This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

FireWire Express Card?!

Discussion in 'Backline' started by CubanDude, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. CubanDude

    CubanDude not really cuban

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Thinking about buying an Express Card to add a FireWire Port to my Laptop, could be quite convenient for guerilla recording (I mainly think about doing reampings in the rehearsal space of the band if it's of any use cause I can't crank my amps at home).

    Anybody with some tipps or recommendations?

    Cheers
     
  2. Rhys Llewellyn

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uk
    You definitely want to look for a card that uses the Texas Instruments chipset and not VIA.

    If it's a PCMCIA then I can recommend the Trust FireWire 400 DV Cardbus Kit. It worked flawlessly for me on my old laptop. The chances are though if it's even a remotely modern laptop then it will have the slimmer card slot type and annoyingly the old cards wont fit!

    * Just noticed you specifically mentioned Express card so the last part is irrelevant for you, sorry!
     
  3. CubanDude

    CubanDude not really cuban

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Cheers! will pay attention to buy a TI chipset
     
  4. Plendakor

    Plendakor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I use one with a VIA chipset. No problem with recording and latency, however I suspect it to be the reason why I hear a light white noise in my RP6s as it does not filter the noise of the PSU.

    Can anybody confirm ?
     
  5. MarcusGHedwig

    MarcusGHedwig Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    I've been using the Startech EC13942 for years and it's been great; TI chipset and lifetime warranty, can't go wrong! (though make sure it's not the 13942A2, as that one's not TI)
     
  6. CubanDude

    CubanDude not really cuban

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    okay, while we're at it. I'm currently having some problem with wite noise when reamping, and I always thought it's a grounding issue or something. I'm using a saffire pro 40 and I heard quite some people who had great success with it, so it should be something else than the saffire and I THINK i currently run a firewire card with a via chipset in my pc. could this be the root of my problem?
     

Share This Page