This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

connecting POD 2.0 to my computer

Discussion in 'Musicians Discussion' started by yeet_SAY_jama, Jun 29, 2005.

  1. yeet_SAY_jama

    yeet_SAY_jama Gobble Jo0 fetus!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    hello, can someone please please explain how i connect a pod 2.0 to my computer? With pod xt, you can just use USB but how do i get the signal from the POD to my computer with POD 2.0?
     
  2. Hawng

    Hawng Internationaly known

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jeffersonville NY
    It depends on your sound card, what do you have?
     
  3. yeet_SAY_jama

    yeet_SAY_jama Gobble Jo0 fetus!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Canada
    on board sound, it has Line in, Line out and microphone and SPDIF

    nothing large to where an instrument cable can fit in
     
  4. Meandor

    Meandor Dark Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Denver, CO, U.S.
    The easiest solution would be to go from the headphone jack of the POD 2.0 into the line-in of your soundcard. Make sure you're using a stereo cable... you can get adapters to change the 1/4" plug to 1/8".. also make sure the adapters are stereo.
     
  5. FrostGiant

    FrostGiant Mr. Pibb > Dr. Pepper

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bay Area, WI
    My guess is you need a 1/4" to rca cable and go to line in. Going from the headphone jack might work, but not very well since it's not a very loud signal.
     
  6. Hawng

    Hawng Internationaly known

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jeffersonville NY
    Be carefull with using adaptors, between the adaptor and the length to the 1/4 inch plug you can break the input on your mother board (found that out the hard way).

    Go to radio shack and buy a cord 1/8th inch male to 1/4 inch male or female or if you are capable, you could make one out of a old cable and an old set of heaphones. may not be the best but it beats buying a new computer... like I had to. :erk:
     
  7. Nuclear Vampire

    Nuclear Vampire Metal Machine

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    Don't go from the headphone jack. The POD has an out that goes into your soundcards line-in jack. You will need to get a 1/4 to 1/8 adapter for your cable so it will fit in your soundcard. Be sure that the Pod it set to DIRECT on the little switch on the top left. Turn the volume and level all the way down on the POD and turn off your PC speakers before you power the POD up.
     
  8. Meandor

    Meandor Dark Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Denver, CO, U.S.
    I suggested the headphone jack because it would output in stereo so you could use the stereo effects (if you don't care about these then you can stop reading now). If you just connect it to the line out (left or right): left will output in mono (and will adjust all stereo effects to mono) and right will only give you the right side of the output. You could get yet another adapter to convert 2 1/4" mono plugs into one stereo plug- but just plugging into the headphone jack and boosting the level on the POD seems like an easier solution to me. :Smug:
     
  9. sumairetsu

    sumairetsu Joker's Favorite

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    In a vat
    Not recommended. You could end up overloading the soundcard and having to replace it.
     
  10. dreamcatcher

    dreamcatcher Raising the Knife

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Just off the LCO rez
    Use the SPDIF, then.
     

Share This Page