This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

DAW Question...

Discussion in 'Backline' started by MindsinK, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. MindsinK

    MindsinK Not a team player

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio, USA
    I'm a current ProTools 8 user, but was wondering if any of the other DAW's (Cubase, Sonar, etc.) were a little friendlier to my needs... any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    I write proggy stuff with odd time signatures and tempo changes. An example of what I'd like to do is record a verse with multiple tracks (guitars, drums, vox) flowing right into a chorus.

    Now, say I'd like to go back and write a part that goes between the verse and chorus, but I don't want to slide all of the chorus tracks to create a gap... I want to record this new part later in the project (after the verse/chorus.) Then, upon playback, we start with the verse, jump out to the new part and then jump back and continue with the chorus. So basically, playback would be non-linear with the ability to jump to different points in the project. Is this possible in any DAW?
     
  2. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
  3. BLUElightCory

    BLUElightCory Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The problem with what you're describing is the inability to use crossfades and effects trails to help the parts blend together seamlessly - it's cool in theory, but in practice the transition between each part would sound abrupt and "edited.
     
  4. MindsinK

    MindsinK Not a team player

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio, USA
    That is exactly what I'm looking for... thanks! I was more worried that PT had this functionality and I didn't know it... hah!
     
  5. MindsinK

    MindsinK Not a team player

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio, USA
    Cory, I'd only be using it to write demos... for the final cut everything would be recorded in the usual manner.
     
  6. Jind

    Jind Grrrr!!! (I'm a bear)

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Perhaps something like Matrix View in Sonar - it's a non-linear Audio/MIDI arrangement tool. It's not perfect in that you have to do all your recording in Track view, but then you can drag tracks into the Matrix cells for arrangement purposes. It can also use loops, MIDI, clips, one shots, whatever - you can layer cells and trigger in live performance mode. It's a feature they pulled over from the old P5 product.

    [​IMG]

    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xzuQW5abPGQ&[/ame]
    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vxtL8CNsB4&[/ame]


    Just other possibilities. Could work for you - could not.

    As always your mileage may vary.
     
    #6 Jind, Nov 6, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  7. AHChris

    AHChris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bavaria
    In Cubase it´s called arranger... essentially the same thing.
     

Share This Page