This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Good Guitar Plug-Ins? Simulation + FX

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by undercurrent217, Apr 1, 2015.

  1. undercurrent217

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm sure this has been discussed so if anyone wants to direct me to those threads that would be appreciated, just don't have time to search everywhere.

    I'm looking into software plugins for guitar - amp simulation and also FX. Wanted everyone's thoughts on the better ones out there as there are many. I'm not interested in impulses but something more Amplitube-esque. A tonal variety replacement for a lackluster Pocket POD (and improved quality).

    Also, I should note that I am NOT looking for metal rhythm tones. My ENGL does most of the heavy lifting for that stuff. I'm looking for good cleans, vintage type of tones, bluesy break-up stuff, and maybe leads. Also FX - traditional pedal board stuff: phase, flanger, chorus, tremolo, etc.

    I'd prefer to not have something that is too CPU intensive unless it's really worth it for the sonic quality of the plugin.

    Usable bass tones would be a huge plus but not a deal breaker.

    Price isn't really a factor as most of this stuff seems to be in a competitive range with each other. I wouldn't wanna spend more than like $400.

    Suggestions? I'm using REAPER if that helps.
     
  2. SocialNumb

    SocialNumb Damn Christians!

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,020
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Boyton, WPB, FL
  3. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    why not Amplitube? That sounds pretty cool to me if want a all in one software for guitar without using impulses. You can get expansions for it too like the metal and SVX.
     
  4. mephetic_exhumation

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Guitar Rig was pretty good for clean tones IIRC. Not too good for heavy stuff on the other hand.
     
  5. texisthebest

    texisthebest Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    My cave
    TSE X50 2.3 all the way, and soon we will have the 2.4 with a new X30 inside and more impulses and something more :)
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    said he wasn't interested in impulses though for some reason. Otherwise I agree about TSEX50 v2.3!
     
  7. undercurrent217

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, I just haven't been too impressed by the free VST impulse stuff I've tried. The software packages seem to have had a little more development gone into them. Not totally ruling it out though if you guys think there's some awesome stuff out there that rivals or is better than simulator packages. And wow, that Friedman simulator sounds really good!
     
  8. evanwarren

    evanwarren New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I've been using POD farm 2 for years, and it's served me well. I've used it on plenty of recordings for clients and they were totally happy with it.
     
  9. undercurrent217

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Looks like UAD is making some of the best stuff out there right now. Too bad I don't have the hardware to support it yet. BIAS and Scuffham Amps S-Gear seem like good runners up. I have a gift card for Guitar Center I was hoping to put toward software but their selection is a bit limited. I'll have to look into Amplitube, POD Farm, and Guitar Rig and see how they compare.

    Thanks for feedback guys.
     
  10. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    fwiw, I literally googled "guitar amp simulation software" and all the answers in this thread showed up in the very first hit. Especially with lower-gain tones, I'd recommend doing more of your own research before settling for Amplitube or Guitar Rig.
     
  11. Hankyu

    Hankyu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    You should try revalver. I think it does clean sounds very good from what I've heard
     
  12. Scottxx

    Scottxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Overloud TH2
     
  13. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,273
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Having recently heard the difference between various DI's, I'd recommend spending most of your budget on the best you can on a great DI. It's made all the amp sims sound loads better and I could happily use a load of the free lepou (etc) amps as well as x50 with minimal fuss. A cheaper signal path=more battling to get a good tone.
     
  14. UMF

    UMF Just Another Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    !This!
     
  15. H-evolve

    H-evolve Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Please educate me here... as I don't quite understand that point.

    If you plug your guitar in your interface, and let's suppose that the interface is of good quality. How would a DI box help in any way?

    I read a lot of stuff about DI and I've never understood why it would be best to plug your guitar into a DI and then into your interface. My understanding of what a DI does might be wrong, but from what I know, I don't see the logic.

    Or maybe I just completely don't understand what you meant?!
     
  16. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I think he was using "DI" as shorthand for "interface." Fwiw, I sorta disagree- granted I've never spent time with multi-thousand-dollar RME interfaces like most people on here- but I can't detect any real difference between my POD UX1, POD HD Pro, Roland Quad Capture, or Kemper when I listen to the DIs compared. Maybe a tiny bit muddier on the PODs but not enough to affect the end tone to any measurable degree. Just my .02.
     
  17. H-evolve

    H-evolve Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    My bad then, I misunderstood!

    I feel the same really. I own a Komplete Audio 6, and when I was shopping, I was also interested in the Focusrite stuff, as they seem quite popular...

    Couldn't hear a big difference between both. I think I chose the Komplete Audio 6 just for the sake of being original... ;)
     
  18. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,273
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    definitely didn't mean DI as interchangeable with interface.

    most interfaces DI's are functional but not very good sounding. they'll do a job but use a decent active or passive with a good transformer and you'll notice your guitars sounding way livelier, more upfront, crisper top end and more full.

    some interfaces like apogee ensemble and UAD apollo have JFET DI's built in which are higher quality than your standard DI. there's a reason why expensive DI's exist and get used rather than the cheap ones you'll find everywhere.

    I've not used any RME gear but generally they're more known for their conversion and routing than being a great DI manufacturer. if it doesn't sound much better than a pod etc, then it's probably not a great DI.
     
  19. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    My bad :/
     
  20. undercurrent217

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm not very familiar working with DI's. So in the scenario that you're describing, what would a signal chain look like if I'm using a good DI? Is the DI in addition to my interface? Does the DI (if used in conjunction with the interface as I'd imagine it would need to) somehow improve the sonic quality than what would normally be heard by running through the interface solely?
     

Share This Page