This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Focusrite 2i2 or Steinberg UR22mkII?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by pattonfreak1, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    So I have 2 VERY outdated interfaces that just won't cut it anymore (1st gen Toneport GX and a 1st gen Lexicon Alpha).
    The input and output on the Toneport are starting to go out and the Alpha is giving me weird latency issues (out of nowhere latency gets huge until I open device settings then close it).
    Anyways, I'm in the middle of a project and have roughly $170 and have narrowed my choices down to 2:

    Focusrite 2i2 or Steinberg UR22mkII
    Will I notice a considerable difference in sound with either of these over the 2 that I have now?
    Is one better than the other? (Soundwise, support, stability, durability, etc.)
    Which one should I purchase?
    Thanks in advance fellas.

    EDIT: I'm running Windows 8.1 64bit
     
    #1 pattonfreak1, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2016
  2. Dylan S

    Dylan S Celephai

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    I had a Line6 Toneport UX2 quite a while ago. It did a decent job for what it was at the time and I enjoyed being creative with it.

    There was always something lacking in the tone, and I don't just mean with PODfarm. No matter what I did - whether it was micing up an amp or using impulses or whatever, there just didn't seem to be the sound quality I was after in the tones. Having said that, I just figured it was because I wasn't that good.

    Anyway, I got back into recording/writing music in the last couple of months and bought a Scarlett 2i2. The tones have been coming MUCH easier and I wish I had have bought one much sooner.

    I can't comment on the Steinberg because I don't have any experience with it.
     
    pattonfreak1 likes this.
  3. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    Ya know, I always kinda had the same feeling about the Toneport as well.
     
  4. pantera#1

    pantera#1 VanHaze

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Austria
    I have the UR22 - dont know if its MkII?

    I like it alot, but would also consider the UR44, which has 4 Mic Ins + 2 Line ins.

    Both also have Midi, which is great :)
     
  5. nezvers

    nezvers Beast

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    From what I can remember about 2i2 that popped quite some times here was that 2i2 had higher instrument input gain meaning your DI got clipped. As suggestions was using DI box or lowering volume on guitar. Lowering volume is questionable thing in tone wise but if you have real tubescreamer you can track with it and lower volume on it.
     
    pattonfreak1 likes this.
  6. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you're on El Capitan I wouldn't advise getting a Steinberg Interface. The drivers are having issues -> audio drops out about every 15 minutes..

    Also the inputs are a little noisy (only noticable when amplifying DIs). Not sure if that will be better on the Focusrite though.

    Source: I have a UR44 right now that's going to go back to thomann.
     
  7. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    so as I dig deeper and deeper the clipping issue seems to be prevalent in most audio interfaces under $200.
    weird... as I've never had an issue with my Alpha (which was $100 when I bought it new in 2007).
    Now I don't know what the hell I'm gonna do
     
  8. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    Windows 8.1 64bit
     
  9. GrabtharsHammer77

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bünde, Germany
    For under $200 I would recommend the Presonus iTwo. The Presonus interfaces offer a really good quality price-performance ratio.
     
    pattonfreak1 likes this.
  10. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    Is the input clipping an issue on these?
     
  11. GrabtharsHammer77

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bünde, Germany
    I had a Presonus 22VSL and clipping was never a problem with the instrument input.

    The 22VSL seems to have slightly better mic preamps than the newer iOne/iTwo Interfaces but the VSL software is not updated anymore by Presonus.
     
  12. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    Thanks!
    I'll research it some
     
  13. Delitzsch

    Delitzsch Führendes Mitglied

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I owned the UR22 before and it worked stellar. I upgraded a couple years back ago to the UR28M and couldn't be happier. I'd really suggest looking into that one, too.
     
  14. minerman

    minerman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have no experience with Windows 8, & won't have as long as I can help it, but I've been using a Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 interface for years now, without any problems at all. It might be a little over your posted budget, but again, it's been rock-solid for me....
     
  15. nezvers

    nezvers Beast

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    Well for under 200$ Line6 pod studio ones, steinberg cl1 in my experience worked without problems.
     
  16. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    Thanks everybody
     
  17. Another Guitar Dude

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Under 200$ you have the Focusrite 2i4 too (199$ actually :p ). That one comes with pads on the inputs so all possible clipping is gone. I bought one last summer and so far I haven't had any problems at all.
     
  18. pantera#1

    pantera#1 VanHaze

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Austria
    Are you sure about the dropouts? Are your Drivers updated?
    I just updated to el captain and i'm really hoping everything will be working properly :-S
     
  19. pattonfreak1

    pattonfreak1 Bored Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Saint Louis, Mo.
    So, I just bit the bullet and spent the extra $50 to get a 2i4. I want to thank everyone for all the help and suggestions.
    Much appreciated.
     
  20. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, drivers and firmware are updated to the latest version. Maybe mine is faulty, but I kinda doubt it..
     

Share This Page