This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Anything like beatdetective for sx???

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by alan1990, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. PhilR

    PhilR Studio Scapegoat

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    I don't think I'm anywhere near fluent enough with it to do any such thing. Heaven forbid I join the ranks of clueless idiots setting themselves up as "online tutors" :ill: One thing that occured to me though is that Audio Warp is more or less the same as the Cubase Club method you linked, only instead of cutting the audio then timestretching the gaps the warp tab essentially does it automatically. Here's one video I found:

    In truth I edit drums fairly rarely. Most people we record arn't paying me anywhere near enough for that kind of time investment. I'm doing a fair amount on my own bands stuff though. But in that case I just use drumagog to export MIDI data for the drum hits and edit them that way.
     
    #21 PhilR, Feb 13, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2015
  2. LSD-Studio

    LSD-Studio HCAF crusher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    yep, but that works only on one track...

    I'd like to have exactly that but for multitracked drums..

    like doing that to the key-track (snare or whatever) and having the entire drumgroup stretch accordingly....unfortunately the group-function doesn't work for that...
     
  3. ApolloSpeed

    ApolloSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm suprised all these years....no company has comeout with an VST/DX version of Beat Detective, or a similar product.
    Guess us Reaper users are screwed/:mad:
     
  4. fabz

    fabz www.respawn-inc.com

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Heidelberg/Germany
  5. alan1990

    alan1990 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Petoskey, Michigan
    there has to be a way to do that on more then on track at a time...
     
  6. LSD-Studio

    LSD-Studio HCAF crusher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    just found another way...

    whatever, the Nashville-Method is still the best IMO ;)
     
  7. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    I have tried it out a couple of times, and have never had success with it. Are you doing any steps differently?

    I know you are busy, but if you could do a quick tutorial with your "amendments" that would be really great.
     
  8. LSD-Studio

    LSD-Studio HCAF crusher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    a bit different, yes.
    main difference is that after crossfading I drag the crossfades a bit more to the left to not cut any transients..
    then I have developed a quick routine how to check for quantisation-errors before crossfading--
    nothing really special...just getting used to the method and developing it a bit further I guess...

    If I knew how to capture the screen as a video (like a screenshot but video) I'd do it.
     
  9. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Yeah I have tried it quite a few times now, and its taken me AGES to check for mistakes, and then by the end of it it just doesn't sound great. I'm still determined to get it to work though :heh:
     
  10. LSD-Studio

    LSD-Studio HCAF crusher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    usually I don't have more than one or max 2 mistakes per section (verse or so)...
    most of the time it works w/o any mistakes...

    wasn't like that when I started doing it though...
    but I don't really know what I'm doing differently now...just the routine I guess...

    oh, yep, I avoid quantizing snarerolls etc (at least with that method)....usually just the snarehits that stand alone ..that shouldn't give you any errors
     
  11. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    I think its probably because I'm not spending enough time with the detect silence part. Maybe it would be more accurate using a trigger track. Which tracks are you quantizing? do you bounce them down to one track, or put them on different tracks (like in that .pdf on the last page).
     
  12. LSD-Studio

    LSD-Studio HCAF crusher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    for slower stuff kick and snare, for faster stuff (metal, doublebass) only snare since in that case I'll edit the kick separately
     
  13. aramism

    aramism Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York, NY
    can i do that folder thing with logic? like take my focus track or whatever and put the rest of drums in a folder tracks?

    i know logic has thing beat mapping function which like inspects a track and maps a beat and it outputs it to midi notes which in turn can be used to fix the audio file. i think i managed to do it once after reading the tutorial but i never figured out how to get it to do it for all tracks. oh well, manual editing continues. ugh.
     
  14. MCP

    MCP New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey guys, just found this forum. What a great place!

    Samplitude has a flexible Multitrack Audio-Quantize tool since V10. Check out the tutorial video: [ame]http://de.youtube.com/watch?v=hI1_g1jMZP0[/ame]

    Andi
     
  15. t-rave

    t-rave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    actually you can tab to transient, split audio on silence, and quanitze the chopped audio to grid....it's alot like the cubase method and theres some great macros to automate all this stuff on the reaper site:kickass:
     
  16. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    It's really a shame that musicians don't just practice enough that they can play their parts properly before coming to the studio eh? :lol:

    Fuck I'd rather just program the drums myself instead of going through the headaches of trying to quantize everything...
     
  17. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Yeah there's a good tutorial on that for Reaper actually...

    Part 1:
    http://www.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/Tutorial_10_-_Semi_Automatic_Drum_Editing

    Part 2:
    http://www.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/Tutorial_11_-_Semi_Automatic_Drum_Editing_Update

    I think it's a bit quicker than in Cubase based on reading the Cubase tutorial and trying the Reaper method myself...
     
  18. s34nsm411

    s34nsm411 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18

    at the end of this video the guy does a cool operation where all the selected tracks are bounced and replaced with wavs, is there any way to do this in cubase? it would really be a huge timesaver. and i dont mean by freezing the track, that makes it uneditable
     
  19. PhilR

    PhilR Studio Scapegoat

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Just select your audio parts and look for "bounce selection" in the audio menu.
     

Share This Page