This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Mac Pro or iMac?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by jipchen, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. crazykarl

    crazykarl Captain Insano

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US of A
    For what it's worth, I just got the lowest priced i3 iMac (getting some motu stuff, needed a new mac to run it). Was going to get a mac pro, but decided I'd wait until I get PT HD to get that.

    It runs fine with Multiple instances of T-Racks, Ozone 4, Airverb, Alloy, VSTs, other plug ins and 32 tracks. Going to max out the ram in a couple of months, but it has no problems as a stock machine right now. Haven't tried virtual instruments on it yet though.
     
  2. horndog

    horndog Blacker then Sabbath

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    Went through this a few months back . Wanted a mac pro for the expandability and architecture etc but settled for an 27" Imac Quad . It was impressive for an Imac but they run hot and Apple care is a must have with it . I returned it as soon as a nice Mac Pro quad refurb showed up on the apple site . I love it . Installed a hard drive for samples and one for song files so i have a total of 3 drives with room for another . upgraded a couple gigs of memory . And what really made it special was the pcie slots . I got a good deal on some UAD cards and plugs from a dude who moved his production to an Imac ironically . UAD is the bomb ! Loven' this computer . It's a 2.66 ghz and can handle a load . plus the nice heat sink and all the space in the bay help with heat dispersal . Got a 23" an affordable Acer monitor and it looks great to .
     
  3. horndog

    horndog Blacker then Sabbath

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    that 27'' screen is pretty sweet !
     
  4. Superdatasatan

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Finland
    This sounds interesting.. Which interface are you using? I've always worried that my apogee might choke if chose to go down the hackintosh path but I guess it could work..
     
  5. nickkbh

    nickkbh Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bangkok
    I am using a metric halo 2882.
    Havent had a glitch yet.
     
  6. gabriel g.

    gabriel g. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg
    I have the same interface, do you love it as much as I do?

    back to topic:
    what would I need to do if I bought all these parts and build it together?
    How would I install snow leopard on it?

    do you have any problems with software or plugins?
    what about software updates?

    cheers
     
  7. nickkbh

    nickkbh Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bangkok
  8. S-O

    S-O Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Or, hackintosh. There are guides to build Mac Pro spec comps out there, for cheaper, and upgradable.

    The con is it takes more work than just buying an Apple.
     
  9. drawnacrol

    drawnacrol 7Slinger

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
  10. nickkbh

    nickkbh Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bangkok
    build it yourself, and save half.
    And what kind of software do you think it comes with!!!!
     
  11. Jarkko Mattheiszen

    Jarkko Mattheiszen The FU guy.

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lappeenranta, Finland
    Yes, a computer that's shady on the terms of Apple license agreements packed with a fuck-ton of pirated software is an excellent choice for an AE.

    C'mon guys, if you want an SSL desk, you'll save for one. If you want a Mac, you'll buy one. In either case, I doubt you will be disappointed! :)
     

Share This Page