This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Join the Chaos

Want to join in with the rest of the Hate Crew? Sign up today!

Guitar Player's Thread

Discussion in 'CoB Off-topic' started by Blindfold, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. vikk

    vikk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21,533
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    48
    get Reaper, is very easy to use, and very light program, and it pretty much does the job for recording
     
  2. Muffin

    Muffin Dawn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway
    This man speaks truth.

    Theres no reason not to try REAPER, its pretty much free(you gotta pay to use it legally, but the program is 100% unrestricted except for a 10? second wait in the start), its like 5mb big and it pretty much has it all.
     
  3. <-Warheart->

    <-Warheart-> † Fuck You Very Much †

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    11,181
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    zirkonflex, I sent you a PM just incaise you don't see it.

    I use CEP but I don't understand anything so whatever. :D
     
  4. snowy

    snowy The Empire Strikes Back

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    -
    Audacity
     
  5. Ensi

    Ensi CAT WITH FUKKEN PODS

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway
    Audacity?

    I need to try Reaper.
     
  6. Blindfold

    Blindfold i ħ ∂/∂t |ψ(t)› = Ĥ|ψ(t)›

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    YUROP
    Reaper's the thing!! search for some portable versions they dont have the waiting at the beginning, its just an ~8MB exe file. and its pure awesomeness, has everything you need.

    You must be kidding with audacity :D
     
  7. children of COB

    children of COB Deadnight Drinker

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,463
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Averno
    TH1 Overloud report:

    Soundwise: I'm a very happy man, this thing sounds fucking amazing, go to www.overloud.com for some samples and you'll see what I mean (of course they're a bit edited but you get the idea).

    Downside: yes it has to do with me bein pretty much useless when it comes to wiring and understanding what do I have to select so that my DAW records the sound I'm getting, but I've tried both with Reaper and with Audition and they record the dry signal of my guitar, not the one from TH1. Audition says when I select "ASIO UX2" on session properties that the device is not available because another program may be using it, but I don't see that make much sense since when I open Pod Farm it uses the UX2 too and Audition lets me record with it. Reaper just records my dry signal and doesn't tell me why.

    Can anybody help me? The chains I've tried are:

    Guitar-->UX2-->TH1-->Open DAW
    Guitar-->UX2-->TH1 and Pod Farm working simultaneously (Pod Farm only with tuner and Noise Gate)-->Open DAW
    Guitar-->Line In-->TH1 (forget about this one, it had almost a second of latency).

    Then if you use it you may be able to help me with the problem I describe before.

    You should update to Adobe Audition. It's CEP's big brother. It's exactly as CEP visually (a bit updated but you'll find everything), works better and has quite a lot of easy to use in-built effects (that unlike on CEP you can activate and deactivate at any time) like compressors, eqs, reverbs, limiters... it'll give you some extra tools that really help while maintaining the super easy to use interface of CEP.
     
  8. Muffin

    Muffin Dawn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway
    you need to load the VST plugin as an effect inside the DAW


    Reaper doesnt tell you why because theres no way it could detect what your intentions are in the first place.
    Its a good DAW and all, but it doesnt read your mind.
     
  9. vikk

    vikk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21,533
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    48
    if you're plugging you guitar straight into the interface in that case the UX2, Reaper will only record the dry signal, the effect is applied in real time, pretty much like a DI, so you can use and change to any VST you want to.

    like Muffin said you have to load it. if you haven't:
    Options > Preference > Plugins/Vst
    choose your vst folder, most of the times is C:/programs or something /VstPlugins (is smart to put all your vst's in the same folder)
    click scan

    after that is done, add a track, click on the FX button square thing in the track. Add the TH1
     
  10. snowy

    snowy The Empire Strikes Back

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    -
    Yeah I'm doing too much projects at the moment thats why nothing is done yet, but as I guess that the bands wont sue me because they dont sell anything I'm going to send you some of the stuff I recorded this year if you want me to.
    But its just alternative rock stuff, no metal. At the moment I record anyone and anything as long as I get a bit of money :lol:
    I got some ''finished'' stuff from the time where I had no idea what I was doing when I recorded bands but lol, almost any band I recorded back then move away or splitted up :D This or it just sounds as good as today (skillz and good micz do the trick :headbang: )

    Oh yeah and I just got back recording that Spider :erk: it was ok, but the other guitarist had some valve amp (forgot the name) and it totally owned the sound of the other guitarist :lol:
     
  11. children of COB

    children of COB Deadnight Drinker

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,463
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Averno
    No I wasn't talking about the VST, I was talking about it recording the sound I'm getting from the TH1 used as if it were PodFarm. I'm not using the VST one (although just in case I'm getting the VST version too), I'm using the Standalone version, and I want Reaper/Audition/whichever DAW I use to record what sounds through my earphones like with PodFarm. Can that be done or do I HAVE to download the VST and use that one when recording?

    Ok once I have the VST I'll try that, but what I said, I want to know if it can record what I'm hearing, because the version I have right now of the TH1 is as I said like a PodFarm. The name as I said is TH1 Standalone (version 1.0.2).
     
  12. vikk

    vikk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21,533
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    48
    ah ok, then i don't know how to record the Standalone sound =/
     
  13. Mystique1721

    Mystique1721 bass solo, take one

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,676
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    It could be because Cubase was like my first real recording program that I began using....I mean, I think I used Cool Edit Pro for like one recording ever. But it was so limiting, I decided to switch to one of the more "pro" recording programs. And cubase it was. So *shrug*. I just became used to it I guess. Now I find Reaper a bit weird to use, although the one recording I did on Reaper has owned any of my Cubase recordings.... who knows. Could be just the change of tone from my pod though.
     
  14. snowy

    snowy The Empire Strikes Back

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    -
    Audacity
     
  15. children of COB

    children of COB Deadnight Drinker

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,463
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Averno
    ^Instead of just coming in and saying "Audacity", could you elaborate a bit on why should we work our asses off learning a new DAW/what will it bring to us to make the change worth it?


    TH1 related again, I downloaded the VST plugin now too, and to show you guys what I meant about the tones, I recorded a couple quick tries. They are raw recordings, no editing whatsoever done to them (besides paning). And it's Bodom because they're the only backing tracks I have and it was pointless to record over a whole song as you'd loose the feel of the tone.


    DOWNLOAD THE FILES


    It's a .rar folder with three short bits (nevermind the playing in KTS, it's a quick take so you hear the tone):
    -Kissing The Shadows (no solos, don't worry, just used for the melodies) [tone 1]
    -Hate Crew Deathroll [tone 1]
    -Hate Crew Deathroll [tone 2, heavier]

    What do you people think? Imo it's a pretty good tone, and can become much better with some tweaking.

    That's ok, give my .rar file with the tones a go and I'll forgive you :p
     
  16. eveningninja

    eveningninja Skull Kid

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Clock Town Behavior: Pretty good -Syuri
  17. Ensi

    Ensi CAT WITH FUKKEN PODS

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Norway
    This, only for Reaper for me. I downloaded it and tried it, and jeeeeebuschrist it is cluttered (at first glance). I couldn't even get the damn MIDI to work, + it said I had to pay after 30 days (yes I know some of you are using it for like... forever).

    Sony Vegas does everything for me that I want, only addition would be MIDI, but I got ACID for that, and it's not very handy with it.

    Can anyone recommend me another überproDAWyo, I want it to be huge and do everything, so I can look cool when editing.
     
  18. Mystique1721

    Mystique1721 bass solo, take one

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,676
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    well shit, if you wanna look cool with your DAW, you need Pro Tools. duh.
     
  19. marfal66

    marfal66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Deurne (BE)
    Yah, studio's got protools, so that's the way to go to look pro, though really nobody is going hear if it's mixed with protools or audacity

    edit: get the HD version
     
  20. snowy

    snowy The Empire Strikes Back

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    -
    Sorry.
    You shoudlnt work your ass off to understand a certain DAW, you should learn more about mixing and real recording. Then you will be able to understand most of the DAW's, the differences between them are there, that's right, but if you know what you're doing and what you need you will learn to work with your DAW very fast.
    Sorry again, but most of you guys wont need anything like protools or logic just because they wont use it properly or just the rec function.


    I own logic and prtools, they are just really really good working DAW which offers a great workflow.
    And you cant cmpare it to audacity. Without wanting to sound arrogant I dare to say that a great DAW doesnt help you if you just cant use it. People dont leanr that stuff for nothing. I leanrt everything on analoge and digital stuff (mainly both combined) and I can say that understanding how a real sound-console works is the essential part in understanding all those little features of a DAW. There are so many tricks and things that are good to know, that you wont get some awesome recording guy without knowig what you're doing. You wont learn from things when dont even know that they exist.
    If audacity would offer protool's features it wouldnt be for free.


    SO:
    stop learning that stuff, I still need money and musicians start to think they are the best recording engineers ever because they play their 4 chord songs and know all about the soul of songs :rolleyes: :lol:
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Our music community has been around for almost 15 years and we pride ourselves on offering great metal music discussion, as well as music production and other closely related topics. We work hard every day to make sure our community is one of the best. Enjoy!
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Donate ♥

    We have worked hard for 15 years (and running) to make sure our Metal community is running fast, uses the best software, and isn't overloaded with advertising. If you love the forum as much as we love bringing it to you, please show your support with a generous donation. We really appreciate it!