This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Drum sample help

Discussion in 'Drum Samples / Store' started by dustinfeltner, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. jpsmithrocks

    jpsmithrocks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Drumagog can pretty much do this...
     
  2. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    ^^Improper use of it, you're better off with Battery or Kontakt.
     
  3. Spiritbeast

    Spiritbeast Noob-in-training

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks dude, looking into this, I think that seems like what would be best.
    Googling came up with no results - can Battery not load Kontakt instruments?
     
  4. Vinny

    Vinny Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Braunfels, Texas
    +!
    You can't program drums directly from Drumagog. You have to have some sort of sampler before Drumagog.

    P.S. I haven't been able to read all of the posts, but can you guys PLEASE start saying "Kontakt" instead of "SSD" when referring to loading Joey's samples? Because that can easily throw off some of the newbs here.
     
  5. jimwilbourne

    jimwilbourne I try.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    imo, the best solution here would be this:
    GP5 to Program & full version of Kontakt 4 to use Sturgis samples.

    I'm not sure what daw you use, but in my daw, you can load a file as the midi drums and it drops everything into a map where you can completely velocity edit, groove & quantize/humanize in very complete ways.
    hell, you can even skip GP5 and program directly within the daw.

    from there you can trigger multiple sample formats (SSD, Sturgis, & Superior) simply by separating each midi drum part (as if it were real multi-tracked drums to begin with) and assigning each midi out to the appropriate VI.

    Kontakt 4 should basically solve your issues in programing all around while giving you other options out of the VI than the SSD Kontakt player would.
    and by using the method above, you can easily use any number of midi-based sample replacement VIs on a single drum track.
     
  6. jpsmithrocks

    jpsmithrocks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    + 1

    That's exactly how I'm running my programmed but figured that may be out his price range... as slate + kontakt 4 + sturgis... is a little pricey...
     
  7. jimwilbourne

    jimwilbourne I try.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    yeah. it just may be out of his price range.
    but I figured that would probably be the best long term investment.

    my next move is exploring how Trigger will take this to a new level for me.
    any thoughts on this?
    currently I use a program included within my daw (interestingly enough called the "trigger" plugin haha) that basically converts an audio signal to an midi note. I'm not satisfied with it's accuracy with velocities but I make due.

    I hear Trigger is really good at this and may be worth the investment. in addition to it being easy to make your own multi-samples. because honestly, as great as Slate & Superior have been to me, I'm looking to take the next step and create my own monster samples.

    also, can the sturgis samples easily work with trigger?
    if so, this may also be a simple solution for those who want to program with his samples
     
  8. Spiritbeast

    Spiritbeast Noob-in-training

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dumb question, but what articulations do you guys seem to be the best? Always hard for kick? What about for snare? Mostly medium going up for hits that need emphasis (hard) or mostly hard and maybe some medium hits thrown in? And the cymbals? I'm just wondering because I finally now have the set, but I'm really not used to programming things on my own... usually just drag and drop into Toontrack stuff and voila. I will have to do a lot of velocity adjustments by hand myself, since the default Guitar Pro velocity is 95 (which is a soft hit for many pieces of the kit)
     
  9. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Joey uses crack hits (120 - 127) velocities) on the heavier stuff. Esp the snare
     
  10. Seth Munson

    Seth Munson How do Amber Lamps?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    It's actually extremely cheap if you know what to buy and when. You can get all of those things for less than $300
     
  11. Spiritbeast

    Spiritbeast Noob-in-training

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The crack hit sounds too much like... a crack haha. I don't like the sound very much. But my non crack hit isn't sounding very good either. I just want the drums to sound as good as they did in the Joey unmastered example. Obviously I need to tame my overhead levels, but heres some shitty programmed drums from guitar pro dragged into Kontakt with the Truth Black and Gold drums and cymbals. I changed the kick velocity to hard, I think I did with the cymbals too. The snare is hard, not crack.
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/27079170/drumexample.mp3 Here's what I got.

    How do I make (especially my snare!) sound as good as the Joey example... am I missing something obvious here?

    EDIT: I played the snare in a seperate project file by using my MIDI keyboard... and it sounds way better. What am I doing wrong here? Is it how I have the tracks routed?
     
  12. Anthropocide

    Anthropocide mixing engineer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have bought all Joey Sturgis samples and found it sounding great! But only one issue gives big pain fo me is dynamics and limited layers quantity. So, there is a huge difference between HRD and MED layers, especially for crash cymbals. It's very audible in the mix unless using only MED layer. Moreover, input velocity has no effect for Kontakt within each layer (Crashes only. For chinas/splashes/bells it works properly).
    And I don't know why China B in Shoulder City set has 5 chokes and only 3 open hits (in my opinion it's unreasonable disproportion).

    Anyway, big thanks to Joey for great work with samples and very affordable prices!
     
  13. Seth Munson

    Seth Munson How do Amber Lamps?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    with the layer difference that just means you arent comping correctly.
     

Share This Page