This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

A question for the bassists out there.

Discussion in 'Musicians Discussion' started by Burning Darkness, Dec 12, 2003.

1. Burning Darkness

Burning Darkness Go fuck yourself

I'm just beginning to play bass, and I have a little experience on guitar but I've never had any lessons or anything. What are some songs to practice playing in order to build up technique on the bass?

2. irishreaper

irishreaper Narf!

I learned Damien by iced Earth first, it has some moving in it, I think you could try basically anything out there, You'll get it down eventually.

3. JonnyD

JonnyD Chef Metal

Well that all depends on the Tech your aiming for I Started out with Iron Maiden Fourtunes of War its an awsome song to learn I would suggest that one :) and like OverKill Powersurge Both are fairly easy to learn and are fun as hell Good Luck and Have fun!

4. Indiooo

Indiooo Member

Ben Harper's bass player (the BIG one) plays some very cool stuff. Great musician. It wouldn't hurt to learn a few songs.

5. leffe

leffe Member

Some easy stuff is For whom the bell tolls(Duhh!!). Only for the weak by In Flames is really easy. Some Maiden song will be good for developing speed and tecnique. Ty hallowed be thy name, aces high, the trooper etc.

6. NAD

NAD What A Horrible Night To Have A Curse

The first song I ever figured out myself on bass was Dawn Patrol on Megadeth. For Whom the Bell Tolls is excellent to start with though, it's easy and gets you familiar with the bottom and top of the neck. And how to use a wah with distortion too, because that is rather important. :tickled:

Advice: don't use transcriptions or tab *shudder*, figure it out yourself.

7. StillLife

StillLife Member

hm...