This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Let's play another round of "Recommend me an interface"

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Flow Of Time, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    KA6: Bus powered
    Saffire: Power adapter

    -> Same noise

    Edit: Not sure if someone already recommended a powered USB hub, but I tried that aswell ^^
    With the powered hub, the noise gets better, but isn't completely gone and still very audible in 3D Applications.
     
  2. Delitzsch

    Delitzsch Führendes Mitglied

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Just throwing this out there, but that Ebtech Hum Eliminator is probably your cheapest option and it solved all my problems regarding noise, hum, ect.
     
  3. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh yeah sorry I forgot to mention:
    I wanted to get something like this and looked if there was something similar for european voltage. But apparently this isn't the case…
     
  4. Delitzsch

    Delitzsch Führendes Mitglied

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Dang. That sucks.
     
  5. 4Eyes

    4Eyes Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    another happy NIKA6 user here.

    if you experience ground loops, check your cables and connections, don't blame interface itself - cannot do much with it as it's bus powered.
     
  6. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't blame the interface itself. As I mentioned a few posts above, I already figured out what's causing the problem.
     
  7. dominus_malas

    dominus_malas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It probably is a ground issue somewhere. Replacing your mainboard may not fix it. (I had the same problem with an M-Audio interface, and it went away when I replaced it with an RME one.)
     
  8. Delitzsch

    Delitzsch Führendes Mitglied

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Flow Of Time, have you checked out Ebtech's rack mounts? It might solve your problem. I've seen them in a couple of pro rigs out on the road.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Flow Of Time

    Flow Of Time Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @dominis_malas:
    I am pretty sure it will^^ Because I tried the Interface with a different PC and there was no noise. I then tried to put that PCs PSU and GPU into my current PC and the noise was still there.

    @delitzsch:
    Are those for european voltage?
     
  10. dominus_malas

    dominus_malas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think the HE-2 unit is what you're looking for... and it doesn't use AC power. :)
     

Share This Page