This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Getting an audiointerface FAQ

Discussion in 'Backline' started by ahjteam, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. Mikaël-ange

    Mikaël-ange Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Little question for multiface owner (Ermz, Lasse):

    How many channel can you run via Adat optical, 4 or 8?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Mikaël-ange

    Mikaël-ange Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ok thanks;)
     
  3. Nectar-and-Fuel

    Nectar-and-Fuel Stoner Doom Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My interface has poor impedance. Is there a way to compensate for this? I run a stompbox into it in an attempt to balance it out and it helps, but all my tones still sound shit. Is there a plugin that can compensate or are there any amp sims whose input "circuits" are lower than usual?
     
  4. Metaltastic

    Metaltastic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    19,931
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    That's what DI boxes were designed to do dude! ;)
     
  5. Ionei

    Ionei Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Latrobe Valley, Australia.
    hey,

    So anyone wanna recommend me a good firewire pci card?
    I was looking at just picking up a TI one off ebay.

    It is for a Motu 828, and later on a FF800.

    So yeah if anyone could give me a hand it would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers!
    ionei.
     
  6. professorlamp

    professorlamp I are Joe

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Wales, United Kingdom
    Oki dok Guys
    Question time for me here
    Im debating over the Profire 610 or Profire 2626 (catharsis recommended the 610)
    but anyway I'm mainly looking to only record one thing maybe two at a stretch so 2 inputs is probably all i need , and I would like the other 2 line ins just for safe keeping
    However will it be worth it for me who only wants a limited number of inputs to get the 2626 or is that for the bigboys?
     
  7. professorlamp

    professorlamp I are Joe

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Wales, United Kingdom
  8. Master Of Sweep Picking

    Master Of Sweep Picking New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  9. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
  10. Joelegend

    Joelegend Joe not so legend

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belgium
    How decent is the M-audio Delta 1010Lt actually? Bought it cause it was pretty cheap and works with pro-tools m-powered. Didnt recorded anything with it, replaced my Terratec ews88mt with it. Things is it seems they have the same sort of chipset on it. Anyone recorded something killer with it?
     
  11. joeymusicguy

    joeymusicguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    indiana
    c'mon guys, don't you have keyboard focus on your mac or pc? its 2010!

    haha just kidding
     
  12. Adda90

    Adda90 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone has experience with the differences of the D.I. quality of the Line 6 Toneport GX and other interface like EMU USB 0404 for example? I would like to start reamping in the near future so I would like to know if the toneportsignal is good enough for a good result...
     
  13. Tom-D

    Tom-D Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is the closest thing to a Tone Port UX 2 ? I mean - USB, phantom, line outs, 2 inputs for instruments and working with an external tube preamp(which my tone port doesnt do because it records out of sync:/).And minimal latency.
     
  14. Vulcain

    Vulcain Black Metal

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    France
    Hello,

    I need an audio interface for recording everything including drums. I use Cubase 5, windows 7 64 bits.
    I will do some reamping with it so I need 1 balanced mono output.

    Budget is around 400€ / 500$.

    By reading the different topics on the subject it seems that these interfaces have a good reputation :
    • M-Audio ProFire 2626
    • Focusrite Saffire
    • RME Fireface (a bit off budget)

    I don't want anything from Presonus as I got tons of issues with the Firestudio I had.

    What do you guys think I should buy?
     
  15. nch3966

    nch3966 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ya the firestudio is the muddiest sound crap ever
     
  16. Jmathews7999

    Jmathews7999 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    @Metaltastic
    I recently bought the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, and it's GREAT, i highly recommend it to anyone in that price range, I ALSO own the the Profire 2626, which as far as I can tell, it's preamps don't sound as good as the Saffire 40's. The AD/DA conversion is unheard of in the sub $1000 range, and I've never had a dropout, even when running 16 tracks, (the other 8 being via ADAT from profire 2626) Again I would recommend the Saffire Pro 40 to anyone looking at the Profire 2626 or any Presonus (gimmick) interface, I would have purchased 2 Saffire 40's if I knew then what I know now.

    Hope this helps someone save some $$$$.

    -Jeff
     
  17. Spiritbeast

    Spiritbeast Noob-in-training

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey everyone. I'm not recording until May, but I'm trying to plan everything ahead. I've been doing ridiculous amounts of reading, and I am starting to understand a lot of the concepts, but one is really killing me:
    The interface.
    Since I'll be modeling guitar tones, I will always be able to go back and fix up the tone as I go if it's imperfect. But I know theres one thing that can't be "fixed", and that's the source. No matter how tight your playing is, or how good your modeled tone is, it wont make up for a fundamentally flawed source.
    Currently, I have an Alesis iO2 Express (it was $80 :p) and used a Tube MP Studio preamp before it (that's where the guitar/mic was plugged in)... though I really didn't know "how" to use it. I feel as though that will not be good enough for the album quality I'm trying to achieve. If anyone has some spare time, I have some raw tracks of the guitars in here: http://www.mediafire.com/?qh4v5599ecbqek6 Keep in mind it was sorta rushed and is not the tightest playing.

    Unfortunately, I'm kind of on a budget. In an interface, I don't need a lot of inputs - we will record everything one track at a time. I just need to make sure it's QUALITY above all. I heard some good things about Focusrite Saffire's preamps ... http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Focusrite-Saffire-6-USB-Audio-Interface?sku=583658 This seems like a good option within my budget. Could something like this provide the album-ready guitar (especially guitar!) [Edit: and Bass, duh!] and vocal tracks I'm looking for? Is there something that may only be around $100 more expensive but definitely a lot better? OR, is expecting a professional quality source within a few hundred dollars an unrealistic goal?
    [Edit 2: I also hear the E-MU 0404 is good too...... this is all too confusing :(]
    [Edit 3: The Saffire 24 seems affordable (you can pick em up refurb for under $200) but I hear people having a lot of troubles with them and the FireWire. The 6 USB would seem so nice if it wasn't for USB 1.1! All I know is that that sucks haha... I can't afford to have low quality/crackling]
    Thanks so much for the help. It's been on my mind a lot recently!
    [Edit .....4: Okay, Saffire interfaces seem like too much trouble. God damn. My friend (the guitarist) has a DI box, I don't think it's super fancy, but he has one. So I don't need a really fancy interface I guess? I don't know. Maybe that up to the io2 would work?]
     
  18. oweng

    oweng New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Focusrite Saffire


    heyas


    so i have the 24 - for a month+

    it was a good -=- great choice

    the pres are very nice
    and the software is super
    fast enough
    if you think 4ms with a ton of stuff going on is good
    ( it is ... )

    i still have two problems with it
    one - midi is not where i need it to be
    ( at least in the beta version i run )

    and
    something else - must be minor or i am really burnt out
    ill remember in a second
    right -
    the firewire card i bought was expensive
    i went out and bought the best card
    but not really the best thing
    because they are fussy about which chip you run them on

    so

    the way i look at it now is

    buy a firewire card and interface ~combination~ that is solid...


    ah

    l8r
    o


    but yeah get the saffire and the right card - good 2 go



    it is clean pres and
    the d/a seems fine
    stable
    fast
    dependable
     
  19. mili9152

    mili9152 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oakland
    So I'm pretty set on getting a Countryman 85 DI box, but what interface should I use with it? If I use a budget interface ~$100, does it defeat the purpose of having a nice DI box?

    I just want a simple USB interface with an XLR input to power the Countryman for guitars/bass and recording vocals.

    Or would I be better off just getting a Saffire 6 and using the Hi-Z inputs?

    Thanks guys
     
  20. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    Your recording chain is as good as it's weakest link.
     

Share This Page