This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Macbook Pro advice.

Discussion in 'Backline' started by ArsMemoria, Sep 27, 2014.

  1. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    So, I'm running an early-2011 MBP with an i5 2.3GHz and 4GB ram and running Logic Pro X. I'm going to be upgrading this machine soon, but not sure if I want to go with just 8GB or spend on a full 16GB upgrade. The main thing is I use this for practicing with the covers posted in the Practice Room as well as on school assignments. Eventually, it's gonna be turned over to my wife when I graduate, probably used as a storage and backup device, and I'm picking up a brand new model.

    Do you all think 8GB would be enough? Or will I just want to upgrade later on anyways?
     
  2. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I have the exact same computer and I find running your average song in Reaper strains it once all the plugins are turned on. I have to print the FX on new tracks and mute the originals just to be able to master. So if I were you I'd get as much RAM as humanly possible. But the thing about Mac RAM is that you can get it installed factory-direct from Apple, or you can buy it from a third party for 1/3 the price and install it yourself. Just make sure the computer has enough slots when you buy it and you should be good to go.
     
  3. Gujukal

    Gujukal Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think 8 GB is enough, because your CPU will struggling with a lot of VSTi's and tracks anyway.
     
  4. guy in latvia

    guy in latvia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Unless you have loaded an absolutely insane amount of VSTis 8GB will be fine. Even some of the biggest kits in superior won't go over 4gb. But thats more of a writing thing, when mixing, all should be bounced to wav files instead. The most important aspect is your CPU, try and get the best you can afford. In a typical mix of 80 or more tracks my CPU starts dying once i have plugins running on every track. A typical workaround is to print stems of everything, but it can be frustrating when you have to go back and make changes.
     
  5. Gujukal

    Gujukal Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    I've run over 150 tracks with plugins on most of the tracks without any problems on my PC :)
     
  6. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    Not true anymore. On current MBP's ram is soldered to the logic board.
     
  7. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Oops. Thanks for catching that.
     
  8. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    This is very true, but it's worth mentioning that a base-level 15' MBP now comes with 16GB RAM stock, which is overkill for most audio applications.
     
  9. Line666

    Line666 Fendurr

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yeah, generally speaking you're going to be running out of processor overhead before you use up all 8 gigs of ram unless you like running insane amounts of sample libraries.

    And yeah the all soldered parts thing is an absolute pain in the arse. MBPs are still the best laptops on the market by far but.
     
  10. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    Thanks for the replies, and it's pretty much what I've been thinking: 8GB should be enough for what I need and I can toss a good SSD in with the cash I was gonna spend on 16GB. Currently, my RAM usage in activity monitor is right at 4GB whenever I'm running LPX and a little over 3GB when I'm just messing around on the internet.
     
  11. id3alism

    id3alism Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Germany
    If your machine just feels a little bit slow, my best advice is to exchange the hard disk with a ssd. The difference was like day and night on my mid 2012 macbook pro.
     
  12. Riku

    Riku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have the same MBP with 8gb. I don't think that you can put 16gb in it.
     
  13. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
  14. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    just curious. What buffer size do you guys mix at? I mix at the highest buffer size I can (2048 at 44.1khz).
     
  15. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    As far as the soldered RAM thing goes that only applies to the retina MBP's I believe.
     
  16. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    I track at 128/44.1, but never change my buffer size when I mix. So, it runs at the same settings mostly out of not paying attention half the time. :lol:
     

Share This Page