This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Computer questions

Discussion in 'LORD' started by Lord Tim, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. Nitephyre

    Nitephyre LORDwhore/Andy's ManSWOS

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    ormeau@gc.qld.au
    Buy a new one ASAP just to be safe.
     
  2. Bloopy

    Bloopy Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Could be worth trying a different cable first. Or if the drive works fine in someone else's computer then the port could be the problem.
     
  3. Winmar

    Winmar Pillock of society

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    Messages:
    11,275
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canberra
    Thanks for your suggestions. I don't think I'd done a proper isolation test. I tried with the same cable and different computer and it was fine. Then I tried again in the usual PC and it played up. Now I've got it going through a USB2 port instead of the USB3 one and it's a lot more stable. It's annoying, but better than nothing. Ta!

    I have it backed up to a NAS, so at least if it fails completely at some point there is a backup. I also periodically copy the contents to another external drive I keep at my mum's place, in case of burglary or house fire here.
     
  4. Slammed

    Slammed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    38,094
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you've tried it on another computer with the same cable and it works the chances of the drive being faulty are reduced. If it played up again when you returned it to the original PC process of elimination (with such limited information) leads to the PC. USB ports can fail, cabled USB ports can fail more often than hard wired to the MB ports and sometimes shitty drivers will make ports behave with random issues. I'd almost eliminate the drive as faulty, that's the sort of excuse I'd except a Hardly Normal or Good Guys sales droid to come up with. I'd look at everything from BIOS drivers, to O/S updates, to hardware updates and finally crappy ports.

    Although USB2 and 3 are compatible some USB 2 drives can have issues in USB3 and vice versa and some USB3 devices can even refuse to work in USB2. Some of the first gen USB3 external drives needed USB3 bases to connect between the PC and the drive to get full USB3 speed and both Segate and WD in Australia had a bad habit of only offering USB2 bases with USB3 branded drives. It never stopped them working but some versions of Windows didn't always POST a USB2 base connected to a USB3 port or the other way around.
     
  5. Winmar

    Winmar Pillock of society

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2001
    Messages:
    11,275
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canberra
    Thanks Slammed, you make some interesting points. I'll keep them in mind if I have any issues with USB3 in future.

    If I ever get another case I'll get one with USB3 ports on top. Mine are on the back and a pain in the arse to access, hence not testing properly previously.
     
  6. a_kossuth

    a_kossuth New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey guys I'm a newbie but Glenn ranted about this forum in almost every video he ever made so I decided to give this a try :D I'm setting up a build and it will be mostly used to compose/record guitar + bass + MIDI instruments, then gaming and not really frequent but rather passionate use of either Premiere or DaVinci (still haven't decided on which one I like better cause my current PC can't even run them ;__; )

    Either way - I'm baffling myself whether I should go AMD or Intel route, and as much as I love Intel (long time user) I just can't justify going for it at the moment. The built-in features of Intel doesn't even fair anymore cause the video editing tools can suck computing power from GPU as far as I got into research.

    Below are two build I'm comparing between:

    1)
    MB: Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
    PCU: Ryzen 5 5600X
    RAM: G.SKILL DDR4, 32 GB, 3200MHz, CL16
    Storage: Western Digital Black SN750 1 TB M.2, Seagate BarraCuda 2 TB 3.5" SATA III
    PU: be quiet! 700W PURE POWER 11CM 80+Gold
    Cooling: Cooler Master Hyper 212X
    Case: be quiet! Pure Base 500DX (BGW37)

    2)
    MB: Gigabyte Z490 GAMING X AX
    PCU: Intel I-10700K
    RAM: G.SKILL DDR4, 32 GB, 3200MHz, CL16
    Storage: Western Digital Black SN750 1 TB M.2, Seagate BarraCuda 2 TB 3.5" SATA III
    PU: be quiet! 700W PURE POWER 11CM 80+Gold
    Cooling: Cooler Master Hyper 212X
    Case: be quiet! Pure Base 500DX (BGW37)

    I now run Focusrite and Reaper (planning to go for Cubase in a next year or so), what should I go for? GPU are almost non-existing at this point but I'll try and get some 5700XT or 30xx in a month or so when the prices normalize in Poland ;)

    Can you help a brother out? Is there any difference in recording performance and compatiblity with recording gear?
     
  7. Lord Tim

    Lord Tim That guy from LORD

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Messages:
    17,527
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Wollongong, Australia
    Hey man, welcome! :)

    You really can't go wrong with either one of those routes. If you were going for a 3xxx AMD I'd caution against it for audio work because the low latency audio side was a bit iffy, as much as they're great CPUs in every other way. The 5xxx series finally nailed that. The bonus with going AMD is you have PCIe gen4 available to you if you want to really ramp things up later - Intel is still flapping around with gen4 support.

    For graphics cards, either one is good although you're probably still going to have an edge with 3xxx Nvidia... if you can find one. I'd definitely hold out for a 30xx series though, the kick up from the 20xx series is definitely worth it when you compare price per performance.

    Drives-wise, I'd recommend against just the single NVMe drive for your solid state stuff. Either get 2 of them or get a SATA SSD for your boot (system/OS) drive and run your NVMe for your data drive, and then keep your mechanical hard drive purely for storage.

    For audio, any old SSD is fine for your data drive but if you're planning to do video editing on this machine too, you'd really want your fastest drive for the video data drive. For my systems here, on my audio machine I have 500MB SATA SSD system drive, a 1TB NVMe audio data drive, and a 1TB SATA SSD for a storage/samples drive. On my video machine, it's a 1TB SATA system drive and a 1TB NVMe data drive for my working video edits, and then I archive projects off to a NAS or external USB drives.

    REAPER is a great choice for a DAW, in fact you'll likely miss a lot of things in it if you move exclusively to Cubase - which is also pretty great, and a little more polished but doesn't have a lot of REAPER's bells and whistles. There's no reason why you can't use both, of course! I personally use Cakewalk by Bandlab. That's basically the full pro level Cakewalk SONAR before Gibson fucked everything up, with 3 years of extra bug fixes and enhancements since then and 100% free. Worth grabbing to see if it clicks with you. But any of those choices are good.

    Good luck with the build! Hope you can find a 30xx :)
     

Share This Page