This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Getting an audiointerface FAQ

Discussion in 'Backline' started by ahjteam, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. mili9152

    mili9152 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oakland
    So I take it would be a better option to record guitars and bass into a Saffire 6 direct instrument in (as opposed to a Countryman into a cheaper interface)? Will this yield decent DIs?

    If not, what is a recommended interface to use with a Countryman that doesn't break the bank?
     
  2. Spiritbeast

    Spiritbeast Noob-in-training

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'll recording an album with a Saffire 6 and I think this cheap Behringer DI. Sounds good. You get get a Saffire 6 for under $200, and the pre's are the same used in the higher end Saffire stuff too.
     
  3. spiderjazz

    spiderjazz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    Why are you using the Cheap DI, instead of going straight into the instrument input on the saffire?

    Just wondering as I'm planning on picking up an interface soon, and I want to use the interface to record DI's, which I believe the saffire can do on its own.
     
  4. Spiritbeast

    Spiritbeast Noob-in-training

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually, looking into things, with the Saffire I probably shouldn't need it. I haven't really A/Bed yet.

    I was just thinking of this thread is all, but I dont think the Saffire counts as a cheap interface even though its price is cheap. It has the same pre's as its more expensive brother http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/...-just-use-my-cheap-interfaces-hi-z-input.html

    Also, the Scarlett is out now, which has USB 2.0. Ooh!
     
  5. Boneman

    Boneman Semi-noob

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I got the Scarlett 8i6 a few days ago now, and its great! The sound quality is sweet and so far no issues with clipping the DI input. I am using passive Duncans (JB2 and 59) in a Soloist and Les Paul, and I typically dont have the pickups too close to the strings.

    I think a Countryman 85 or similar into this will be perfect for me.
     
  6. dale_a_smith

    dale_a_smith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    I'd say the Apogee One is a good bet, without the countryman. You get an instrument in, and very good sound quality.

    that is of course if your using a Mac..
     
  7. Spiritbeast

    Spiritbeast Noob-in-training

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So jealous dude! Right after me and my friend got the Saffire USB... the Scarlett comes out. Sigh. This would be fine, but the Saffire doesn't even work with my computer, works fine with my friends, but when I plug it into mine, I get slow-ass playback. I checked, and playback was fine on my Alesis io2. My guess is USB 1.1 vs 2.0.
     
  8. Audiosprite

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    reading this thread, am i right in thinking that the focusrite saffire pro 40 has the best pre's and AD/DA conversion of any sub-$1k interface? looking to upgrade from my firebox soon.
     
  9. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    General consensus around here is yes
     
  10. Imorsta

    Imorsta Dreadling

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey all,

    I have an emu 0202 that I use with a Duncan JB in the bridge. Judging by the specs here (http://www.creative.com/emu/products/product.aspx?category=610&pid=15186) I read people saying it is decent, however I dont like my di tracks at all. They sound harsh and unmusical.

    I have two ideas for an upgrade:

    1)Get a new interface. (I was thinking of Saffire pro 14, though I could perhaps pay a little more for a pro 24 if there is a significant difference in the quality of its instrument inputs.)

    2)Get a di box to use together with 0202. (Since 0202's hi-z input is 1mohm, I wonder if this would make much difference.)

    Which option do you think would give better results?

    By the way, in the op author says that it would be better to get a simple interface with only high quality line input and use a di box with it; is there such an interface?
     
  11. Headof75

    Headof75 Somewhere in Brum

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I got an RME Babyface a couple of months ago and couldn't be happier with it. Saw some videos on Youtube where the early release models had a problem with the dial, but mine's been fine.
    The converters, preamps, di and drivers are all seriously good and have improved my input and output no end. I can run full itb mixes and still record overdubs with a latency of
    7ms. I think it is the single most noticeable upgrade I've made to my project studio in the last five years.
    Even the wife can hear the difference!
     
  12. Imorsta

    Imorsta Dreadling

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I decided to get a Type 85, can it handle a JB without clipping?
     
  13. Wohma

    Wohma Hearing sounds and voices

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Clipping is something that occurs at the converters, so Type 85 can't clip anything. But since you can adjust your microphone gain to your liking (= no clipping), yes, you can record a JB without clipping on basically any audio interface.
     
  14. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    I need a audio interface
    with in 300$
    Need something thats gonna be bang for the buck....
    and where i wouldn't need a D.I box....
     
  15. Audiosprite

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I've never used one, but have you looked at the Apogee One?
     
  16. GuitarHack

    GuitarHack Krank it UP!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    I have read through most (all, probably) of this thread and the Saffire 40 seems to be quite liked. Does the Saffire 24 share the same Preamp/Conversion as the 40? I am only interested in recording guitars so I don't need the extra inputs that the 40 offers. I understand it may/will be a step back from the API A2D I used to have, but for what I am after, I can't justify such an expense.

    Any feedback on personal use of the Saffire 24 or comparison to the 40 would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  17. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    Yeah, same preamps and converters.
     
  18. GuitarHack

    GuitarHack Krank it UP!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Thanks for the confirmation Dan.
     
  19. nightwatch

    nightwatch New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Guys. Don't skimp on the convertors. You guys want to get this thick full deep huge soundstage and you're gonna cut out the one ingredient that's responsible for that, and that's the AD/DA convertors? I hear some of the sound-samples on this site and many of them sound "closed", "over compressed", lacking high end detail, and the bottom is either muddy or not really there. No offense, the music is great, but the mix, not so much. I'm on a budget too, but you can't skimp here.

    Someone said earlier that most of these manufactures use the TI chip. THEY'RE CHEAP! It causes jitter in the samples, and the preamps in these units are horrible.

    You're going to buy a good DI, have a great guitar, great amps and amp sims, and then the one thing that converts your signal from analog to digital, the one piece that allows digital to sound good, you're gonna buy the worst pieces of junk on the market?

    Forget almost all the names you've heard on this boards (at least in there stock versions, and go look at these.

    Look under the modifications page. The might mod the unit that you have (Focusrite, RME, MOTU, Digi,, etc, etc) and they offer a micro clock bundle. If you've never heard of these guys, they're making stuff that the top LA studio are using. Their high-end stuff is at the top, in league with Lynx (or above) and Mytek. But you can get a modded lower end 3rd party for a good deal. I have their modded MOTU 896HD with Micro Clock and it's very nice). I'm putting out stuff that reviles big label releases (in part due to this), and I have good gear, play well and have a great engineer.

    http://www.blacklionaudio.com/content.php?p=29

    You won't regret it.

    Cheers
     
  20. GuitarHack

    GuitarHack Krank it UP!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Are the Line Level Outputs HOT enough on the Saffire Pro 24 and 40 for a reamp box?

    Reason for my question is an article from: http://audiogeekzine.com/tag/profire-2626/ talking about Profires, but the Output Levels from the Saffire 24 and 40 are similarly low like the Profire 610. The 2626 is HOTTER:

    Profire 2626 Line Outputs (Balanced)
    Maximum Output Level +20.2dBu balanced, typical
    Output Impedance 300 Ohms, balanced

    Profire 610 Line Outputs (Balanced)
    Maximum Output Level +15.9dBu balanced, typical
    Output Impedance 940 ohm balanced


    FOCUSRITE
    Pro 40
    Line level Outputs
    Maximum level (A-weighted): 15.7dBu at 0.883%

    Pro 24
    Line level Outputs
    Maximum level (A-weighted): 16.13dBu at 0.885%

    Any thoughts/experience before my head explodes...............................since I just bought the Saffire Pro 24 today................before I read that article about the Output Level (I had already compared the Output Level of the 24 to the 40 and saw it was more and assumed the 40 was fine for reamping). I don't have it yet to test things for myself.

    Thanks




    EDIT: I just read from here - http://www.keplar.net/reviews/focusrite-saffire-pro-24/, this:

    "....... One VERY cool thing to note is using one of the outputs on the back for feeding a signal back into an amplifier. At first I tried the most logical connection, #3, as 1-2 are the main outputs. It turns out the 3-4 are shared by the headphone outs. So whatever designate for channels 3 or 4, will be reflected in your headphone mix. This is a minor gripe, but there is a workaround of using #5 for external feeds. Just fiddling with this, I was expecting having to shell out money for an impedance converter (reverse DI) to get a useable signal to the amp. No such story here. Not quite sure of the reason why, maybe cable length, maybe some output compensation done by the interface. But I can say that I was quite surprised and continually pleased even now."
     

Share This Page