This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

anyone still using waves tune?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by aviel, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. aviel

    aviel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i am looking for a good pitch correction plugin.
    i use reaper but the rea tune is not very usable for me, it draws the pitch curve quite strange. i really like the gui of waves tune, though for some reason when i tried it once i got black GUI while playing.

    any other good alternative? i prefer a cheap one
     
  2. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    I like it. I've found that sometimes Tune sounds better than AT and sometimes worse. It depends on the voice and the tracking but it's totally usable.
     
  3. Skinny Viking

    Skinny Viking ¯\(°_o)/¯ How do Lydian?

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,123
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Philly
    one of my truly indispensable plugins

    I love it and use if more often than I wish i had to. Can be a bit finicky with more raspy oriented vocals that still have some melody in them but more in terms of properly capturing them. The processing it does is great once you have the part captured though
     
  4. MatrixClaw

    MatrixClaw Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Waves Tune is my favorite of all the pitch programs, because it's super user friendly and intuitive IMO. That being said, it doesn't do quite as good a job as Melodyne does on some things, but it's a great product and does what it says.
     
  5. Skinny Viking

    Skinny Viking ¯\(°_o)/¯ How do Lydian?

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,123
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Philly
    Melodyne does tend to work better on instruments usually but then again, as you pointed out, Tune is a "vocal pitch correction plugin" and it does that job great and transparently once you know how to use it. The learning curve is pretty small to get started and the interface really is very user friendly
     
  6. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is your process for using it? Do you apply it as the first plugin in the chain and then print? I will just do small chunks and print. I've found this to work best for me. Just wondered what most of you are doing. Ever using it on groups?
     
  7. Skinny Viking

    Skinny Viking ¯\(°_o)/¯ How do Lydian?

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,123
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Philly
    I tune before I do any form of editing / timing corrections ... less likely to have artifacts

    usually I'll create a new audio track under the one I'll be tuning, name it "Tuned" or something like that. Then place it as the 1st and only insert on the track to be tuned. I also like to just do small parts / single phrases at a time. Tune 'em up and then bounce to the new track ... slide it up, on to the next phrase. This way if I have to stop for whatever reason I can always know where I left off since the last thing tuned on the finalized track will be a region named "Tuned XXX"
     
  8. aviel

    aviel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i use it on the insert of my channel, before any effect, and just after it put reverb and stuff. the thing is that it not working super great with reaper, has rewire problems and stuff.
     
  9. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    I would never do pitch correction in real time. IMO printing is a necessity.
     
  10. MatrixClaw

    MatrixClaw Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Really?

    I use it all the time in Reaper, with no issues whatsoever...
     
  11. aviel

    aviel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no rewire error or stuff? and isnt the plugin screen goes darker when playing or scanning?
     
  12. MatrixClaw

    MatrixClaw Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Nope. No errors at all, works perfectly for me.

    What version of Tune are you running?
     
  13. BLUElightCory

    BLUElightCory Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I recently rediscovered Waves Tune (mostly out of desperation) while trying to correct a vocal track that Autotune was having trouble with. Worked great! I still don't like the workflow much but I'm glad I've got it on hand.
     
  14. aviel

    aviel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i tried it with V9 i think that we had in the studio, i just installed reaper there for some projects. but if you say its working i might consider getting it for home use, i just rather find something lighter, cheaper alternative.
     
  15. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    ^ Did you use it live or printing the result as you tune ?
     
  16. MatrixClaw

    MatrixClaw Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    If you wait for another Waves sale, it'll likely be down to $100.

    Not really anything out there that can compete with Tune at that price.
     
  17. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    Yeah, I was about to say that I thought WT was the cheap option until I saw the regular price. I think I paid $75 for it.
     
  18. aviel

    aviel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i used it live, since i didnt manage to find a way of processing effect on a track in reaper without just bouncing it.
     
  19. aviel

    aviel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    75$ is a fair price, i really hope that it will be on sale on audio-midi no braainer stuff or something. i grabbed some good stuff from there for 20$
     
  20. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Right clic on the take, "Apply FX as new take" or something like that. It prints all active plugins to the object you are doing this on, without bouncing (I mean, as fast as your CPU can calculate it)
     

Share This Page