This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Just formatted my iMac

Discussion in 'Bar' started by Jarkko Mattheiszen, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Holy shit, it's like I have a new computer :zombie:

    It's a late 2009 27" i5 model. For the past months it's been REALLY sluggish. Bootup took like 3 minutes, the HD was constantly making noise, beach balls, overall slowness. ProTools would behave erratically and Photoshop was laggy as all hell. Even opening a folder in Finder could take half a minute at times.

    I had tried literally every trick and maintenance routine I could find, troubleshooting the problem for hours and hours and eventually losing hope. I was certain the HD was going bad and I was already browsing the Apple store looking for a new computer.

    Then I thought I'd give a total format and a clean install a shot, since I had nothing to lose. God damn. My dear, old iMac now boots to desktop in less than 40 seconds and is fast as hell!

    To those who insist a clean install isn't necessary on a Mac: You're wrong. Believe me when I say I tried EVERYTHING: Repairing permissions, Repair Disk, constantly doing a SMART check, Onyx, Spotlight tweaks, desktop tweaks... Whenever I thought I had found a solution, the problem came back in an hour.

    Yeah, it's a pain installing all the software and plugins again, but fuck that, I'm loving it! :lol:
     
  2. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Had this experience after a physical HDD crash a few months back, so nice to be on a clean machine! It takes more like 2 years for things to start getting bad but that beats the 6-month cycle on a Windows machine.
     
  3. SocialNumb

    SocialNumb Damn Christians!

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,020
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Boyton, WPB, FL
    Hmm, I reformatted one my iMacs for a "fresh start" just a couple months ago. Not because there was anything wrong. I noticed no improvement at all. I was expecting to but it just ran like it always did. Just fine. This is an old 2.8 Intel Core 2 Duo running 10.5.8.

    Anyways, good you got things sorted.
     
  4. Ola Englund

    Ola Englund Only gay in the village

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,999
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    so did you reinstall everything??! that's sounds tedious... all the plugins, activations fuck that :D
     
  5. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    What are activations? Don't you just use the [k] installer with the DyNAMICS bundle?
     
  6. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Well, it's hard to fix something that ain't broken! :)

    Yeah, little by little. I kinda fucked up here. I have thousands (probably over ten grand) of euros spent in software and plugins, and I didn't make a list before formatting... Now I have no idea of the stuff I have bought during the past years except for the software with physical install media I have in my closet :D

    Gladly, the majority of my plugins use iLok licenses, so I have a nifty list of what to re-download there!
     
  7. Steven Otto

    Steven Otto Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My MacBook Pro had the same symptoms as you described. was sluggish as hell and interactions had a 10 second delay. Updating from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion fixed it and now it's snappy as hell again. :)
    Luckily there was no need for a reformat, so next it gets sluggish again I'll refresh the OS.
     
  8. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    I went from 10.6 to 10.7 and then 10.8, no effect :/
     
  9. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    it's a huge pain to install a new hard drive into an imac... but get an SSD into that shit. just do it immediately. go outside right now, and buy one.

    i changed the original HDD in my macbook into an SSD and holy flying shitmonster it's like i bought a whole new model. all the little waits are gone and boot time is now at least 5x faster. and this is even though i have a SATA 1 port in my mac, which theoretically only allows around a 4th of the speed i could have if i had a computer with SATA III.

    i don't recommend Kingston SSDNow for macs, though. the general concensus is that Samsung SSDs work great in macs, which i've found so far as well.
     
  10. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    also, if your permissions are correct and disk repair doesn't detect an error, you could've just used Time Machine to restore your files. it's not like in Windows where everything gets fucked up with the registry - there isn't one, so you could have restored from a TM backup and everything would have worked like before. it's one of those things about OSX that just work.
     
  11. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    No. Why?

    1) I'd spend money that I don't have and lose at least 75% of my storage capacity.
    2) Switching an SSD into this model is not a matter of plug and play AFAIK, and I'm not talking about the huge pain in opening and closing the damn thing.
    3) I'd have to get an external HD for storage purposes, which is something I don't want to do for convenience's sake.
     
  12. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Well, SOMETHING was fucked up. Otherwise there wouldn't have been any issues. If I had done a complete system restore from my TM backup, chances are the problem would have migrated back with the restoration. Not to mention the joy of actually having a clean system without a fuck-ton of redundant system files left over from software I haven't used in ages.
     
  13. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    i'm surprised if you already aren't using an external for audio. also there should be room for two HDDs inside an imac.

    to each his own i guess. to be fair, it really is a massive pain to replace a hard drive of an imac. you'd have to pretty much take the whole thing apart.
     
  14. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Nope, there isn't. You have to replace the optical drive and fit the new HD in with an adapter, and I need my Superdrive.

    And to be honest, I rarely do any audio work on this machine anymore. When I did, I had zero trouble finishing quite a bunch of albums without using a second HD for audio :)
     
  15. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Yup, zero room inside these things for a second drive. I've opened mine up... it's a pain in the dick. I've been doing the single internal drive thing on my 2009 i7 27" since I got it; slightly tempted to replace the optical with an SSD as I can use my MBP as a disc drive via FW if needed, but I've got other shit I'd rather spend money on.
     
  16. kev

    kev Im guybrush threepwood

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Take an image of that badboy now you're all sorted Jarkko - 1 click reinstall then next time!
     
  17. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Why don't you guys just do fresh installs then restore all your apps and files from time machine? All the gain, none of the pain, I've been doing this once a year for several years now
     
  18. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    I've never tried. Is it truly that easy?
     
  19. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    ^^It is.


    I'm just realizing Jarkko that I left something really important out - I had to do my system refresh because my harddrive physically crashed; that's what was causing the sluggishness of my machine. I don't want to scare you or anything but that is something to definitely be weary of if it happens again.
     
  20. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Like I said, I didn't want to do a full system restore from TM since there was an unidentified problem that apparently didn't lurk in the hardware. Going the automatic "Restore system from a Time Machine backup" route might have brought the problem back.

    Naturally, I did grab all my important personal files and such from the TM backup.

    Yup, totally aware of the possibility, but I've got my Time Machine just in case! :)
     

Share This Page