This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Cubase 7 Crashing makes me want to jump off a bridge

Discussion in 'Backline' started by derekmoffat, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. derekmoffat

    derekmoffat 608 STUDIOS

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Anyone else having problems with Cubase 7 crashing while loading certain projects? I've tried the trick of loading a new project, then loading the project I need, not activating it, and then exiting out of the new project. Sometimes it works with certain projects, but some projects of mine just don't work anymore. In the past I've had to delete some tracks while the project is inactivated to get around it. It's not a plugin or VSTi issue. It will even crash loading a blank audio track, so I delete it, try again, and it crashes on the track that was next to it.

    Why am I having these issues? I've had them for the past 8 months since I installed it but really can't afford to have this shit going on anymore. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this.

    I'm on Windows 7 64bit
     
  2. TimPio

    TimPio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hamburg / Germany
    Same here... :( tried to open some old projects i did last year and cubase crashes. They were made with Cubase 7 (Win 7 64bit). The only working way is to open them in Cubase 6. But that is a really bad compromise. Did you contact the Steinberg support?
     
  3. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thinking about learning Cubase 7 because 6.5 isn't compatible with Mavericks makes me want to jump off a bridge. New version is ugly as shit :(.
     
  4. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    7.5.1 64bit on W7 64bit working fine here.
    Only thing I noticed is it doesn't seem to like 32 bit plugins and Jbridge isn't stable enough. I removed the path to 32 bit plugins and I can open old projects witout a problem (except missing plugins when there is no 64 bit version installed).
    Didn't like the interface at first but I got used to it and there are many features that considerably improved my workflow.
     
  5. rapucore

    rapucore i really hate spiders

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    FIN
    I'm on 7.5.1 64bit too (W7 64bit). Only had crashes when I use excessive amount of 32bit plugins (JBridge), Cubase's own bridge crashed every time when using them.

    PS. Am I the only one who likes the GUI of Cubase 7? :lol:
     
  6. tgs

    tgs Elder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    You're not alone! :)
     
  7. TheEngarn

    TheEngarn New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Had that happening with 7.5. Especially when loading the reverence reverb, always crashed. Also had the most annoying thing happening - each time I was starting to save too often (as I do sometimes start to press ctr-s 60 times per minute :D) it was freezing. Yesterday applied the latest update from Steinberg's site and all these issues are gone. Happy customer here now :)
     
  8. Mutant

    Mutant I hate that supercow !

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,906
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poland
    I will not repeat myself here, but there is an ultimate solution to all your Cubase crashing problems which i took a good few years ago.

    btw. About that bridge thing...
    [​IMG]
     
  9. rvs0002

    rvs0002 Metal from the Heartland

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Topeka, KS
    +1. Finally jumped ship and went to Studio One 2 (if I was going to have to learn something new anyway). Really glad I did.
     
  10. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Moving to Studio One will be the absolute last thing I do - I'd probably move to Reaper before that. I've got enough compatibility issues running Cubase in a Logic/PT dominated world.
     
  11. rapucore

    rapucore i really hate spiders

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    FIN
    I use two reverb plugins and one of them is the REVerence, it never crashes my projects. :lol:
     
  12. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'm pretty sure most issues come from 32 to 64 bit transition.

    Beside I'm not one to sing praise for any given software/hardware for no reason, especially not coming from Steinberg but fact is I like Cubase MORE since I updated to 7.xx.
     
  13. Skaldir

    Skaldir formerly known as Unicorn

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    You deserve a crash then :D
    Why the hell do you save every second? You can even work in the time between
     
  14. Skaldir

    Skaldir formerly known as Unicorn

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    Good point. I also get crashes in Cubase 6 from the bridging. Not really because of other reasons
     
  15. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I don't suppose you don't know there's an autosave feature...?
     
  16. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    The only crashes I have is with Slate trigger. I can reproduce the crash without fail every time.

    It's been there since version 6 though.
     
  17. TheEngarn

    TheEngarn New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Kinda silly but it is a habit from other codes or softwares. Hard to leave them out when working on cubase :eek:

    Have mine set for each 15 min.
     
  18. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Is it where you remove it from the project and it crashes? I fucking hate that one.
     

Share This Page