This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

DI Boxes

Discussion in 'Production' started by cvdpoel, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. cvdpoel

    cvdpoel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    What kind of DI Boxes are you guys using? So far I've just been using the instrument ins on my Tascam US-1800.

    Are there any differences between using this vs a DI Box?
     
  2. Goodfellas453

    Goodfellas453 Always The Understudy Vox

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Temecula CA
    big differences, i have a tascam 1884 and a saffire pro 40, got a countryman 85 its so so clean in comparison, it actually seems like more string attack and less Dull sounding
     
  3. oroinvictus

    oroinvictus dangert billy

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    eugene, oregon
    Radial J48 and a MOTU 8pre here.
     
  4. GTanguay

    GTanguay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Radial J48 also in a UA LA610 MKII here!
     
  5. cvdpoel

    cvdpoel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Thanks for the responses guys! I'm heading out to pick up a Radial Engineering Pro RMP tomorrow. Heard good things about it so I'm gonna give it a test drive!
     
  6. GTanguay

    GTanguay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Radial Pro RMP is a reamping box not a DI.. you probably know..but just making sure since you were asking about DI's!
     
  7. oroinvictus

    oroinvictus dangert billy

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    eugene, oregon
    +1, are you looking to do reamping or just recording through a DI box?
     
  8. cvdpoel

    cvdpoel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Reamping, I guess I should have made that more clear! Sorry about that!
     
  9. GTanguay

    GTanguay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My reamp box is a Palmer Dacappo comes from germany! pretty decent for the price! Never had the chance to really use it since I do not own any amps.. and most bands I recorded had no gear.. but seems about right for 90$ Can. got a +4/-10 switch.. ground lift for the input and a level pot for the output!
     
  10. Jolonator

    Jolonator New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The countryman 85 is good for guitars with active pickups??
     
  11. Bay Studio

    Bay Studio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austria/New Jersey
    I think i know this unit. It´s the yellow one right? With the Palm trees. haha

    Great piece of gear! (for that price)
     

Share This Page