This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

My Macbook Pro has bitten the dust :(

Discussion in 'Bar' started by Vicioushead, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Vicioushead

    Vicioushead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Right in the middle of a project :cry:

    Shut it down this evening after recording and when I booted it up later the screen will not come on.

    :(
     
  2. HaydenLM1

    HaydenLM1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had a laptop that got stolen :/ had projects on it and everything ...its always a bad feeling..
     
  3. Vicioushead

    Vicioushead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Especially when I have to tell the client that I can't finish the project until I can get it repaired :(
     
  4. HaydenLM1

    HaydenLM1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it sucks man :(
     
  5. Dan R

    Dan R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    What year is it from? I had an early 2008 4,1 macbook pro, from just before they redesigned it to the newer design, and the same thing happened. Turned my computer on and there was sound but no video. It's a known defect. Apple replaced my entire logic board for free. You might be in the same boat.
     
  6. Vicioushead

    Vicioushead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    It's from around that time and has the infamous Nvidia 8600GT GPU that has a manufacturing fault. Sadly, I bought it second hand so I might be out of luck if they want proof of purchase.

    There's sound, I can hear music and system sounds etc but the the screen remains black :(
     
  7. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Didn't you do a copy via TimeMachin ? Or even better (in your case) via Carbon Copy Cloner ?

    With TimeMachine you can get your files back on another system. With CCC you can actually immediately boot on your clone harddrive by simply pluggin it on another mac.

    EDIT: plug an external screen ? or buy a cheap one.
     
  8. Vendo

    Vendo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    had the exact same problem with a 2008 macbook pro. guarantee? nope .....even though its a known issue ( germany....). My brother had nearly the same problem with his macbook pro, but it was his graphic chip (8600 gt) ....so he kinda repaired it himself by putting it into the oven (no joke...). My firmware chip somehow died..for whatever reasons. Shut down...tried to boot: NOPE. Broken firmwarechip, repairing would have cost too much. Never gonna buy apple stuff again.
     
  9. Vicioushead

    Vicioushead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    @ LeSedna - No, didn't do any backup...regrettably.

    @ Vendo - Putting it in an oven o_O Serious?
     
  10. plague_rider

    plague_rider Coffee

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Contact apple, it's a known issue, if you're sure it have the nvidia 8600gt that is...

    They should resolve it straight away.... If tier 1 tech don't resolve it, speak to tier 2...
     
  11. Vendo

    Vendo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep, there are instruction on the webz how to do it.... his macbook pro survived about another half year with this temporary "fix".
     
  12. ze kink

    ze kink THE BLACK WIZARDS

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    I also just had a problem in which my MBP wouldn't boot, but got stuck to the gray Apple logo. HDD seems to be dying; after I booted with the command line visible, I saw it get stuck at a disk0s2: I/O error. Booting with cmd + R held down got me to the OSX Recovery though (I've got Lion installed) and after I reinstalled Lion, everything came back totally fine. It doesn't actually completely reinstall it, but just writes over it and thus repairs the previous install, and my issues were probably caused by corrupted Snow Leopard era kext's that got fixed. I only had to run software update to get e.g. iTunes back to 11, since the reinstall rolled them back.

    Oh well, I need to upgrade to an SSD anyway, at least I have one less reason to procrastinate on it now.

    Seems it's with the GPU though with yours. I had an early 2008 MBP before this one which also had the 8600GT, and it was indeed under extended warranty because the chip had a known issue. Sold it after 3 years of use though, never any issues except the lens in the superdrive getting dusty from never being used.
     
  13. LydonB

    LydonB Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Ashburn, VA
    The repair is not covered after 4 years from the date of purchase.

    If you've got an external display, see if that works when you turn the computer on. If you have video, you can keep working, only your display is bad...but if you have no video you have bigger problems.
     
  14. Via Noctis

    Via Noctis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    A few months ago my 2007 mbp came up with a failed diagnosis and the fan was going really loud. Even though it was WAY out of warrenty I opened a support ticket, no more than a week later I had my mbp back with a brand new video card. No charge. I would definitely call support if I were you.
     
  15. Vicioushead

    Vicioushead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
    Called support today and they wouldn't budge. Found a guy who reflows them for the paltry sum of 40 euros! it works perfectly now!
     
  16. fatalforce

    fatalforce Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I had the same thing happen. After I did some research and people had similar problems, I took it to the apple store. The techs knew about this problem and hooked it up to a device to test the problem. If it is the gpu failure I'm thinking it is, they will replace your logic board on nvidia! Took only a few days. Good luck!
     
  17. Benny H

    Benny H Degenerate

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I fixed my totally dead 2007 MBP with the 'reflow' (oven) treatment.
    But my problem wasn't as described here, though I also have been through this screen related one and luckily Apple fixed it for me.
     
  18. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    It sort of sounds like apple tech support differs in the US vs Europe. I've literally never had them deny a free repair.
     
  19. Vicioushead

    Vicioushead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ireland
  20. DavePiatek

    DavePiatek Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Maybe try hooking up an external monitor. That might at least get you through the projects you're currently working on.
     

Share This Page