This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

My mix doesnt sound "metal"

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Mashreef, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    are you guys using anything in the Master Channel that changes the sound to something Treblish? or is it just the Post Eq??
     
  2. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.SoundCollab.com | www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Yes and 4,6.
     
  3. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
  4. JasinElric

    JasinElric Straf Drah Studio

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My master chain is Slate VCC, SSL Comp, Tape Simulator.

    All very lite settings on everything. My master buss does very little, I'll like to leave mastering to the MEs.

    If your mixes are sounding "unmetal" try looking around for some saturation plugins. A clip might help too.
     
  5. Habsburgs

    Habsburgs Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    not since the accident
     
  6. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    My singal chain= Vcomp - REQ 6 - Ozone 5 advanced
    i should try a saturation plugin than..!!!
    anything else?
     
  7. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    How bad ass was it? :heh:
     
  8. reg3n

    reg3n Señor Miembro

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina
    Ozone has a saturator, check the "tape" emulation in the harmonic exciter I think it was... works good.

    Try EQ before Comp, watch out with al the ozone stuff, just use what you need, disable everything there and just apply what you need.

    Clips? problem could be elsewhere.
     
  9. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder The Truth Is Out There

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    I'd fix such issues in the mix. IMHO, saturation can be cool but never mandatory. We'd just add fuel to the fire if we don't know what we're doing.

    Edit: How's that Vcomp in the master treating you?
     
  10. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    @maamar Huq
    Great too see someone from home :)

    well i never tried a saturation in the master chain...
    lets see what happens...
    Vcomp is really good... its punchy and keeps the analouge attack really good :)
     
  11. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    i use the limiter IRC III and the mid/side in multiband dynamics only
    sometimes the reverb if i feel the stuffs to dry...
    other remains turned off

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/98385758/Inflames%205.mp3
     
  12. Sethis

    Sethis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is nothing specific at the master channel that magically makes a mix "metal". Metal doesn't necessarily mean treblish. If your mix is dull it could be a lot of things...your guitars or cymbals might lack high-end etc. In any case try cutting frequencies first before boosting anything.

    I used to use Ozone on the master all the time but then I found I actually made my mixes worse by relying on lazy fixes such as harmonic exciters and excessive master EQing. Now I just use a limiter and it's fine for my needs.
     
  13. The StabbinCabin

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I'd do some narrow cuts in those guitars to give the bass and drums a little more space in the mix. I think that would give more emphasis to the high end on the geets. Maybe bring up the cymbals in some parts. That's all I'd pick at honestly...
     
  14. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    well i found out what i was looking for...
    Tape Simulator does the job
     
  15. Mashreef

    Mashreef New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chittagong,Bangladesh
    Its not the Final mix...
    i need to do more Eq on the guitar's its eating up a lot of space...
    Can you let me know how do you Eq a Solo guitar????
     

Share This Page