This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

AE's Nebula thread (samples, tests, etc)

Discussion in 'Backline' started by AeternusEternus, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. AeternusEternus

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not on my end. I tried a few times to mix or EQ the .wav to send it in for deconvolution, but for some reason, when I do that, it comes out all weird. It's just user error, but I never figured it out.

    Apart from that, there's really nothing else to do or try, unless you have some ideas.
     
  2. Acusticaudio.net

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you mix or if you equalise the tones you have not to add latency to the tracks because in that case deconvolution will not turn out good because you are changing the offset.
     
  3. Rockchops

    Rockchops Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry if this has been asked before, but...If I can't run custom loaded impulses thru Nebula 2 free does that mean there is no chance of trying these with my gear? I mean, I want to buy this, but I would certainly like to test it before, I know some of you guys have uploaded samples, but I would like to try this in a more "familiar" situation.
    So..I'm I wrong, or do I just have to buy it right off?
     
  4. devouredremains

    devouredremains Matt Van Daele

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Yes, you need to at least purchase Nebula 2 to use custom programs.
     
  5. Acusticaudio.net

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes to use user made programs you need to buy at least Nebula2, but it is only 20 euro so it is very very cheap.
     
  6. FF666

    FF666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So, We have to say Game Over to Nebula Impulses?? o_O
     
  7. blackbird

    blackbird Toltec

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sadly, we - the others have to say it...:)
    One last bump from me :)
     
  8. AeternusEternus

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    As long as I still own Nebula, it's not Game Over.

    But right now, there's nothing I can do that would be any better. I could sample the best cab on earth with some ultra-hot microphones, and you guys will all still say it's fizzy and lacks low end.

    But keep in mind, when I bought NAT 3, I also pre-purchased the soon-to-come upgrades, including the Core II engine. I have a lot of faith in this company, and if you don't, just take a look at this thread. Francesco has been here the whole time communicating with us, and he will be until we stop asking questions. That's dedication, and I'm sure that our observations about the sound have not gone unnoticed.

    I do encourage other people to make Nebula programs and share them here. I'd love to see what others can come up with!
     
  9. blackbird

    blackbird Toltec

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For me the programs you did are awesome! :)
     
  10. Sickan

    Sickan ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    I haven't had any problems with fizz or lack of low end, it's easily fixed.
    I will post a "full band" mix with nebula within the next two (or so) weeks!
     
  11. Acusticaudio.net

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks guys for your support and your patience. I don't think there is fizz in our emulations, in any case they are better than impulses and anyone even with nebula2 can sample his own cabinets. Don't hesitate to contact me if you need support.

    Francesco.
     
  12. abyssofdreams

    abyssofdreams knows what you think.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    How is it fixed?
     
  13. Sickan

    Sickan ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    I make custom impulses, which I use after nebula :loco:
     
  14. Metaltastic

    Metaltastic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    19,931
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
  15. Sickan

    Sickan ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
  16. noarin

    noarin Producer / Engineer

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    clips or it didn't happen!
     
  17. jesus69lol

    jesus69lol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Doesn't that defeat the purpose of using nebula because as I understand it the impulse will flatten out the "3d" sound? I wonder if a curve eq would do anything for this so called fizz.
     
  18. Sickan

    Sickan ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    I would say no, I use the dynamics and basic sound from nebula and correcting the audio spectrum with the impulse. I don't see how it would be less 3D when there is nothing but eq the impulse is changing (making the impulse as short as possible). Think of it as a more accurate curve eq, it doesn't flatten anything out, right? I have compared Voxengo Curve EQ and my impulses and the impulses are lightyears more accurate.
     
  19. abyssofdreams

    abyssofdreams knows what you think.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    The effects that Nebula has on the tone is not an EQ issue you could fix afterwards, it is the content itself that is fucked and unless we find the errors that are the reasons for these alternations we won't get any closer to an optimal emulation of a cab.

    I've already proven twice (I'm too lazy to find the posts where I did so right now) that a post curve EQ A/B'd to the original cab tone gives an almost 100% match across the frequency spectrum so we can safely ditch the idea that we would have to fix the fizz and out-of-balance tone with some surgical EQ in our chain. Actually maybe the term fizz is misguiding, it is the overall upper frequencies that have a very unpleasant, harsh and unnatural sound to it, very edgy and metallic sounding whereas a cab has a creamier, smoother tone there. And I am not being picky here, this is some issue that has been present throughout all the clips that have been posted so far and it is something that impulses seem to get right. That, and as mentioned before the lowend doesn't seem to be quite alright.

    Basically, all Nebula needs to do is emulate given (good) impulses we have and add its dynamic features to them = pot of gold.
    Now we have a more 3D and dynamic sounding result but the cab vibe itself gets lost during the process if you can catch my drift.

    To me, anyone who thinks that Nebula tones come closer to the real deal than impulses...with all due respect...lacks the ability to hear the vast differences.

    To repeat myself, yes Nebula programs result in a more open and dynamic tone but that's it. They don't feel like a guitar being played through a cab. I am unable to tell you if that is because people who did the programs might have done something wrong or if it is NAT/Nebula itself which needs adjusting for more accurate results.

    In the end, impulses are still my go to solution for the closest emulation of cabs, even if it means I'd have to deal with more 2d and flat sounds. Despite being static, at least they get the harmonic content right.

    That is just my own personal opinion. I do dig the abilities Nebula seems to offer in the long run but all I'm saying is that we're far from being at a point where we've tapped its full potential it seems. But then again, we'd need a good tone right from the start which we could use as an orientation.
     
  20. Metaltastic

    Metaltastic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    19,931
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yup, big +1 to all
     

Share This Page