This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Kemper Profiling Amp

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Genius Gone Insane, Sep 17, 2012.

  1. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    even though I am not in the best financial situation and have other things I need to also buy, should I just be horribly irresponsible and just get the kemper on zzounds with the 4 payment option?
     
  2. Megin

    Megin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Ah, that modern preset curse that is plaguing the music world where so many think if they just can get a preset it will sound the same for them and everything will be so fine:err:
     
  3. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    It's got so bad man. Go check out the Chango forum on facebook. Everyone asks the same fucking shit:

    What impulse is the best?
    What pickups are the best?
    What's the best bass VST? (because no one actually records bass anymore)
    What's the best amp sim?
    What's the best vocal compressor?
    Who's the best mastering engineer?
    What's the best sauce for my burger?

    Uniformity masquerading as perfection. And a total fear of actually making a decision or creating a sound. Just ask everyone else what to use and copy them.

    Also don't forgot the obligatory "GO!" at the end of any of these questions, and major overuse of the word "bro"
     
  4. manegarm999

    manegarm999 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    yes that correct. im using blackouts in a gibson thunderhorse, hay play hard. but i can get that tight tone from kemper.
     
  5. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.SoundCollab.com | www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    +1313, so fucking right!

    @manegarm999
    Even if you would play with my whole chain, I am sure it will not sound the same.
     
  6. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.SoundCollab.com | www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    This morning I had a bit time to try out some new profiles.
    Ending up doing some test clips. Same one as last time but now there are quad-tracked guitars.

    Jaden Rose Custom w Dimarzio X2n -->KPA--2xUberschall + 2x EVH 5150 III->B12a-->Saffire 56.

    Mix:

    Backing:

    Guitars:


    Postprocessing:
    [​IMG]
     
    #486 TonyS., Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2015
  7. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    Has anyone done a Kemper clip that isn't like... br00tz death metal tones, but more of an organic sounding thing? Ala; Tool, Cult of Luna, Mastodon, High on Fire, ... more Marshally stuff and less Tubescreamer in front of a Boogie stuff??
     
  8. gibson5413

    gibson5413 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is a You Tube clip I did with a basic JCM800 profile that I really dig. Fairly low gain for these parts. It lets my guitar sing. You can hear the pick attack too.

     
    #488 gibson5413, Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  9. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Not as heavy as what you're looking for, but this was Tele -> JCM800 model.

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/392637/MP3/Writing/Pop Punk/Nov25Stratthing.mp3
     
  10. Tercero

    Tercero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oneonta, NY
    So I just had a weird thing happen. I just walked into my music room and my Kemper, set to the 'off' position, was lit up bright red. The display didn't read anything, just red. Has anyone else experienced this? I was pretty well freaked out. I flicked it to the 'on' position and it loaded normally, and then it powered down fine....but it has me a bit worried.
     
  11. prayfordarkness

    prayfordarkness Sent from the Golden Hall

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Calgary
    I've had this happen a couple of times. If it happens, it happens right after turning it off, so just wait a second for it to shut down before leaving the room. I did the same thing, turned it back on, then off again. Haven't seen any negative effects from it, and I don't know why it happens. Happened maybe 3 times to me in the 9 months that I've had it.
     
  12. infectdsniper

    infectdsniper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Athens, AL
    liked that jcm800 clip jeff. i need to get one of these
     
  13. Megin

    Megin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Had the same problem occasionally and had to turn it on again and off. But after the last update I have not experienced any problems.
     
  14. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.SoundCollab.com | www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
  15. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    Very nice dude! Nice playing and really nice tone. Was the direct tone using the same cab+mics?? I hear quite a difference between the two. Nothing bad you understand, but different.

    Again, really nice tones. Any details on the cab+mic?? Also Jeff, am I thinking wrong, but did you profile a Satriani JVM, or do demos for TAF recently??? I swear I read that.

    If I uploaded a DI, would anyone like to play around with it through their Kemper??
     
  16. Robert W

    Robert W Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    One of the best responses I ever saw on-line to a "how do you get a good guitar tone with sims" question went something like this, "I just use whatever sounds good."

    Still some sims do sound better for certain musical applications than others, so giving a little helpful advice sometimes doesn't hurt either.

    One thing I can say from personal experience is this get to know your sims. Record them as much as possible until you become acutely aware of what all their relative strengths and weaknesses are. Honestly, nothing is more frustrating than trying to get a certain tone out of a sim that just wasn't designed to make it.
     
  17. exoslime

    exoslime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Austria
    had the same thing for a couple of times too
     
  18. manegarm999

    manegarm999 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile


    thats steven slate vst get a better sound only in guitars or only works for final mix?
     
    #498 manegarm999, Dec 30, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2015
  19. El_Gato

    El_Gato I love this gain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Spain
    I wouldn't mind one of these without all the profiler stuff I'd rarely use. There are enough profiles out there to feed the whole mankind for 3 centuries. I'd use one "profile-loader" live and reharsing, I still like tube amps more for recording.

    Rack "loader": more simple, cheaper, less problems. Win-win. Give me a shout when ready.
     
  20. DigitalMetal

    DigitalMetal Building a Mini SSL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London UK
    #500 DigitalMetal, Dec 30, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015

Share This Page