This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Meshugga Rig Rundown

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Matt-Steele, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. Matt-Steele

    Matt-Steele Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=oAFJmgA2G5E

    Thought you guys might enjoy seeing this...

    Pretty crazy how they are changing their patches. I didn't know they were using Ultras for everything. They are also using cabs/impulses in their presets which means they are going straight to the PA even if there are cabs on stage, they are only for show.
     
  2. psycle_1

    psycle_1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Odd that they're not using the Axe FX II's, but whatever works.
     
  3. hsinn3r

    hsinn3r Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah yeah yeah
     
  4. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Yeah, they didn't have any cabs when I saw them. Pretty neat IMO.
     
  5. ArthurD

    ArthurD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brasília - Brazil
    yes yes yes yes
    no no no no
    yeah yeah
     
  6. hurdy

    hurdy Sup

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    Cheers for this post, very interesting!!
     
  7. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    People seem to think that the Axe-II sounds better than the Axe-I. Why is that?
     
  8. kass

    kass Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's one better.
     
  9. Keregioz

    Keregioz Kimon Zeliotis

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Yeah, it's simple math:loco:

    That's a very cool system for changing presets but it seems really complicated and I think I would always worry that some little thing will go wrong and would ruin the whole set.
     
  10. Matt-Steele

    Matt-Steele Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Because it is, not to mention Cliff says so.
     
  11. SwambA

    SwambA Processed Chicken

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, fl
    Because of your video :lol:


    Sounds much better here!
     
    #11 SwambA, Mar 12, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  12. Clockwork

    Clockwork Bass playing guy.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I thought that method of patch changing was pretty standard? Doesn't The Safety Fire do that too? Pretty efficient though I imagine it demands ungodly tightness.
     
  13. SwambA

    SwambA Processed Chicken

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, fl
    My band was doing this back in 2001, only we had a backing track to follow and I had Cubase controlling the drum modules, 2 keyboards, bass effects, 2 guitar effect processors and changed vsti's that I used with a keyboard midi controller AND a Roland Gk-2 midi controller on my guitar... It was a fucking nightmare!
     
  14. AboutBlank

    AboutBlank Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    All the technology improved a little in 12 years^^

    A stable Laptop who basically just runs a DAW, playing a backing + patch changing should work pretty fine.
     
  15. SwambA

    SwambA Processed Chicken

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, fl

    I'm joking when i say it was a nightmare... well kinda. It worked really well back then as well. Just trying to get it all down was the headache. I was controlling quite a bit more also.
     
  16. Clark Kent

    Clark Kent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yeah I know... but the thing is.. this comparison failed.. We should've been using the Recto New on the Ultra because Recto Orange in the Axe-II is modern and on the Ultra it's vintage. :( So this is axe2 recto modern vs ultra recto vintage. The Recto models are quite different in these two units and JCM800 too but other than that I don't think I would pass a blindfold test. We did another test which basically matched the two so the only difference you hear will be the amp modeling and not the IR. So how big is the difference then?



    I honestly play them side by side daily. Ofcourse the Axe-II is better feature-wise and has a lot more horsepower. But if you just think about it as your live rig then it's like having a Ferrari vs BMW but you'll be driving them 50mph max. Both can do it easily. There isn't much you can't do with the Ultra. I'd love to have more IR slots though.... that's my main concern. :)

    Cliff is my god also but he guessed wrong to that second comparison. :ill:
     
    #16 Clark Kent, Mar 12, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2015
  17. Wookieslayer

    Wookieslayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    That clip is ridiculously close, I don't think I can guess... must need headphones to make my hypothesis...
     
  18. Jordon

    Jordon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yea, Disturbed did something similar, and my band runs things in this fashion, but we still have GCP's in front of us, just in case. It's a pretty liberating way to run a set, I must say.
     
  19. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    We do the same thing. Reaper + MIDI program changes on two GSP1101's and keyboard stuff.

    Approaching 100 shows flawlessly
     
  20. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    That's actually pretty crazy. Didn't know this was possible!
     

Share This Page