This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

multiband Compressors on masterbus...

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by MultiM, Jun 7, 2014.

  1. MultiM

    MultiM Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Paris, France
    I use multiband compressors(C4) on the masterbus always, do you think it's enough alone as a mastering compressor without a broadband(normal) compressor?

    I usually use the C4 for specific bands that I feel they should be compressed, then use a normal mastering compressor.

    what do you guys do?
     
  2. crillemannen

    crillemannen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I've actually stopped using multi's on the master bus. It's just something about how it makes the snare sound. Yeah the whole mix will sound more even but the mix as a whole stops breathing and i don't like it.
     
  3. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I use specific bands only when needed (pretty often the low end). I use a broadband when I feel it brings something to the mix (most of the time but not always). I think it's a difficult but necessary practice to not make a rule out of anything in audio.
     
  4. EOC

    EOC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    c4 fucks the phase in the crossovers, i would recomend it. That is why they released the linear phase multiband.
    I used to use multiband but not anymore. As burny says, maybe one band in a problematic area
     
  5. HOFX

    HOFX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use reaxcomp on the drum bass buss only acting on 200 Hz and below before hitting fg-grey, only real place I use it. The rest of the mix balance and control comes from eq
     
  6. Cephara

    Cephara Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    I would only use multi band compressors on busses individually that you know sound overbearing in a mix. If the overbearing sound is consistent, I would look at a different approach EQing certain problem HZ on identified tracks.
     
  7. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,241
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    easy way to fuck your mix up, but if it makes things sound better then go for it.
     
  8. Fluffbot

    Fluffbot I like beef jerky.

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I used to put the C4 on the masterbus but I really don't like doing it anymore. Since it's for clamping down on unwanted frequencies that are rearing their ugly heads, I prefer to find where those are coming from in the first place and fix it there. I use C4 all the time on guitars, bass, etc. but never on the masterbus!

    No rules though, if it works for you all that matters is the sound coming out!
     
  9. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    I'm finally working on a little project after quite some time off from mix-land. In my off-time I did acquire C4 as well as a few other plugins that were on sale. Need to dive back in and re-learn some stuff! I recall using C4 on guitar buss but I don't think I'd use it over the master. I've used it on a total-shit, 1-mic recording of a band practice to get rid of annoying shit to be able to pick out drums a bit better for re-creating them in MIDI.
     
  10. noise in my mind

    noise in my mind New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use it very sparingly. for me it helps glue the mix together. Sometimes I don't use it at all though.
     
  11. MetalSound

    MetalSound Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    TC Finalizer gets used on nearly every mix here. Sometimes Waves LinMB as well.
     
  12. wishtheend

    wishtheend clip the apex

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    SL, UT
    Just used FabFilter MB to balance the lows on some electronic mixes with really good results.
     
  13. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I do it sometimes, just for more low end control when I like the balance and tone of kick and bass but it sometimes gets too boomy.
     
  14. Arsenu,

    Arsenu, Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think my mixes were somewhat reborn after Fabfilter released their MB-comp. It will definitely add a new life to any dull mix if used right.
     
  15. amarshism

    amarshism Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Linmb and c6 on the high end.
     

Share This Page