This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Dynamic issue.

Discussion in 'Production' started by JeffEstrada, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. JeffEstrada

    JeffEstrada Ascend Recordings

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone else having problem getting a lot of dynamics on quick triplets in podfarm? It sounds like it has no dynamics it just seems like a quick shhh sound.

    Gain on the amp is at 65
    Iv'e re-recorded the guitars a few times to get the best take.
    Maybe it's something on the TS?

    Gain-65
    Bass-57
    Mid-45
    Treble-80
    Pres-70
    Vol-70

    Really stuck on this.
     
  2. jeffreyfeast

    jeffreyfeast New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    fayetteville, AR
    Turn your gain down
     
  3. Joel4662

    Joel4662 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    +1
    Treble down
    Mid up IMO

    I go
    G-35
    M-65
    T-40
    Gotta play tight though
     
  4. Beneath_the_Bliss

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K
    set the gain around 40ish. it's all about the playing mainly though
     
  5. JeffEstrada

    JeffEstrada Ascend Recordings

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank's for the tips that definitely fixed the problem,
    I left it at around 45 -50
    35 felt a little low but the mids up worked great.
     
  6. Vinny

    Vinny Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Braunfels, Texas
    I guess suggesting a real amp would be out of place on this forum......? :Smug:

    But try putting a hardware compressor pedal in between your guitar and DI. Kind of counter-intuitive but it works really well in my case. (I have yet to have any luck using plug-in comps for this particular application.)
    I doubt it is a fix-all for everybody, but it works for me when I use sims. (Still prefer the real thing though. But this might be of use to you.) Definitely be careful not to overdo it though. Key is to get the attack just right.

    I use the MXR Super Comp and Custom Comp pedals.
     

Share This Page