This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Guitar - Post Podfarm Production

Discussion in 'Production' started by xxmattattackxx, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. xxmattattackxx

    xxmattattackxx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Curious to see what kind of stuff other people like to do in their chains after Podfarm (or pre-Pod). Eq, compression, reverb, eq again?

    Hoping to get some insight to better my guitar mix, maybe even some suggestions on where to evolve past my current UX2 as an interface setup.
     
  2. EnjoiTrent

    EnjoiTrent Official Knob Turner

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Pod farm > EQ > limiter
     
  3. xxmattattackxx

    xxmattattackxx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm assuming that means you compress inside of Pod then?
     
  4. EnjoiTrent

    EnjoiTrent Official Knob Turner

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Lightly. I limit harder than I compress. I only compress within pod farm as a sort of "glue"
     
  5. xxmattattackxx

    xxmattattackxx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Interesting, I can dig it. What do you generally do for reverbing?
     
  6. EnjoiTrent

    EnjoiTrent Official Knob Turner

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't put reverb on the guitars. I just double track them and pan them. If I want a more "live" sound I'll add some of the room into the cab mic in pod farm.
     
  7. xxmattattackxx

    xxmattattackxx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Alright. I double track and full pan, but I keep hearing very back and forth opinions on whether to reverb bus the guitars ever so slightly.

    On another note, I record with a Podfarm as my interface. Would it be suggested or beneficial for me to put a DI box inbetween my guitars and the Pod?
     
  8. abaga129

    abaga129 The Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Girardeau, MO
    Reverb on guitars just really depends on the song arrangement IMO. I only resort to it when the song feels empty.
     
  9. xxmattattackxx

    xxmattattackxx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So should I be using a DI between my guitar and Podfarm(using as my interface)? ahaha
     
  10. abaga129

    abaga129 The Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Girardeau, MO
    What interface are you using? As long as it has a hi-z input, which most do, you're fine.
     
  11. xxmattattackxx

    xxmattattackxx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's a UX2 and I have it plugged directly into my onboard sound.
     
  12. xxmattattackxx

    xxmattattackxx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Alright so I've slightly done some reading and gained the understanding that my UX2 does NOT have a hi-z input and I was slightly directed to the Motu Zbox. But I'm wanting to spend a decent amount of money and slowly start piecing together a real interface hardware setup I can use effectively.

    Now should I get the Zbox or would a Radial passive DI that converts hi and low signal do the same? My understanding is still a bit fuzzy, so all assistance is appreciated. ;]
     
  13. abaga129

    abaga129 The Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cape Girardeau, MO
    The ux2 has the "Instrument" input which is hi-z. A di box probably wouldn't benefit you any.
     

Share This Page