This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Joey Sturgis FAQ

Discussion in 'Production' started by ahjteam, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. Fandus

    Fandus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    he did say somewhere that most of the magic happens after the band has packed up and left. he will track for x amount of weeks then mix a few bands worth of releases then repeat.
     
  2. Seth Munson

    Seth Munson How do Amber Lamps?

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I would have to say it doesnt matter because its Joey's ears, room, setup, everything; not theirs.

    Hell Nick does all of his guitar tracking, I know he has seen almost (if not everything) Joey has in his sessions and Nick still uses his 5150 for guitars on stuff he produces.
    that alone should tell you that it doesnt matter what you know, have seen or even have the preset for, its what you can do with it and lets face it most of us cant make it what Joey does.
     
  3. Williamn

    Williamn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland - Denmark
    Yeah I know that, of course no one is gonna sound like joey just by knowing some presets.. but still there is some stuff you might want to keep to yourself and not make it easier for "joey clones".
    Anyway just something im wondering since there is so many people who would almost kill for knowing his chains :).
     
  4. joeymusicguy

    joeymusicguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    indiana
    there's actually a lot of templates and starting points used in the tracking stages. they all get tweaked in the master song (i always choose one song to beef the fuck out of, and use those settings for my basic settings on all the other songs and then i can just usually automate from there and tweak things out).

    a lot of the real magic is setup in the project and just locked down. no one really gets to see any of it. probably not even nick. he's got too much time with the project window in view trying to make sure everything's on time and in tune to be looking around. but knowing the exact settings of everything doesnt really help anyone. because its very specific to the album, project / song. sure he could go home and plug in the numbers, but the theory or relativity with audio matters more. so unless his audio was identical to what was going on in that song, it wouldn't sound right.
     
  5. joeymusicguy

    joeymusicguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    indiana
    someone asked if i use a limiter on the post of my guitar chain. the answer is yes. compressors don't react fast enough to heavy distorted guitars. limiters are used to make the perceived volume higher.
     
  6. GearMan2point0

    GearMan2point0 Musician/Engineer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I do the same exact thing and I agree 100%. I haven't found the "it" factor yet though. Which plugin would you recommend using Joey?
     
  7. GearMan2point0

    GearMan2point0 Musician/Engineer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I actually limit the bass too! I feel that the same concept plays for bass.
     
  8. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    Question about this, just more out of curiocity... In general, in what angle do you put your snare and tom mics? Do you go like almost flat, at 45 degrees or even steeper? Also do you have any preference when it comes to mics?
     
  9. mmmatthew

    mmmatthew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston, †X
    Just curious if Joey is still mixing on A7's these days. You still rockin those hoes Joey???
     
  10. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    The FAQ is here for a purpose...

    "Doesn't use reference monitors, just Adam A7's, but sometimes reference listens in his car"
     
  11. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    Joey, how was your summer vacation, what did you do?

    Do you want me to compile a list of the questions people have been asking or do you want to look for them yourself?
     
  12. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    edit: The list of questions in one post:

    1)

    In general, in what angle do you put your snare and tom mics? Do you go like almost flat, at 45 degrees or even steeper? Also do you have any preference when it comes to mics?

    2)

    When you have a band in, are they allowed to see your usual chain for different things (lets say your most wanted podfarm guitar chain for an example) or do you kinda hide that to protect your "secrets" (like using a rough chain when you are tracking and then using your magic plugins when you are alone mixing) ?

    Tl DR: Are you making any effort in hiding some of your workflow and secrets from the public eyes in RL ?

    3)

    how perfectly do the guitarists play / do you make them play the songs?
    do you lean more towards just letting them track it and you edit more, or do you try to make it as perfect as possible for minimal editing?

    4)

    What kind of bass guitars do you prefer for tracking (material, pickups, brands and models etc)?
     
  13. Nico_pitty

    Nico_pitty Nick

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milan
    i read that joey put his guitars in cayman DI-box and the into rme interface 800...but how cani he run pod farm if there's no line6 interface between his guitar and rme interface?
     
  14. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    I think you meant Countryman DI. And I believe Podfarm is also sold separately from the hardware.
     
  15. Nico_pitty

    Nico_pitty Nick

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milan
    yeah...but according to the site..you can't use pod farm without a line 6 interface(Gx,Ux1,Ux2,etc.....) maybe i'm wrong...
     
  16. JeffEstrada

    JeffEstrada Ascend Recordings

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dan's right, Pod Farm doesn't need hardware anymore.
     
  17. Nico_pitty

    Nico_pitty Nick

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milan
    I have a presounus mobile...so if i put my guitar into presonul mobile i can run pod farm?? good news...i'm not very informed!! ahahaha
     
  18. JeffEstrada

    JeffEstrada Ascend Recordings

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yea it should work
     
  19. Nico_pitty

    Nico_pitty Nick

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milan
    Great....thnx for news jeff!
     
  20. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    yup, you can buy ilok license for podfarm
     

Share This Page