This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

M-Audio Fast Track USB, Good For The $?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Robert W, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. Robert W

    Robert W Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Am looking to buy another USB interface and was wondering how the M-Audio Fast Track rated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I got the MKII version. It does have some noise but that goes without saying I guess... still the sound quality is good for home use. I get problems sometimes when running multiple audio programs simultaneously and I have to close all program and restart the Fast Track. It's actually really irritating. :(

    Anyways all of my material that I've recorded at home is done with this and it always works.
     
  3. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Have an older Fast Track Pro and it works totally fine. Never had any issues with it.

    It's got S/PDIF and MIDI too.
     
  4. Robert W

    Robert W Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the feedback guys.
     
  5. deLuther

    deLuther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Russia
    If you are using Win7, try to disable monopole card mode in windows audio device settings, this can help.
     
  6. Maybelater

    Maybelater Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Fast Track Ultra here, Sounds good to my ears, no problems what so ever.
     
  7. Lodge

    Lodge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Been using one for about 3 years now, literally never have any problems out of it. Definitely the most reliable interface I have owned so far, and it sounds great. The only thing that sucks is that it doesn't have MIDI in/out, but for $119 and the reliability, I don't even care,
     
  8. Calippo Tecks

    Calippo Tecks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belgium
    Could you be more specifically where this is mentioned?

    I don't have a clue what the translation would be for win7 in Dutch.
     
  9. deLuther

    deLuther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Russia
    Win7 = Windows 7.
    I`m did such setup with one of our local guys, he has M-Audio C400 and there was problems with ASIO setup, some system shit has taken control of interface (C400 was as default system audio interface, also usual source of problems).
     
  10. Calippo Tecks

    Calippo Tecks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belgium
    Yes, Windows 7, when I enable my Fast Track Pro, I always have to switch it off as default interface, else I'm not able to use it in Cubase. It's possible the other way around, if I choose the Fast Track Pro as device in Cubase and then enable it as default interface, then I can both hear sound in Cubase and other programs.

    I don't really know what u mean with the monopole card option or where I can disable this.
     
  11. Ghilou

    Ghilou New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Very good interface for the price yes, you would probably not regret it. However when I bought mine It was a kind of default move, I think you can get slightly better for a comparable price (presonus comes to mind). I'm not sure the difference is big enough to be worth bothering though.
     
  12. sinewavealex

    sinewavealex Keyboard player

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Israel
    Used a FastTrack Pro for a live setup for years. Some noticeable noise levels, but overall, robust and portable enough for home and stage. Worth the dough IMO
     
  13. deLuther

    deLuther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Russia
    By saying monopole mode I`m referring to shitty russian translation.
    Actually I mean this:
    [​IMG]
    I.e. exclusive mode.
     
  14. Calippo Tecks

    Calippo Tecks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belgium
    lol, thanks a lot, I'll try that!

    <edit>...and it does work, that's gonna save me some time in the future</edit>
     
  15. Benedict16th

    Benedict16th Benito Slipperman

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Got Fasttrack pro. Years ago I got the usb one which is the older version of the last MKII. Lots of problems occurs. The worst - it bleeds metronome click sound into recording!!! It was often problem disscussed on their forum. Occasionally stopped working and needed restart. Tech support was weak.. and they rather stop making them anymore... (check M audio site) I think they fix that problem with newer MKII version. Fasttrack pro is much better. From M audio I also use M audio Studiophile BX active monitors. Design and flat response is perfect but after year one led stop to light... :(
     
  16. deLuther

    deLuther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Russia
  17. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    you can grab a line 6 ux1 for 97 dollars right now. Comes with podfarm 2 too. I would look into that as well
     
  18. deLuther

    deLuther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Russia
    Did you ever compare line 6 stuff to any other interface?
    If you do this, you will notice that line 6 has higher high pass frequency, so less lows on DI.
    M-Audio stuff can be more natural (in case of passives), maybe except FT Pro, because of it`s low impedance (220k instead of 1 M).
     

Share This Page