This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Mic amp recording not sounding good

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by teokouts, Mar 18, 2015.

  1. teokouts

    teokouts New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello friends. My name is Teo. I'm a rookie home studio producer for metalcore and this is my first thread here. So please be gentle :lol: To begin with I have a Peavey Vypyr VIP 2 for amp and I like its sound very much. So I got myself a Shure SM57 in order to record the amp. The problem is that the sound I am getting is a bit muddy and not in your face sound I was hoping for. I read a lot of post and tutorials on how to mic an amp and placed the mic on axis just a bit out of the cone. But the results where not as I was hoping for. I mean I managed to get the sound I wanted with vst plugins but wanted to record my guitars with the amp and mic so I won't have the digitalness that vsts are giving. Any advice guys because I don't know if it is my mic placment or the amp that is just not good enough for this purpose. And thank you very much for reading my post.
     
  2. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,726
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
  3. teokouts

    teokouts New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  4. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does it sound the way you want in the room? You cant take an amp that sounds like shit in the room and throw up a 57 and it be good. Source needs to be good first. In all fairness (some will disagree) modern in the box amp sims are pretty great nowadays, unless you have a pretty stellar setup it will be tough to beat what you will be able to accomplish in the box. That being said a good amp, good guitar, with a good player and signal chain can sound "better/realistic".
     
  5. evanwarren

    evanwarren New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    You can get great results with plugins, so don't think that using a real amp for the sake of using a real amp is going to solve any problems. If what you're getting with a plugin sounds better than your amp, then use the plugin. But all that being said, where is the mic positioned on the speaker?
     
  6. teokouts

    teokouts New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The mic is posinionted just a bit left of the cone. I know the room does matter a lot, but when I play with the same settings it sounds pretty good.
     
  7. scorpio01169

    scorpio01169 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Like Studdy said, first you must get the amp to sound good to your ear in the room. the second step is to start your mic in the center of the amp just off the grill/cloth. and with no eq set on your board/daw, move the mic from the center of the speaker outward trying to get the best sound to your liking. Once you've done that in that order....then eq and compress if needed.
     
  8. KHE

    KHE Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    switzerland
    :lol:

    pan those gtrs hard l/r and bring them up. add bass-guitar. otherwise it's guesswork what needs to be done.
     
  9. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,273
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    keep practicing and adjusting the mic position. soon you'll learn how to adjust the position to achieve the sound you're after. a combination of mic position and settings on the amp should get you to the tone you hear in the room
     
  10. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Yep, it takes a bit of time and practice/patience to get a good mic'd tone. What I do is throw on some headphones and turn the amp volume down low enough so that it's not blasting over the signal I'm getting in the phones and adjust the mic from there, then once I've found a decent placement, crank the volume a bit. Of course this may not always work as your tone changes once you start cranking it. Also, your room plays more of a roll than you probably think. Try placing the cab in different locations and see if that yields any better results.

    Good luck with the journey, it's a fun ride!
     
  11. teokouts

    teokouts New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am wondering if I place the amp in my closet and put some sort of isolation on the walls would it be better than leaving it in the room?
     
  12. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You are over thinking it. The room always plays a part but assuming the room is a decent size the room wont have a super drastic affect on the close mic. It of course plays a part but if you are not 90% of the way there the room isnt causing it.

    Does the amp sound exactly the way you want before micing it up? This really is the question here. If the amp doesn't sound exactly the way you want it to sound, the recorded tone will be even worse.
     
  13. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    You're likely to make things worse shoving it in a closet.

    Listening to that clip I think you need less bass and more mids. Your guitars sound like they're coming from the centre, so I'm guessing you've recorded one take and the copied it and panned them hard L/R. This is NOT the same as double tracking. You need to record 2 seperate performances and pan one left and one right.

    Alot of the size of your guitar tone in the mix actually comes from the bass guitar, so once you add that you should be in better shape.
     
  14. teokouts

    teokouts New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I played two times the riff into two diferrent tracks.
     
  15. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Maybe you've exported in mono then, because everything sounds like it's coming from the centre, there's no stereo seperaton.
     
  16. Sludgekicker

    Sludgekicker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Try to cut back the bass on the amp(maybe push more mids too) then if you can bring the mic closer to the membrane, so you get more bite but hopefully wont loose much oomph. You can also feed a bit less gain if you do this.
     
  17. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    seems like it needs some more mids and less gain.
     
  18. DullElysium

    DullElysium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    You could try to record the fx-loop send and slap on a good IR-response (preferably same mic, cab and position) to see if it's to do with the mic placement you're using.

    If it sounds better like that, just test different mic positions etc. If not, there might be a problem with your settings.
     
  19. teokouts

    teokouts New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Could you be more specific cause I didn't get what you suggest.
     
  20. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    He's talking about connecting the FX Send of the amp into your interface so you get the raw preamp signal and then using an IR loader such as NadIR, LeCab, etc, to simulate a speaker/mic/mic placement instead of actually micing the live cabinet.
     

Share This Page