This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Hackintosh?

Discussion in 'Bar' started by Flow Of Time, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The Laptop was just to test it^^ I'm using a desktop now
     
  2. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Why did you have to patch the kernel? For the motherboard/processor?
     
  3. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Beacause I got kernel panics when booting.. Had something to do with power management.

    Anyway. I managed to figure out the offending kext yesterday, by moving them out one after the other. Well here comes the shit: Since I put them back to their folder the system won't boot anymore... The circle beneath the apple logo spins forever. I tried clearing the cashes with -f: Kernel panics... When booting in verbose mode it's stuck at "Waiting for DSMOS" (iirc).

    I probably have to install it again. But I'm not sure if the fact that I installed Windows and OSX on the same HD caused some of my problems...
     
  4. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    You've probably got an out of date version of FakeSMC.kext.
     
  5. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help. I tried to update the FakeSMC via Terminal, but it failed... Oh well, I think I'd have to reinstall it anyway because OSX and Windows on the same SSD is taking to much space...

    Do I need the FakeSMC? If it isn't necessary I'd just leave it out on the next install..
     
  6. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I managed to get it running now. Apparently OSXs nvidia driver was causing the issue. Luckily a leaked beta driver from nvidia themselves, and some bootflags fixed the problem :)
     

Share This Page