This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Drum Programming question (Midi editors?)

Discussion in 'Drum Samples / Store' started by Joel4662, May 4, 2011.

  1. Joel4662

    Joel4662 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not sure if i'm in the right sub-forum here, but we'll see.
    I have Reaper, and have tried programming my drums in it's midi editor, and hate it.
    i resorted to just using guitar pro since my old band tabbed out all our songs anyways.
    but now, i'm recording other bands and it's not really workin.

    so question, what's everyone's favorite midi editor for programming drums? Cause Reaper and GP5 aren't cuttin it anymore :\

    i have done research here btw, just wanted you opinions.
     
  2. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Cubase 5 Rocks at MIDI editing ;p
     
  3. K Odell

    K Odell \=/Varnisher\=/

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Cubase slays and Logic does also, but I never had any issues with Reaper at all for drum programming.
     
  4. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Guess its just getting use to how your DAW works!
     
  5. olif8

    olif8 Minge

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Midlands, UK
    What is it about Reaper that you don't like for editing?
     
  6. Joel4662

    Joel4662 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's the way you put the notes in is difficult and time consuming for me
    Idk it does like get the job done now that I've been messin with the settings (hide unused note rows helps alot) so it's actually startin to grow on me
     
  7. timislegend

    timislegend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    ableton live = best midi editing
     
  8. Seth Munson

    Seth Munson How do Amber Lamps?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I love midi in PT but thats probably because I have been on it for years and years so I have created a very nice workflow for me.
     
  9. Joel4662

    Joel4662 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah ive spent the last 3 hours programming some drums for a band I'm recording (my first real clients!!!) and I'm starting to get pretty used to it
    I just input all the notes, then go through and do velocities, then humanize. It just takes some gettin used to I guess!
     
  10. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    How long have you guys been using your DAW's for? I been a Cubase user since 2002 and just keep upgrading. I love cubase. We use Sonar at work but man, they still got some way to go.
     
  11. jimwilbourne

    jimwilbourne I try.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Digital Performer 7 is awsome at all things midi.
    Its definitely the leading DAW in midi programming. I love it.
    Logic is also pretty good with midi.
     
  12. Joel4662

    Joel4662 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Been using reaper for 8 months.
    First DAW.
    And thanks mostly to this forum and a few good books, I can now pretty much mix -core genre music better than all the local studios -.-
     
  13. Seth Munson

    Seth Munson How do Amber Lamps?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    why not humanize when you're putting in the notes? same with velocities although velocities (for me) usually get edited until drums get printed
     
  14. Joel4662

    Joel4662 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well like I put them to the grid the whole way through then use reapers little humanize thing.
    Do you mean you input the notes a little off the grid while your programming?
    It's a little new to me that's why I'm askin

    Also, reaper guys, any way to make the midi grid display triplets??? I've been workin on this one for like 30 mins.
    Google has no answers..
     
  15. Beneath_the_Bliss

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K
    been with Logic Pro for around 2 years now.. personally my favourite daw, but it is a CPU hog. Started out with cubase back in college (still gotta love the drum editor in Cubase) ha, but starting to use ProTools in uni, and I hate it... find it too slow to navigate around, and just find editing really time consuming
     
  16. Seth Munson

    Seth Munson How do Amber Lamps?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Yes of course.
    and why would you let a computer "humanize" something for you? doesnt really make sense to me
     
  17. Z3R0

    Z3R0 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Where you change the grid (i.e. 1/8, 1/16, etc) there is 1/16T anything with the T is triplets.
     

Share This Page