This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Logic Pro X

Discussion in 'Backline' started by setyouranchor, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Well at least this looks as underwhelming as pt 11 ;) makes me feel slightly less bad!
     
  2. efx

    efx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    If they managed to fix the system overload errors that's plauging 9 I'm all over this. Not too impressed by the new color scheme, I kind of like the brighter look of the older one.
     
  3. jipchen

    jipchen ForesterStudio

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    http://www.apple.com/logic-pro/in-depth/

    Sounds very interesting to me. We'll see about stability etc.
    I just hate that I will have to upgrade to waves v9 for a shitload of money. But 64 bit only is well overdue and I'm glad PT11 and Logic X are forcing the plugin industry to finally make the jump.

    Also, no reduced upgrade pricing?
     
  4. xTomx

    xTomx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
  5. Vicioushead

    Vicioushead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Wow, nice price. I think I'll get this when I can buy my mac mini.
     
  6. hogan666

    hogan666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    I'm a bit dissapointed that they don't include a midi editor for drums like in Cubase. Thats one thing holding me back switching from Cubase to logic.
     
  7. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    ^ use the hyper editor, i actually prefer it to cubase's drum map.

    kind of underwhelmed by logic X, not much incentive to upgrade. in fact, untill all my plugs are 64 bit I'm steering clear.

    GR meters in the mixer, stack tracks, flex pitch i guess are all cool. GUI is nice. drummer looks OK, apparently bob clearmountain was involved with bits.
     
  8. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    So with there being no upgrades, I could just sell my Logic Pro 9 and then buy this one? Anybody know how license transfers or stuff like that work with Logic if I wanna sell it?
     
  9. xTomx

    xTomx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Did you buy it in physical form or from the App Store?
     
  10. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    I have a physical copy of it. That means, I guess, that I could sell it?
     
  11. Charlie E.

    Charlie E. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    But if you sell it wouldn't you lose Waveburner and Mainstage? I heard installing Logic X overwrites Logic 9? Or is that false? Or does it overwrite Logic 9 but keeps the other programs?
     
  12. xTomx

    xTomx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Exactly, also for anybody who bought it on the App Store in the last month - you could try contacting App Store customer support. Apparently (take with a pinch of salt) you can get a refund.
     
  13. lanky noob

    lanky noob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The shire, UK
    I've read in multiple places that that's completely false

    waveburner's pretty much useless anyway
     
  14. jipchen

    jipchen ForesterStudio

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Of course you can use both Logic 9 + 10 on the same computer. Though apparently some custom skins might get overwritten. But it doesn't make Logic 9 unusable.
    Yeah? Got a good alternative for burning red-book standard audio CDs, creating DDP Masters, implementing ISRC + UPC/EAN codes, CD text, etc.?

    WaveBurner is working for me, so I don't see how it's useless (you can't do the above with Logic or ProTools), but if there's a good alternative I might be interested. Except WaveLab 8, that's just way too expensive, and WaveLab Essential seems to miss DDP export and also some CD burning features, but it doesn't say which ones on the website.
     
  15. lanky noob

    lanky noob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The shire, UK
    I started a thread a while ago asking whether it was actually worth jumping from express to pro, bearing in mind that I almost purely use third party plugs, and from the descriptions people gave me of waveburner and mainstage one of them sounded almost useless... it might've been mainstage actually.. not sure

    Just ignore me :D
     
  16. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Haha.its Soundtrack Pro that's the useless one!
    Wave burner is fucking mint.
     
  17. ze kink

    ze kink THE BLACK WIZARDS

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Yeah, Waveburner's definitely not useless.

    I really want to update, but need to update to Mountain Lion and all first... bleh. If I can stand it, I might just wait until I get a new Mac. Meanwhile, I'm trying out the Cubase 7 demo out of curiosity, but it hasn't really impressed me. Funny how Logic Pro X came out just as I installed the demo, as I suspected would happen :lol:
     
  18. jipchen

    jipchen ForesterStudio

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Mountain Lion is working great for me (on both the Studio Mac and my personal MBP). I'm still not sure I want to renew my Waves update plan for $240 (or more), which I have to if I want to use Logic 10. Fuck Waves, for restricting 64bit plugins to V9. Every other company releases their 64bit updates for free :S
     
  19. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    To be fair , I have recently upgraded plugins from mcdsp, sonnox and metric halo, at minimal costs each but it can soon add up.

    Fortunately I saw this coming and have spaced out my upgrades. Gonna be a while before my daw is upgraded ( from pt9 to 11)
     
  20. mickrich

    mickrich Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Waveburner is amazing.
    Soundtrack pro is FAR from useless if you are mixing a film.
    You can import an audio file and normalize to -12 then save it as a script.
    In FCP7 you can then select all audio files and apply the script to them.
    Now when you export the OMF to do the mix in PT or Logic, all the audio files are at -12 making the mix really easy with much less automation needed.
    I always do any fixes in FCP linked to STP before exporting.
    You can also easily remove any clicks or apply noise reduction too.
    FCP automatically updates the audio files that you have edited in STP.
    Apple really fucked up when they dumped STP.
    Everyone I freelance for is still on FCP7. FCPX has not been adopted by the industry at all.

    Anyway, I am loving LPX.
    Will not use it until all plugins are updated to 64 bit but am looking forward to that.
    I will buy the new Mac Pro when it's released too.
    My 2006 Mac Pro is getting on a bit now, but still works as good as new.
    It is not officially supported for LPX but I got it to run using the plist hack.
    Works fine.
    Not bad for a 7 year old computer.
     

Share This Page