This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Guitarists - getting better at triplets?

Discussion in 'Bar' started by Damian B, Jan 27, 2010.

1. Damian B

Damian B ¯\(°_o)/¯

I'm a fledgling guitarist (mostly out of necessity since I'm trying to write my own material), and right now my triplets are really fucking weak. I've heard that you should use your whole arm, not just your wrist... but yeah.. I don't know, it's not working for me.

Any tips?

Danke!

2. Brandon E.

Brandon E. Member

Whoever told you that doesn't know what they are talking about...then again there's no real wrong in technique but I don't know...I've ALWAYS heard that you shouldn't use you're whole arm. My picking is only wrist and forearm

3. Wolfeman

Wolfeman I Prefer EL-34s. So What?

I developed that skill over time. Practice. And practice some more. Really that's the only way.

4. Dylan S

Dylan S Celephai

Try to stay as relaxed as possible and use your wrist much more than your whole arm.

Learn songs off 'Slaughter of the Soul' by At the Gates and you should get better relatively quickly.

5. slashvanyoung

slashvanyoung Dopefish lives!

Are you talking about fast galloping triplets of the same note (for rhythm) - a la Slayer - or about triplets as in three (different) notes in succession per beat, as you would use it for lead-playing?

Edit: To practise the first: play Slayer songs like 'Raining Blood' :D
    To practise the second: play 3-notes per string scales with a metronome.

6. JGolden

JGolden Member

I know it sounds stupid/obvious, but I got a lot better at triplets when I would just count them out in my head like trip-a-let while playing. And definitely use just your wrist, especially if you are talking about chugging rhythms.

7. cloy26

cloy26 d00d