This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

cubase 5.1 upgrading to 7.5

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Deathprayer82, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany
    Thinking about switching from cubase 5.1 to 7.5...
    is it worth? Please give me some pro and some contra thoughts.

    thanks!
     
  2. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany
    Still running 32bit cubase. New PC i a I7 with 16gb ram with windows 7 64 bit. Do i have possibillity to open 32bit version and 64bit version or do i have to decide? Want to check out 64bit...but only if the plugins i often use work
     
  3. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    You will have one hell of a learning curve, I'll tell you that much.
     
  4. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany
    So better "never change a running system" :) i was thinking that... but i think this learning curve is getting bigger and bigger with every version. So maybe start now. Hm...i'm really not sure. First step will be testversion for sure
     
  5. Cephara

    Cephara Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    I haven't used Cubase since 5 myself, but sometime after its release, I made the biggest mistake of my life and purchased a MacBook Pro so that I could use Logic Studio 9. After playing in Logic for awhile, I found Studio One 2 (been my favorite over a year now) and my sodomy cleared right up. I prefer Logic up Cubase though, and if you have an iLok2 download the new Pro Tools Demo (I don't understand how its a standard)

    Just some food for thought.

    I've used a lot of DAWS to include: Ableton, Audition, Fruity Loops, Ohm, Reaper, Reason/Record, Samplitude... I found PreSonus' Studio One handles a shit load of takes better than other DAWs.
     
  6. exoslime

    exoslime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Austria
    to be honest, i dont like the new 7 / 7.5 interface at all.

    the new cubase 7.5 got great new features, like group-option in the mixer, variaudio2 codecs and stuff like that.
    BUT, this new interface makes me gonna hate cubase, i updated to Cubase 7.5 last year, but i still use 6.5, as the new interface slows me down sooo much and ruins my productiviy. as everything takes me so much longer to do it cubase 7.5 than in 6.5.

    Cubase had nearly the same gui for the last decade and it worked well, so why did the just change it to the worse?
    when i just see this imense big and cluttered VST Instruments overview window in cubase 7.5 i just wanna quit the programm.

    also what i dont like, at least on my computer, is that after hitting "F3", it takes a second that the mixer window pops up, there is a noticible delay, and i often hit F3 during a session, in Cubase 6.5 its instantly there.
    then the new button design, ie on the insert and sends effects, .. WHY???

    sorry for the rant, lol

    do you have a special deal for the upgrade? you could always upgrade 7.5 , and for example, still use like Cubaes 6.5, as with the 7.5 license you can also run Cubase 7 / 6.5 / 6, etc…
    The difference between Cubaes 5.1 and 6.5 are much lesser than the jump to 7.5

    but yeah, give it a try perhaps you will love the new 7.5 gui
     
  7. tgs

    tgs Elder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Guess I'm the only one who likes 7.5 then. :lol:

    For me it's a bit different but I wouldn't call it bad. The new channel grouping in the mixer (especially the quick group thing) is a god-send that I wish was implemented a long, long time ago. Finally being able to drag-and-drop EQ settings, sends, etc etc. Like the channel strip as well.

    I'm using a Mackie MCU Pro with two extenders and I can definitely say that it works MUCH better than before with the latest version.

    So for me it's been a positive experience with the latest update. Some hate the looks...well I've at least changed the color theme to what I like and have used since C6 (kind of brown/grey) rather than the depressing blueish metallic or whatever they choose to have as default.

    I will say this though: I've used Cubase since '95 or something so I've worked with it a LOT, and when a new version is out I've simply learned the new functions, figured out which ones improved my workflow and kept on working. I do not have the luxury/curse to be able to properly compare it with other DAWs because I haven't used any, really.
     
  8. Deathprayer82

    Deathprayer82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nuremberg / Germany
    thanks for the feedback guys!
    when i find the time, i will check the Demo
     
  9. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    I like 7.5 to each thier own I guess.

    I agree with Jeff though, the changes from 5 to 7.5 are quite a bit.
     
  10. Revson

    Revson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    My biggest beef with 7.5 is that drum editing is damn near impossible on my rig now. If I slice up 4 bars of drums to quantize Cubase locks up for about 15 seconds before it unfucks itself, then as soon as I hit quantize the same thing happens, and then when I crossfade the tracks the same thing happens again. Slip editing is no better either. Both Cubase 6 (in 32 bit) and Pro Tools 10 are faster to use on my system. I'm on Win7 with an Intel i5 processor, btw.
     
  11. TheEngarn

    TheEngarn New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I would say do it. There are some improvements that make the work flow smother than ever especially for larger sessions.
     
  12. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    huh the quantise thing has been great for me. I did a whole song with it.
     

Share This Page