This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Mixing with your ears, not your eyes.

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by jhrv, Oct 23, 2009.

1. jhrv

jhrv Member

Some of you have tried to mix ITB with your eyes closed? Not all the time, I mean equalizing, checking tracks levels, etc.

I did it today and WOW!, the difference was huge. My mix went from being amateur to something more professional. It makes sense, I know, but I didn't know that the difference would be so huge, at least for me.

Sorry if I have errors in some words, I'm not very good with English.

2. GarethSE

GarethSE New Metal Member

When I get a control surface it's definately gonna become a force of a habit. My ideal workflow would be candles, lights off, a couple of bowls, hands on faders.. And that's what I'm working towards.
    I now go through every track and ride the faders in my DAW with automation writing live then tidy it up afterwards, but nothing really compares to having faders at your actual fingertips.

3. Nebulous

Nebulous Daniel

I'm sure there was a thread about this liek a week ago. Either way, it's good to get peoples input on it.
    I find myself using my eyes sometimes, so I make a habit of either listening with my sight focused just below the screen, or close my eyes once in a while.

It's good to get into the habit of not relying on your DAW/ sight interperetation when mixing. It makes it much easier after a while IMO (after abit of practice) so that you can still be looking at the screen but have enough focus with your ears.

That's especially important for EQ IMO. You need to be able to see to ensure you're adjusting the correct thing, but also need to keep focus on the sound. It's too easy to butcher the mix otherwise.