This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

My guitar sounded a little thin, so I checked the spectrum analyzer and...

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by AndrewB, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. AndrewB

    AndrewB That Darn Kid

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    [​IMG]

    There's almost no content below 100 Hz. While we're on the subject, there's a major spike at about 5khz, and then there's very little content below 6khz.

    I don't understand what could be causing this. I took this screenshot with no FX or EQing done at all to the guitar, which also means no filtering. I have an untreated room, but obviously the room couldn't come into play THAT much, could it?

    My chain is: Randall RT503H -> Marshall AVT412 cab -> SM57 -> FMR RNP preamp -> TASCAM US-144 -> my computer.

    Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this?

    Or maybe I'm being totally paranoid over nothing and this is how raw guitar sounds are supposed to look?
     
  2. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Should definitely be content below 100 and above 6k on raw guitars. I do not have a solution for you, though, sorry.
     
  3. luismars

    luismars Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    Start from the beginning. Does DI sound good ok?
     
  4. AndrewB

    AndrewB That Darn Kid

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Didn't take a DI. This was the recording straight into the amp.
     
  5. kev

    kev Im guybrush threepwood

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Looks a bit screwed up. More like a processed tone after it's hi/low pass filters have attacked it.
     
  6. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    Yeah man I'm stumped. The FMR and the US122 don't have roll off switches.
     
  7. Danny Drama

    Danny Drama Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Got another guitar to try with? Potentially a fucked pickup/wiring.

    If not, to eliminate your amp/cab etc, record in to an amp sim plugin, see if you get the same deal.
     
  8. Riku

    Riku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I suspect it's bad mic positioning. It looks like you have the mic close to the grill and in the middle of the cone. Try experimenting with moving the mic. I got great results recently with a 57 approx 10 away from the grill and about half way out from the centre of the cone towards the edge.
     
  9. Red Phoenix

    Red Phoenix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Germany
    Is the sound coming out of the box also thin? or only the recorded ones? Maybe bad mic placement. But also with mic closest to the grill and directly on the center of the cap i get enough bottom end..how loud do you record? maybe you have to push the speaker more. and..i remember a guy who had a fake sm57 which produced a thin or phasy sound.
     
  10. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    First of all, what the fuck is 10 away from the grill?

    Second, even if it was true there would still be something below 100hz.
     
  11. AndrewB

    AndrewB That Darn Kid

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    OK, since I'm having a lot of trouble figuring this out, I'll be REALLY specific about my chain:
    My guitar plugs into a Countryman 85 DI box, which then goes out the "amp" output. It goes from the DI box to my pedalboard (my pedalboard actually has inputs and outputs in it that my pedals connect to). It goes out of my pedalboard to the amp, and from the amp to the cabinet. The rest is in the OP.

    I tried all 3 channels in my amp, and the result was the same. I tried a different guitar. I tried moving the mic. I tried a different 57. I tried going straight from my guitar to the amp, with no pedalboard. All with still nothing below 100 Hz.
    Also, I bought both 57s brand new from Guitar Center, so they're not fake.
    What the fuck.
    I have no idea what it could possible be. I just bought the head not too long ago, brand new. The cabinet, however, I bought 2 or 3 years ago, used from Guitar Center. And it came with numerous scratches, and a broken caster. Could the cabinet/speakers be malfunctioning? How would I find out, short of getting a new cabinet?

    EDIT: I just ran a spectrum analyzer on the sound going direct from the speaker out of my amp, to the DI box, into the preamp, into the interface, and into the computer. There wasn't a ton of content in the low end (which I expected), but at least if I played a note there was a bit of a spike at about 80 Hz. Doing the same thing didn't get the same result if I was using the cab. So it looks like it's probably the cab.
     
  12. Is the tone bad LIVE? or only when recorded.
     
  13. CubanDude

    CubanDude not really cuban

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    sounds like an issue in your post cab/mic chain. maybe your preamps or your interface?! how does the amp sound in the room?
     
  14. AndrewB

    AndrewB That Darn Kid

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    I just ran a spectrum analyzer on my DI, which goes through the same chain as my mic does. There was definitely low end there.
     
  15. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    What about one of your pedals, could it be one of them ?
     
  16. deLuther

    deLuther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Russia
    AndrewB
    Voxengo SPAN needs some setup to show spectrum right, press Edit button and set large block size (8192 or 16384, maybe largest one - 32768), then set Range low to larger value, for example -110, and Slope to 0. Spectrum display will show you "hidden" frequencies. Default mode have narrow range and very smoothed, also slope can fool you a little.
     
  17. Fandus

    Fandus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    let us know if the tone sounds thin and weak in the room aswell. if it's only bad recorded then its on the other side of the mic.

    however it its weak in real life out of the cab, sounds like maybe a blown preamp tube.
     
  18. PaoloJM

    PaoloJM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    Why not throw up a clip?
    A spectrum analysis is pretty useless when judging a tone.
     
  19. RedDog

    RedDog Humanoid typhoon

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma.
    Seems like you got it right where it needs to go! Or its a small cab. Or there could be underlying issues and your world may be fucked. Hope its no big deal dude.
     
  20. mburton21

    mburton21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry if I skipped over info, I'm in class and replying speedily before it ends.

    If the DI is ok, then it must be something else on the way to the amp. While reamping/playing does it sound as if there is a lack of low end? It could be a shoddy cable, speaker cable, or IMO, cab. The AVT cabs are worthless in my experience.
     

Share This Page