This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

API A2D versus Warm Audio TB12

Discussion in 'Backline' started by ~BURNY~, Mar 15, 2016.

  1. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    [​IMG]


    A2D is using its own converters while the TB12 goes through the RME Fireface 802 converters.

    A2D is the clear winner in this application for my taste as it sounds more Hi-Fi to me and the TB12 tends to overemphasise the boominess of the cab but it still is great as a dirtier/vintagey option.

    Tone is Marshall JCM900, boosted with a Marshall Drive Master , Peavey XXX cabinet with mesa v30 and sm57. Not too great but eh.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 ~BURNY~, Mar 15, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016
  2. tedtan

    tedtan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I like the API best, too, but the "kse TB12 X731 tone in Steel" track from the Tone Beast is pretty good, too. The "kse TB12 X18 tone out Nickel" track had the flubbiest low end. Does the Tone Beast have a variable high pass filter that could help tame the low end a bit or is it a fixed frequency?
     
  3. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    It's a fixed frequency high pass and it's a bit extreme for heavy guitars.
     
  4. mickrich

    mickrich Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Can't listen at the moment. 6505 running a loud reamp for an album.
    Have you tried the line outs of the A2D to line in of your RME.
    I prefer my A2D running to line inputs of my Apogee Ensemble TB than it's own converters.
    I loose the attenuation of the output stage but using the pad and 2:1 I can tame hot signals enough to go line out.
     
  5. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    No I haven't tried yet. The master clock is the RME though.
     

Share This Page