This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

My Firepod is fubar - can anybody give electrical advice?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Thorax the Herdsman, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. Thorax the Herdsman

    Thorax the Herdsman Procrastinating Fuck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Outer London, United Kingdom
    So my Firepod has started making these annoying clicking sounds. They're not software/latency type cracks, they're popping noises from the actual unit itself:



    I've already had the unit sent off once for repair for a bad firewire IC (first one firewire input stopped working, then both did) so I'm not happy to have it sent off again. And as you can imagine, I'm not overly chuffed about continuing to use it...

    Has anybody experienced this before? Does anybody know if this is something that can be fixed myself, i.e. a loose connection that can be soldered safely? If it's anything more technical than that I'm afraid I'm likely to bin it :(

    Failing that I'll eventually be needing a replacement for the band (8 channels but moving to 16 in the future) but will first probably be picking up something for the home studio, so if anybody can share their thoughts on a decent non-presonus 2 input firewire unit then please do :) Perhaps the Focusrite Saffire or something...
     
    #1 Thorax the Herdsman, Nov 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2015
  2. Wolfeman

    Wolfeman I Prefer EL-34s. So What?

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Dude that's coming from the Firepod itself? I would unplug it and not use it, that's not a good sound. Send an email to presonus support, they have always been good to me and even fixed my stuff out of warranty for free.
    Is there an electrical smell coming from it? Sounds like something is arcing.
     
  3. Notuern

    Notuern Bloody vaginal belch

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Thats definitly not good.. i would either send it back for repairs, or throw it away and buy a new one.
     
  4. Thorax the Herdsman

    Thorax the Herdsman Procrastinating Fuck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Outer London, United Kingdom
    Well I just got back an email from Presonus support here in the UK, and they've basically told me that a repair could be anything up to £200. Considering we paid £300 for it used, as well as £150 for the first repair, I'm not so keen to spend another penny on this unit getting it working. £650 for a working Firepod is crazy.

    As a band we're unlikely to do any recording for another year or so, so I guess we'll just wait until then and see what's available as a replacement.

    In the mean time I want something else a bit lower-scale for home use. Just 2 inputs I think. So...Focusrite Saffire? :)
     
  5. PhilTheBeard

    PhilTheBeard "The Beard"

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cape Coral, Florida
    god damn bro that sucks ass
     
  6. musickey

    musickey djenital moosic

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Do not buy Presonus Firepods or FP10's if you expect to use Windows 7.
    Here is a post that just came off their forum. And i know there is a work around but its limiting.

    "Hi,

    With the exception of the Audiobox, the bridgeco line of products (ie, Firebox, Firepod, FP10) have been disocntinued. Currently future Os support has yet to be determined. We won't have anything in the next 2 weeks."
     
  7. Notuern

    Notuern Bloody vaginal belch

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    It was a b*tch getting my Saffire to work in Vista.. had to send it back for a firmware update.
    Basically, i couldnt update the firmware without installing the drivers, and i couldnt install the drivers without updating the firmware! :lol:

    Then i had i had some problems with it identifying my outputs as inputs.. solved it by reinstalling the drivers.

    When i finally had it up and running, it was great!

    .. except for the fact that it doesn't have any stereo inputs(Bummer for hooking up keyboards.).
     

Share This Page