This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Creating a duplication ready master in Wavelab

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Potshot, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. Potshot

    Potshot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I was going to post this in Topsoul182's thread where I recommended Wavelab for his redbook master issue, but figured it might be helpful for a few people so thought I'd make a separate thread for it.

    I personally master in Wavelab, pretty straightforward for Cubase users, as it supports VST plugins. The program can be a bit counterintuitive when coming from Cubase if you expect it to work in the same fashion. If anyone is interested I can go into a more in depth tutorial about fade ins/outs on tracks, crossfading, etc, but for this one I'm just going to show how quick and easy it is to create a duplication ready DDP or physical master with ISRC code, EAN/UPC code and CD text embedded and ready to go.

    Step 1 is creating a new Audio Montage, do this from the floating panel by clicking the button as per the image below, after which you want to select Stereo, CD compatible, 44.1khz from the dialogue box which pops up afterward

    [​IMG]

    Next we want to head to the file browser in the top left corner and drag our tracks to the Montage, I prefer to render my files with the track number at the start so they all come into Wavelab in order. I also line them up on the one track as per the second image below, in order to more easily align gaps/fades/etc.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Next we want to click the CD wizard, located as per the following image, where you see the CD wizard floating text dialogue.

    [​IMG]

    The next image shows what you will see after clicking here, I recommend sticking with the default options regarding marker creation, as this will place start and end markers at the start and end of each clip, and lock them to the clips, so if you move the files around to change the gap lengths, etc, the markers will stick to the clip boundaries.

    You can select the pause length between tracks, of course set this to 0 if you want a gapless CD, the next section allows you to set silence before/after markers, etc. Again set these to 0 for a gapless disc. You can leave all these options at default and manually move the waves to butt up against each other in the montage window afterwards if you prefer or if anything you specify here messes this up at all.

    You can also insert the ISRC codes automatically and the EAN/UPC. Obviously the band/label should be providing these to you, if they request you to get these for them, check with USISRC or your local agency for info on how to do these, but probably best for the band/label to take care of all that.

    [​IMG]

    For CD text, hit the large T for text icon in the CD window as per the following image, again where the floating text is located on screen. The next image shows the dialogue you will see at this point, and you may want to take note of the buttons on the right side of the screen that will propagate the info in each field across all tracks in the Montage, saving you from re-typing artist name, etc. into each one.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    After you've done all this and the gaps are as you want them in your montage, time to hit the Write audio CD... button, again where the floating text is in this image.

    [​IMG]

    You will then be able to burn the Montage straight to a disc if a physical master is required, or you can choose to output to DDP format for digital delivery. DDP output generates cue files, etc. as well. There is also a handy generate CD report function in the CD window that will give you a nice HTML document with all the track numbers, names, start/end points, barcode, ISRC code info, etc. I like to print and include this with a physical master, or include it in the archive with a DDP.

    Powerful and easy software, can't live without it personally, there are numerous further options inside the software for error checking for any clicks/pops, etc, and you should familiarise yourself with all of these before you actually submit the product, but this is a pretty good example of how quick creating the final product can be with this software.

    *edit - should probably mention that if your files are not already 16bit/44.1khz, you should ensure you put something in the dither slot in the master section. Wavelab has the Apogee UV22HR included, my personal preference is Ozone using the MBIT+ (megabitmax) on ultra shaping. I would also generally recommend that you don't dither on export from your DAW unless you have done all your fades in it as well, if you're going to use Wavelab to create the fades, do your dithering there.
     
  2. musickey

    musickey djenital moosic

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Good stuff man. Sure could have used this about a month ago lol, but got it figured out, and what you illustrate is basicaly what i did as well.

    Would be even cooler if you could make that a PDF file, it will be awile until i have to run that process again.
     
  3. GTanguay

    GTanguay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I saw you have pro-tools 10 in your tool bar! Anyway to get a Redbook master in pro-tools with ISRC codes or wte ?
    I'm new to the recording industry and I'd like to know much more about these things!
    thanks!
     
  4. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    No.
     
  5. topsoul182

    topsoul182 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I followed everything step by step and I was able to burn directly to a disc, but when I test it on a separate computer the information doesn't show up. (artist,song title, album) It just shows up as song 1, song 2, etc

    I made sure that the enable cd-text burning box was checked, but still no information.
     
  6. Potshot

    Potshot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Some actual burners are not capable of writing CD-text, check if this is the case on your model? Otherwise perhaps the software you are using for playback may be incapable of reading CD text. Personally I would just digitally deliver them a DDP since I recall them giving you this as an option instead of a physical copy. CD-text is not actually part of red book standard anyway, and generally speaking it's better to leave it out as it will rarely ever be seen and can cause problems during duplication!

    If you really want it, probably the easiest way to check if the data did burn properly is to pop the CD in your drive, open Wavelab again, go to utilities > import audio cd. On that window, hit functions > examine CD-text. This will show you whether the info was burnt or not. Only other thing I can think of is check that the "enable CD-text burning" box is checked on the CD-text window when you entered the info to begin with.
     
  7. topsoul182

    topsoul182 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I talked to the label and they said that the duplicators are going to handle the encoding so it all worked out for me. Thank you so much, you helped keep the band happy and they left having faith in me lol
     
  8. colonel_claypoo

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    thanks a lot for the tutorial!
     
  9. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    CD-TEXT is read mostly by car players. In almost all cases, a computer and a software player does not display the CD-TEXT metadata, but that doesn't mean it isn't there.

    Up to this day, I haven't encountered a single duplication/replication problem with CD-TEXT enabled masters. Leaving it out without asking the client sounds a bit strange to me, since the client expects a commercial album that displays his track names on the nice, shiny display of his Volvo's player. The plant will see whether CD-TEXT is enabled either from the master disc's cover (don't know how others do this, but I have a tick box for CD-TEXT as well as other important data on my master booklets) or from the PQ sheet.

    As long as the CD-TEXT data is stored in the lead-in area of the disc, it shouldn't have any trouble falling in the RedBook standard.
     
  10. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Oh, and to elaborate on the "Song 1, song 2 etc. on my computer" thing, most software players dig the album information from online databases, namely Gracenote's CDDB and AMG by comparing track lengths etc. Here's a helpful article if you want your albums to appear correctly in iTunes, WMP and such when inserting the disc:

    http://www.crescentmusic.com/getting-your-cd-track-info-to-show-up-on-computers/
     
  11. Potshot

    Potshot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Indeed I certainly wouldn't advocate leaving it out when asked for it, but I was under the impression certain older CD players would not playback CD's with CD-text as it was added post finalisation of the red book standard.
     
  12. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    CD-TEXT is a perfectly accepted extension of the RedBook standard. Now, the thing that probably confuses you is that there are two areas on the disc that the metadata can be written on - the lead-in area and the program area. While the lead-in area can hold a lot less data, its use will not interfere with the normal operation of CD players and/or drives. Using the program area for CD-TEXT is pretty much never done when it comes to audio CD's.

    What might cause a problem is that the CD-TEXT data is fucked up. This shouldn't happen as long as you use proper software, and AFAIK WaveLab is just peachy. I've heard of a couple of incidents where the plant rejected a master because of an undefined Language Code block, but as far as I know that should be a minor error caused by the plant using an outdated version of Eclipse, and it shouldn't affect the process or the playability at all.
     
  13. Potshot

    Potshot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Good to know, cheers for the clarification :)
     

Share This Page