hver side av slagverket, vinklet ca 45° nedover mot slagverket.
Har no lest litt om teknikkene du anbefaler, og skal ta det meg med til neste innspilling.
Har et separat HH spor, har testet med å fasevende det og legge det likt i timing og panning som det OH sporet der vi ønsker mindre HH.
Men det ga ikke mye resultat.
Tror det får bli som det er, låter ellers bra - eneste er at panning av HH/Ride forsvinner.
Som du sier så er det nok ikke så mange lyttere som vil reagere - borsett fra meg selv.
Takker igjen for svar, jævla fett at du stiller din tid og erfaring til disp. her.

Radek
amoklava is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2011, 06:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
CirrusClouds
Playing On Cirrus Clouds
 
CirrusClouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
If this thread is still active, I have some questions! Please post back if you're still using this thread. Thanks! -Luke
__________________
My Metal Band - "Catharses"
CirrusClouds is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2010 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media