This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

DAW to audio monitor splitter needed!!

Discussion in 'Andy Sneap' started by Frank'nfurter, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. Frank'nfurter

    Frank'nfurter Thrash till death

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lörrach, Germany
    I'm looking for a active device to switch the signalpath from the DAW to 3 - 5 differend active monitors. Anybody here who know such a device?:confused:
     
  2. Lopes

    Lopes Fuckin' Dr. of Journalism

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fallbrook, CA
    I believe Mackie and Presonus have devices to do such a thing and they are in the $400-500 price range.
     
  3. Lord Lurion

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain (Madrid)
    All I can think of is the Mackie Big Knob. It obviously barely suits your needs though. Sorry!
     
  4. Razorjack

    Razorjack Bass Behemoth

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Both the Big Knob and Presonus Central station are good but they only have 3 outputs, for any more I don't know what to suggest.
     
  5. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,726
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    I've looked around for this sort of thing but haven't found one in my price range. If you find something solid and inexpensive, by all means post it--that would really help my life!!
     
  6. IronApe

    IronApe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pavia - Italy
  7. adrianvillan

    adrianvillan Metal Commando.

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The ruins of Los Angeles
    I use the mackie Big knob. I like it but it can only handle 3 inputs sources. But I also use the soundtech system switcher on the C output channel and that let me send it to 6 more sets of speakers. A bit much but when a band wants to hear there stuff really loud I send it out to the PA system in another room to not blast my ears.:cool:
     
  8. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,726
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Anyone know anything about the inexpensive Samson one?
     
  9. _RiseInside_

    _RiseInside_ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portugal
    I use the central station. It´s pretty good. It´s all passive, the mackie isn´t.
     
  10. black sugar

    black sugar The Burninator

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uh-mericuuh... Fuck yeah!
    The Samson C-Control? I've heard it's good... "for the money".

    I guess that means if you're not going to be able to save up for a Central Station any time soon, buy the Samson.


    Frank, if you've got the money, you could go with a Central Station or maybe an SPL MTC 2381, for the "important" monitors and a C-Control for the consumer reference speakers, if that's what you're planning on doing.

    FWIW, I did some research on this earlier this year, and a lot of people found the Big Knob too colored.
     
  11. prititing

    prititing Idiot

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bucharest
  12. Thornspawn

    Thornspawn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Split, Croatia
    Here is a cheap little device that I'm planing to buy. And it's all pasive so the sound reference isn't degraded unlike in the other more expensive products.

    SM PRO AUDIO MPATCH

    http://www.smproaudio.com/MPATCH.htm
     
  13. Frank'nfurter

    Frank'nfurter Thrash till death

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lörrach, Germany
    Thank's to all of you dudes. After some tech note research on all these Devices I think the PreSonus CS1 with the remote would be fit to my demands. And as a aditional splitter the passive MPatch.
    @BlacK sugar. What did you mean by colored? Does the Big Knob take influence to the signal?:err:
     
  14. James Murphy

    James Murphy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    yep, that's what he means.

    btw, i have the PreSonus Central Station for my home system and the remote you can get for it,(i just use the functionality of the SSL master section for this at the studio) and it's damn good. i might have gone with a Coleman or Grace if budget were not an issue but i chose the PreSonus for it's features and price... i have not regretted it. there's a couple things that anyone getting one, or using one already, should know that aren't clear in the manual:
    1.... the Calibrate button must be left engaged after running the calibration process.
    2.... press and hold the Peak Clear button for several seconds and the Central Station will switch it's peak display to auto-clear mode and peak indications will go away on their own after a few seconds rather than remaining until you press the Clear button.
     
  15. Gomez

    Gomez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London U.K.
  16. James Murphy

    James Murphy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    yeah, well who wouldn't?... but if he was looking at the Big Knob he doesn't likely have the budget for the Cranesong or the Coleman or Grace.
     
  17. Frank'nfurter

    Frank'nfurter Thrash till death

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lörrach, Germany
    Aha. The shame is that here in germany you have to pay extra for the CS1 remote. F***! On the sweetwater.com link from IronApe was a special offer. If you buy the CS1 you get the remote for free. But only for US citizen. F***


    Yeah, man. I'm a f***in' rich bastard, so I will buy 20 of them.:D :D
     
  18. Gomez

    Gomez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London U.K.
    Cool. If you have no room to keep them, I'll have one.
     
  19. Frank'nfurter

    Frank'nfurter Thrash till death

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lörrach, Germany
    Of course you'll get one!:D :D
     
  20. Muttley

    Muttley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [​IMG]

    Sorry. Couldn't resist...

    </puerile>

    :D

    Muttley
     

Share This Page